E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Lighting Forum

Lighting Forum
Angel Eyes, DDEs, lighted rings, Clear Turn Signals, LEDs, Xenon, HID, or Bi-Xenon. If it lights up and you want to discuss it, post here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 08:42 PM   #1
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
Angel eyes install - cluster doesnt work

Just finished installing some new angel eyes in my p46. after install cluster doesnt work. fuel gauge, speedo, tacho, and temp all at 0. checked fuses in glovebox all were ok. is there another fuse box somewhere i can check? everything else in the car works like normal, just no cluster any other ideas on what i can check? thanks in advance
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-12-2009, 12:45 AM   #2
Chris-TK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 16,309
My Ride: Mk VI GTI
WTF. How did you wire up the angel eyes?
__________________
K.
Chris-TK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 01:01 AM   #3
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
I had chromiums previously but they started to crap out on me so I upgraded to v2. removed ballasts installed new eyes used existing wiring that wires up to ecu footwell etc. I'm pretty sure its just some fuse that blew. I wasn't able to figure it out. I'm going to have to let my car electronic guy check it out for me tomorrow
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 07:30 AM   #4
sillieidiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the OC
Posts: 44,120
My Ride: '06 AW 330ci
Send a message via AIM to sillieidiot
yea never heard/experience anything like that before. the angels are a completely separate circuit from the car. only thing i can tell you is to check the ground on the wiring harness and the angels. the ground can cause a variety of problems like those which are rather hard to diagnose
__________________
I like to reply to threads with 0 posts




Have a lighting problem? Read this first:
Lighting-related Troubleshooting Guide
sillieidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 08:07 AM   #5
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
yea its pretty weird. i havent figured it out yet, i dont know what could have happened. i didnt mess with the wiring too much, just removed old rings plugged in the new ones. electronics can be weird expecially with this car. I got a russian guy coming over to scan it to figure out the prob. for now using the speedo off my GPS
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:01 PM   #6
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
first pic was from 2 days ago when angel eyes were working great. now the angel eyes died and cluster still not working posted pics of wiring that i installed 2 + years ago for my chromiums.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0023.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	171.4 KB
ID:	306398   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0024.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	306399   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0025.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	120.2 KB
ID:	306400   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0026.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	104.6 KB
ID:	306401  

Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0027.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	144.6 KB
ID:	306402  
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:26 PM   #7
umnitza
8774866489
 
umnitza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: East Bay, CA
Posts: 16,570
My Ride: E39M5, Sequoia
Send a message via Yahoo to umnitza
Quote:
Originally Posted by itscoo2pyopants View Post
first pic was from 2 days ago when angel eyes were working great. now the angel eyes died and cluster still not working posted pics of wiring that i installed 2 + years ago for my chromiums.
your problem is picture 4, the ground is bad.
that ground needs to be moved to the 19mm bolt.
__________________
umnitza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:02 PM   #8
sillieidiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the OC
Posts: 44,120
My Ride: '06 AW 330ci
Send a message via AIM to sillieidiot
Agreed. Also the positive lead is in a dangerous spot.
__________________
I like to reply to threads with 0 posts




Have a lighting problem? Read this first:
Lighting-related Troubleshooting Guide
sillieidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:53 PM   #9
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
thanks for the help guys, angel eyes are working again. ill update when i get some more information on the cluster
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 11:43 PM   #10
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
bump, no one can figure it out. not throwing any codes, checked computer behind fuse box everything checked out. no blown fuses. cleared/reset computer. no idea..
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 02:58 AM   #11
sillieidiot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the OC
Posts: 44,120
My Ride: '06 AW 330ci
Send a message via AIM to sillieidiot
Have you tried taking the cluster out and plugging another one in?
__________________
I like to reply to threads with 0 posts




Have a lighting problem? Read this first:
Lighting-related Troubleshooting Guide
sillieidiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:06 AM   #12
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
I'm starting to think it might just be the cluster. everything else checks out and I don't know what else could be causing it. ill be working on it some more today and will post any updates. its been a bad last couple weeks. everything seems to be crapping out on me lately. my ipod just broke, I blew 2 jl audio 1000/1's, my xbox broke, and now this
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 02:03 PM   #13
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
i think i hit 90 mph today, but i dont know.. BECAUSE MY SPEEDO STILL DONT WORK!
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 09:54 PM   #14
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
got 1 1000/1 fixed at least. and just bought a new ipod. and just bought a new xbox. maybe things are getting better any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 11:27 PM   #15
Rickna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Haven, CT, USA
Posts: 1,980
My Ride: '02 330xi AT
Send a message via ICQ to Rickna Send a message via AIM to Rickna Send a message via MSN to Rickna Send a message via Yahoo to Rickna
I installed the Predator V2's today. I used the OEM pos & neg attachments points. No problems-so far, every thing else is working fine. Sounds like a bad coincidence.
__________________

238 years of democracy has died, and with thunderous applause

My_Mods_&_Stuff
Rickna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 07:47 AM   #16
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
bump
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use