E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2003, 03:49 PM   #1
Krix330cic(NJ)
Still around...
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,792
My Ride: SOLD - Aug. 2004
Send a message via AIM to Krix330cic(NJ)
Cure for "lines" in lcd picture when cars running?

its actually for my friends truck with a 7" widescreen accel LCD.

when keys to ACC/ lcd works perfect. When running, has tiny lines in picture.

what can he buy to cure that?
Krix330cic(NJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-30-2003, 06:48 PM   #2
dt32569
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 131
My Ride: 330Ci
What do they look like?

Horizontal scrolling lines?

That is a ground problem. Many home theater setups get that caused by ground loops in the sat or cable runs.
Try making sure all grounds are good. Then separate the cables..or get better shielded ones.
dt32569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 09:16 AM   #3
Krix330cic(NJ)
Still around...
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,792
My Ride: SOLD - Aug. 2004
Send a message via AIM to Krix330cic(NJ)
he grounded the lcd and dvd to the factory ground locations where other stuff is grounded, he said he just ordered a noise filter too.

is their a filter or something for the lines now too?
Krix330cic(NJ) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 05:22 PM   #4
dt32569
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 131
My Ride: 330Ci
Hmm

Well, I know in home systems it is a ground problem. Id try the grounds before he does anything else. If swapping the grounds around doesn't help..then it may be elctrical interference. I know RON once mentioned on here that Pioneer HUs need a new ground - that the factory ground didn't work too well with them.
If all else fails..then....a noise filter.....trial and error.
dt32569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 07:54 PM   #5
Ron@Streeteffectz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 835
It's not a ground problem. One of two things will correct the problem....the first would be better RCA cables, or, the power wire that was used may be too small of a guage. The simplest way to correct this problem, however, is putting a filter on the ignition wire to the monitor.

dt32569, we put relays on all pioneer screens incoming power to elimiate screen jump, something strange in pioneer flip out screens, and this corrects the problem.
Ron@Streeteffectz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 07:58 PM   #6
dt32569
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 131
My Ride: 330Ci
..

or THAT :-) Its always a ground problem in home theater...that's what I know..the home stuff
dt32569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 08:04 PM   #7
Ron@Streeteffectz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 835
Yeah man, home theatre can get screwy with bad grounds, that's for sure....just bad connections in general. Even so, car audio/video can get really messed up with bad grounds too, more so than home, that's for sure.
Ron@Streeteffectz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use