E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 70 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-15-2006, 04:33 PM   #41
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mircle View Post
where can I find the plug for the rear of the head unit?
it is rear of HU, right beside where CD changer connects to.


Quote:
Originally Posted by silvscorp View Post
I was trying to wire it up using a headphone plug and noticed there are only 2 wires coming out from a regular stereo cable. (L + R signal) How do I get the ground wire to connect? What kind of cable did you use? (you have 3 wires coming out from it)
you must have used mono headphones. You can either use stereo headphone or get cable like mine from any local radioshack, etc for less than $5.
i just happended to find it at home.
For stereo headphone, if you cut the wire, you will see this.
sorry for the bad picture.

Each wire inside is coated with special protectant to prevent interfering each other. You can burn the wires little with lighter to remove the coat. From there it is all the same. Just make sure you connect grounding wire togeter from each side and put it into pin 4.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lethan7 View Post
so now for us that have a 2001 that does not have with the mode botton .... what can we do to get aux in put ??
sell old HU through ebay. you can get easily over $150.
and buy new one.
i bought mine Feb/06 built date HU from fellow fanatic for $230.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 09:26 PM   #42
silvscorp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NNJ
Posts: 133
My Ride: 03 CB M3 Coupe
Just got the cable installed and it works great. I do have one "problem", the aux input's sound level is a lot lower than other modes. Is this normal or there is something wrong with the cable?
silvscorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 09:34 PM   #43
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvscorp View Post
Just got the cable installed and it works great. I do have one "problem", the aux input's sound level is a lot lower than other modes. Is this normal or there is something wrong with the cable?
While its not documented, press CDs 1-6 to change the gain voltage.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:06 PM   #44
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvscorp View Post
Just got the cable installed and it works great. I do have one "problem", the aux input's sound level is a lot lower than other modes. Is this normal or there is something wrong with the cable?
have to try push the music note button? button between "-" and "+".
While aux is connected, press music note button. it will show input level which will control input volume level.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:11 PM   #45
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by white46 View Post
have to try push the music note button? button between "-" and "+".
While aux is connected, press music note button. it will show input level which will control input volume level.
Ah, you're right - I stand corrected (trying to post from memory).
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:16 PM   #46
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Ah, you're right - I stand corrected (trying to post from memory).
No worries.

BTW, Thank you Tom.
You have given so many answers that I couldn't have. ie)SW version.
Great support from sponsor although it is not their product.

ps: i''m not being sarcastic. you are truly being helpful.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:26 PM   #47
MPossible
Registered User
 
MPossible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 725
My Ride: track star
Doesn't the OEM kit come with a panel that you would plug into or is that an extra upgrade?
MPossible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:49 PM   #48
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
yes. BMW offers OEM aux input kit.
i just found myself that not worth spending $50 for the simple wire though.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 10:57 PM   #49
jinthekoreankid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 389
My Ride: 2013
someone on the Z4um said I needed some resistors for my z4...

i don't understand why you guys don't need em and I do?
jinthekoreankid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 11:02 PM   #50
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinthekoreankid View Post
someone on the Z4um said I needed some resistors for my z4...

i don't understand why you guys don't need em and I do?
i'm not sure. i never played with z4.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2006, 11:24 PM   #51
silvscorp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NNJ
Posts: 133
My Ride: 03 CB M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by white46 View Post
have to try push the music note button? button between "-" and "+".
While aux is connected, press music note button. it will show input level which will control input volume level.

Thanks! well it only goes up to level 5 and it is still a little lower compare to the radio and CD output level. I guess this has to do with the individual mp3 player since some might not have a greater output due to the earphone protection may be?
silvscorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 11:32 AM   #52
Gir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: .
Posts: 2,199
My Ride: .
I did something similar a couple years ago, couple thoughts:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jinthekoreankid
someone on the Z4um said I needed some resistors for my z4...

i don't understand why you guys don't need em and I do?
In the OEM aux cable there were two resistors and a cap that bridged them. When I did it I was off by a little bit of capacitance, didn't work out too well so I went ahead and bought the OEM cable.

I searched for 30 minutes trying to find the diagram but I can't find it anymore.

Anyway, to take the DIY one step farther, you can use this wiring to hookup your Ipod (and charge it too) for far less than ICElink or BMW by canabalizing a Belkin Ipod charger.

The detailed site is gone but from these two links it should seem pretty easy:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56089
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/archive.../t-151857.html

Happy modding.
Gir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 08:30 AM   #53
swervin22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Carmel Valley
Posts: 131
My Ride: 325i finally modded
Send a message via AIM to swervin22
Does anyone know what the name of that computer wire is?
swervin22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 04:02 PM   #54
thadon1883
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 156
My Ride: M3
yea that seems to be the only missing link...what's the name of that computer wire and end piece?
thadon1883 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 08:07 PM   #55
white46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,920
My Ride: e46 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by swervin22 View Post
Does anyone know what the name of that computer wire is?
i don't think there is name to it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by white46 View Post
This is a cable that I found from my old computer I was about to throw away. This pin connects to motherboard for power switch, reset switch, hdd led, power led, etc.
__________________
white46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 08:49 PM   #56
Staszek
Are we there yet??
 
Staszek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 6,536
My Ride: Now a daily drive
Send a message via AIM to Staszek
Not bad.


My Aux input only cost me $30, its also a little more then just a cable. I think it was worth the $30 it gives you a nice plate that says aux input on it and looks very professional not after market at all. At $50 probably not worth it but at $30 its not bad.
__________________

Euro Delivery Date 8/14: 2013 E93
///M3 -6MT
Staszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 09:18 PM   #57
jinthekoreankid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 389
My Ride: 2013
yea i ended up buying a e46 aux kit and plug and play for my z4.

$32+tax with bmwcca discount

worth it
__________________

2003 BMW Z4 2.5i Sport
jinthekoreankid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:15 AM   #58
Limited_Slip
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 401
My Ride: e30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Staszek View Post
Not bad.


My Aux input only cost me $30, its also a little more then just a cable. I think it was worth the $30 it gives you a nice plate that says aux input on it and looks very professional not after market at all. At $50 probably not worth it but at $30 its not bad.

do you have the p/n??
Limited_Slip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:31 AM   #59
Staszek
Are we there yet??
 
Staszek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 6,536
My Ride: Now a daily drive
Send a message via AIM to Staszek
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limited_Slip View Post
do you have the p/n??
82110149389
E46



Auxiliary Audio Input
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Installation of this kit provides a direct audio input into the radio for MP3 - CD player etc
For model year 2003 and newer. E46 w/o nav
w
i List: $ 39.95 *
Sale: $ 31.96 *

At Circlebmw
__________________

Euro Delivery Date 8/14: 2013 E93
///M3 -6MT
Staszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:58 PM   #60
swervin22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Carmel Valley
Posts: 131
My Ride: 325i finally modded
Send a message via AIM to swervin22
Anyone have a problem of a high pitched squeeling sound coming out of speakers when connecting something to the auxillary. Do you think it's a bad aux wire or is the input screwed?
swervin22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw aux in, diy aux input, input cable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use