E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
replace crankshaft sensor now no start

please help!!! i'm new to this site and have an issue.

right i bought a 2001 325ci vert, i bought it spares or repairs so problems were to be expected,

i will start from the beginning, i saw it i loved it so parted with my cash, drove away in it, with an issue.

it started idled really badly first turn of the key, but revs were all over the place after 2mins it settled enough to get it back home, i put it on my obd2 reader which said p0335, and 2 other lambda codes, i sorted the lambdas, after going through the car with a fine tooth comb, the crank shaft sensor is the last issue,

some history of the car,
brand new crate engine from bmw 5500 receipt to prove
brand new crate transmission from bmw 2700 receipt to prove
new front and rear brakes
new front and rear suspension
full service history
new roof
etc etc the list is endless

all paperwork checks out right after the lambdas were fitted the only code left was p0335 crankshaft sensor, (i scanned car with a cheap code reader and a bosch kts520 both said same) so i changed it with a friends just to try it, and hey presto it started perfect then 20s secs later engine light back on!!! so i bought a new one from euro car parts oem spec vdo seimens, but no change light still on, took it back said no difference with the replacement still oem spec, but this time the car doesn't want to start now,

it cranks whirls over ok,

it has had all the breathers done, no leaks have checked twice and thoroughly,

i now have the injection loom out of the car, i have been through it the crank shaft sensor plug was really bad so have changed it for a new one it has been soldered in properly, i also checked to see if i have knocked anything whilst fitting the crank sensor with my porky arms.

i am lost i am lost and would be grateful of any help.

i dont know if it is any use but my park indicator on my gear selector has decided to stay on now, which means the car wont go into sleep mode, i know it is should go off after 15 to 17 mins but wont now, i don't know how long this has been going on though...

thanks in advance for any advise offer
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-04-2013, 07:48 PM   #2
lszlszx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Socal
Posts: 5,345
My Ride: 1.8T, XC70
Check the wiring from the CPS plug to the DME for continuity.
__________________


GM No Reverse - posts 427, 439

"Would the codes indicate if it's the carburator?"
lszlszx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:39 AM   #3
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
Both continuity and voltage is correct as it should be, I dismantled the loom last night and tested most of it, well the sensors that were bringing codes up from when I scanned the car, thanks
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 05:13 AM   #4
330iPilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 707
My Ride: Titanium Silver 330i
You can get a new wiring loom for around $350 US. If all else fails you may try replacing that.
330iPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:26 AM   #5
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
I went through the loom with a multimeter to test continuity of wires last night, I cleaned all the plugs, checked every wire carefully to see if any oxidisation or breaks but found nothing. Looks ok, will fit it back in later to see if ok, hopefully but not holding much hope to be fair. Does anybody know how to diagnose a dead dme? Is there any obvious signs???? Could it be that??
Thanks
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:40 AM   #6
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 3,963
My Ride: 325Ci, 325Cic, C300
Before you go tearing into that, what brand crankshaft sensor did you install?
__________________






cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:13 AM   #7
330iPilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 707
My Ride: Titanium Silver 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdave666 View Post
I went through the loom with a multimeter to test continuity of wires last night, I cleaned all the plugs, checked every wire carefully to see if any oxidisation or breaks but found nothing. Looks ok, will fit it back in later to see if ok, hopefully but not holding much hope to be fair. Does anybody know how to diagnose a dead dme? Is there any obvious signs???? Could it be that??
Thanks
Could be some spread contact pins within your plugs not providing good contact. Some guys here have had that problem.
330iPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:16 AM   #8
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
2 vdo Siemens, that is who I am told makes them for bmw, and one I bought from a bmw main dealer, I have not used a cheap aftermarket one,
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:22 AM   #9
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
I have put a lot of money in this car, and don't fancy putting another 300 to find out it isn't the loom. I can buy I loom, kinda wish I didn't buy the car it's a nice car but am getting fed up with putting money into it....

Probably feel different when it is running, if I haven't lost my patience with it and sold it in bits
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:00 PM   #10
lszlszx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Socal
Posts: 5,345
My Ride: 1.8T, XC70
There is no reason to replace the loom if the wires check out.
Maybe something is wrong with the part on the flywheel/flex disc that the sensor is reading?
__________________


GM No Reverse - posts 427, 439

"Would the codes indicate if it's the carburator?"

Last edited by lszlszx; 11-05-2013 at 08:00 PM.
lszlszx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 02:51 AM   #11
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
According to the history I have the fly wheel gear box etc has all been done if you take the sensor out and starter, crank engine by hand it looks in good condition.
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:47 AM   #12
NumbaOneNewb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,366
My Ride: 2003 330CI Silver
replace crankshaft sensor now no start

Ignition switch? Possibly blew a fuse? Check the 5 fuses under the hood..'
__________________
Portland Metro: ECU updates, Euro tune, euro corner delete, air bag light, DSC light, cluster and any led color change, soldering work, transponders for keys, and all custom work related to computer or electronics.DIY AK90 A walk through on coding your mcu and transponders EWS3 How to make your own key (ak90 review)
NumbaOneNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 03:16 AM   #13
bigdave666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: southampton
Posts: 8
My Ride: 325ci auto
it stars and drives and works!!!!! but i still have p0335 code and if you clear it, it comes straight back on again.... any ideas
thanks
bigdave666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:29 AM   #14
Ugur Ekim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 136
My Ride: 325Ci 2001
Did you read this:
http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=638600

guy has the same problem you have. Check where the cable goes trough, find a other route so it won;t touch anything hot or hit metal etc.
Ugur Ekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crankshaft sensor, no start, p0335

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use