E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 05:41 PM   #1
omhl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Irvine, CA (SOCAL)
Posts: 2,128
My Ride: E46 M3 6MT
Send a message via AIM to omhl
OEM Aux Input

Hi I have a

2003 330ci
production date : 10/02 year

It does not have prewired for satellite
It does have business radio
It does not have aux mode when i press mode (cd radio only)
Setting does not have aux volume settings.

Does this mean i cant use the oem $40 aux input?
__________________
omhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-30-2009, 10:27 AM   #2
Steve330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Louis
Posts: 562
My Ride: 2011 328i, Jet Black
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve330ci
The radio will not display AUX unless the OEM aux cable is in place in the back of the headunit. I would suggest you pull the headunit and look at the back to see if it has the aux connector. The aux connector will be next to the CD changer connector below the 17 pin connector. Search the forum for photos of the back of a Business radio and you will see what I'm referring to. Hope this helps.
__________________
Steve330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:34 AM   #3
Dreamliner330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,854
My Ride: 330xi
I think you can still get the USASPEC aux in adaptor that plugs into the cd changer port for ~$50. I have the DICE and keep having problems, so I'm looking into a USA SPEC option. I dont care if the ipod sitting right next to me doesn't display the song name on my crappy 8 Character radio display
Dreamliner330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 11:35 AM   #4
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by omhl View Post
Hi I have a

2003 330ci
production date : 10/02 year

It does not have prewired for satellite
It does have business radio
It does not have aux mode when i press mode (cd radio only)
Setting does not have aux volume settings.

Does this mean i cant use the oem $40 aux input?
Are you equipped with Business CD or Navigation?
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:43 PM   #5
omhl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Irvine, CA (SOCAL)
Posts: 2,128
My Ride: E46 M3 6MT
Send a message via AIM to omhl
fds

I have business CD.

no navigation
__________________
omhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 02:17 PM   #6
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by omhl View Post
I have business CD.

no navigation
10/2002 is a 2003 build, you are compatible for AUX:

Auxiliary Audio Input - e46 Business CD
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=293
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:10 PM   #7
jund2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
I have a 2001 325i, and have the stock CD...does that mean the Aux Input won't work? How about the iPod Dice option?
jund2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:23 PM   #8
Steve330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Louis
Posts: 562
My Ride: 2011 328i, Jet Black
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve330ci
Business headunits built after 9/2002 should have the AUX connector on the rear of the headunit. Because your car is a 2001, you probably do not have the AUX connector. However, it is my understanding that the Dice products can use the CD changer connection in the trunk.
__________________
Steve330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 11:31 AM   #9
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
That's correct - you'll need either the DICE kit (which has integrated AUX and iPod integration), for earlier vehicles.

If you're looking for AUX only, the Blitzsafe kit will suit your needs.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:58 PM   #10
jund2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Thanks for the reply guys. I put the order in @EAS for Dice kit yesterday since EAS had the promotion going on for free tools anyways.
I got the UPS tracking email today, so Tom, I look forward to receiving the kit!
jund2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 11:44 PM   #11
omhl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Irvine, CA (SOCAL)
Posts: 2,128
My Ride: E46 M3 6MT
Send a message via AIM to omhl
installed and it works flawlessy!!!!
__________________
omhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:06 AM   #12
zx5rider
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,326
My Ride: 03 M3 , 03 TT 330,
Send a message via AIM to zx5rider
hmm i have a 01/03 330i and i have the AUX kit but it does not display the aux option idk what to do.....

business CD and 6 CD changer
__________________


'03 330 Technique Tuning Stage 2 Turbo. (Parting out)
'03 M3
'11 BMW s1000rr
zx5rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 06:02 PM   #13
mcbishton
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: alberta
Posts: 27
My Ride: 2009 Z4s35i
Looking for an aux input for my '05 M3,

I was planning on getting the OEM BMW kit, I'm fairly good at pulling apart and reassembling stuff but I have no clue how to get the radio out, remove the glove box etc. Where can I find good instructions and diagrams for doing this so I dont destroy anything. ( The car is still pristeen and I'd like to keep it that way
mcbishton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:48 PM   #14
DuPeZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
My Ride: 2004 325CI
This is a good diy..the aux input is installed by your dsc button rather then the glovebox which means its more accessible

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...=diy+aux+input

Last edited by DuPeZ; 05-17-2009 at 08:55 PM.
DuPeZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use