E46 Fanatics Forum banner

Is there anything wrong with this setup?

1K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  LeontiyZHP 
#1 ·
I've had a 2 10' box in my trunk, and it's really heavy! So I took it out but I still desired more bass, so I've created this...

Now I have no knowledge of proper box making or anything, should've looked into it but decided to just go for it and try and make something.. My cutting was terrible, so I sealed up the crack with dynomat..

I think there's a downside to using screws for it, but I have no idea why. Anyone know anything about this?

I also installed the amp under the carpet, by on top of the spare wheel cover

This is how it looks..

All of you out there with experience, please let me know the negative comments on this, could my amp overheat down there? Could me sub blow because of the box?

I know it's not a finish product yet, and I will be wrapping it in some kind of material soon to clean up the wooden look. It actually accomplishes my desire for the sound and more bass.

See less See more
#2 ·
Only way your sub could blow because of the box is if the box's dimensions were way off spec and you ended turning the amp gain too high to compensate. Make sure the gain is set properly. If you can't get it to sound right, you make want to look into keeping the amp but replacing the sub with one meant for a fairly small enclosure. Not that with small enclosure, you generally need a serious amount of power compared to a sub in a large box to get the same amount of bass. As for the amp overheating down there, I had doubt about that location myself, and instead chose to mount them on top of the floor and build a tray that sits about an inch above the top of my amp, and the tray creates a sort of raised false floor. Others have created ways to cool amps down there, everything from computer fans to vents in the floor.

#3 ·