E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2003, 08:55 PM   #1
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
Amp wiring problem? help needed.

I installed a kicker 800.4 amp today and two kicker L7 10" subs. It's wired so two channels of the amp are bridged and are seeing a 4 ohm load. I'm running 4 guage power and ground. The ground wire is at the same spot as the battery ground to the chasis. I have a pheonix gold circuit breaker on the power wire.

Here's my problem. When I turn the volume up and the bass hits hard the amp cuts out until I turn it down. This happens with the car running or not.

Any suggestions???? Thanks, Dan
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-03-2003, 12:58 AM   #2
CynicalWry
Doesn't like PMs...Email me
 
CynicalWry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gaithersburg, Maryland
Posts: 2,803
My Ride: 00 323i-05 cbr600rr
Send a message via AIM to CynicalWry
do your lights dim? are all your connections solid? Do you have the correct size fuse in your amp kit? How did you bridge it?
__________________
is your friend

Authorized Umnitza.com installer
301-825-5871
http://www.robinsNestChildCare.com - - - - - http://www.tntTint.net

CynicalWry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:42 AM   #3
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
I haven't checked if the lights dim yet. I have a 140 amp cicuit breaker, all connections are very solid, and the amp is bridged per kickers instructions in the amp owners manual. I haven't put a multimeter on it yet to see what the volts read as I turn it up, guess that will be my next step.
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2003, 06:05 PM   #4
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
Havent been able to put a meter on it yet but the lights dont dim. Any ideas?
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 06:00 AM   #5
BMOBSESSION
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 9
My Ride: 330 CI Sport Conv
Are you sure the amp is seeing a 4 OHM load. If all ground and power conections are good, it sounds like the output stage protection is kicking in to stop you from frying the output transistors. Did you wire your power feed directly to the battery terminal ? ( If the supply voltage to the amp drops due to heavy bass output, this can also trigger the amp protection circuit to trip) - As an experiment, try running supply and ground directly to the battery using very heavy guage wiring. If this solves the problem, you knowits power rather than impedance related...

Good luck
BMOBSESSION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 11:17 AM   #6
VALMONT
The De46vil's Army
 
VALMONT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 24,602
My Ride: 325Ci, Passat
Send a message via AIM to VALMONT Send a message via MSN to VALMONT
Cap it?
__________________
VALMONT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 07:14 PM   #7
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
figured out that problem, now for this d#$% alternator noise........
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 04:06 PM   #8
Delirium
yo mama
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: O.C.
Posts: 1,622
My Ride: -
Quote:
Originally posted by dan4081
figured out that problem, now for this d#$% alternator noise........
what was the problem?
Delirium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 08:35 PM   #9
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
The problem is I am retarded!! The subs were dual 2 ohm and I had ordered dual 4 ohm. I never read the little writing on the box until after they were already in and wired 2 ohm stereo, which my amp wont do! Now everything is fine, except for the fact my air conditioner stopped working today! Some reason the compressor only turns on sometimes.
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 12:49 AM   #10
johnhab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 690
My Ride: '02 330xi
Send a message via AIM to johnhab Send a message via Yahoo to johnhab
You may still have a problem. If that Kicker can't accept high input voltage (above 2V), then you're frying it with the high output voltage of the BMW headunit (over 2V, probably 8V).

If that's the case, you need to install a line output converter between the headunit outputs and the amp inputs.
__________________
Better picture coming!

johnhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 07:41 AM   #11
dan4081
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: florida
Posts: 425
My Ride: 2000 323i
I already installed an alpine headunit. Everything from the stock sound system is gone!
dan4081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use