E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2003, 02:30 PM   #1
mysimonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 Bmw 325i
Alpine IVA D900 Noise Problem!

I recently installed Alpine IVA D900 on my 2001 325i. I now have a high pitched noise, sounds like dentist's drilling noise, whenever the system is on and i step on the gas. It's driving me crazy and i found out that it's 'cause the factory amp is not fully compatible w/ the Alpine headunit (2 channel vs. 4 channel?). Does anyone have suggestions to rectifiy this problem?? Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw after 018.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	413.9 KB
ID:	60328  
mysimonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 07-10-2003, 02:36 PM   #2
Ron@Streeteffectz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 835
What did you use to install the unit, a wire harness? And where did you mount the brain?
Ron@Streeteffectz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 02:37 PM   #3
mysimonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 Bmw 325i
i had someone do it and i believe the it was a wire harness and mounted under the seat.
mysimonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 02:40 PM   #4
Ron@Streeteffectz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 835
You really shouldn't get noise from just changing the headunit. My suggestion would be to add a filter on the IGNITION wire going to the brain, unless the installer can reroute his wiring.
Ron@Streeteffectz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 02:43 PM   #5
mysimonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 Bmw 325i
hmm... suggestions i heard was to 1) unplug the factory amplifier and go w/ the headunit amp 2) run separate wires for speakers or 3) get an Alpine amp installed. I may have to try a filter then...Darn!!
mysimonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 03:42 PM   #6
tas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Spring Grove(York)PA
Posts: 915
My Ride: Y2K AA SC 323i
I don't have a problem with mine. I just had it installed.
__________________
tas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 04:12 PM   #7
///M_TEEJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Buena Park,CA
Posts: 466
My Ride: 05 MB E55, 03 BMW M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M_TEEJ Send a message via Yahoo to ///M_TEEJ
Thumbs Up

mines fine and it's a bad a$$ unit
__________________
///M_TEEJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 04:14 PM   #8
mysimonj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 Bmw 325i
man, looks like my installer was a quack...
mysimonj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 05:26 PM   #9
StreetTrixE4six
E46Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,111
My Ride: 08' 328i E92
all u should need is the filter. i have the same problem w/ my pioneer and i'm waiting to have the filter put in
__________________
08' BMW 328i coupe
07' Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
04' 325Ci
StreetTrixE4six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 09:24 AM   #10
jason634
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: houston
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2002 m3
which installer, let us know so we can avoid!

thanks
jason634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use