Underdrive pullies ok with S/C? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum

Forced Induction Forum
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2008, 05:09 PM   #1
M3Nick
RACECAR Backwrds Is RACECAR
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 408
My Ride: '06 M3 ZCP, Cayman-S
Underdrive pullies ok with S/C?

I have a 330ci friend that has the Rogue underdrive pullies on his waterpump and powersteering but not the alternator. He wanted to know if he has to put the stock pullies on when doing his Supercharger. He thinks it would counteract the pully size of his ASA S/C. I'm thinking it would not change it just like it doesn't change how his alternator is spinning. Since the belt is self adjusting and only touching a small side of the pully and not the whole diameter is should be ok. What is correct?
__________________
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/signaturepics/sigpic79554_2.gif
M. THE MOST POWERFUL LETTER IN THE WORLD.
M3Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
MachRc
is divorced
 
MachRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,671
My Ride: 2003 Technik S1 M3
stock pulleys, the difference in the belt can change at higher rpm and slip.

I asked the same question to the makers of the kit and thats the answer. stock pulleys

the SC will make you forget you evAr had pulleys.

i had to give up my old RE set away with the belt for free
__________________

"Can it be, we've run out of time? You're alive.. ohhh? In these streets we living to die. When it's your time, you will know..
..cause it ain't hard to tell. "
MachRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 04:23 PM   #3
gt2876rs4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: spaa
Posts: 68
My Ride: 3.0 2002 gt28 rs4
Dont do it
gt2876rs4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2008, 07:06 PM   #4
InterlagosMcoupe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: fl
Posts: 56
My Ride: M coupe
So long as the crank pulley is the same.
InterlagosMcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.