E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 46 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-08-2017, 07:20 PM   #141
Overboost
Binary is in my DNA
 
Overboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 814
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaliDawg View Post
Maybe there are screws underneath the sticker? I'll take a look at mine...
It seems glued! I even broke a small piece on the pin collar trying to pry it apart... DOH!
__________________
The older I get... The faster I was...
No Fear


Overboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 10:33 PM   #142
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,170
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Hey guys, what is a good source for a BMW Scanner 1.4 (that comes w/ pins 7-8 soldered)? Xcar360?
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 11:32 PM   #143
BaliDawg
Keepin' it real stock
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 5,246
My Ride: E24 E32 E46 E39 E84
I've seen an adapter on ebay that connects pins 7 and 8.
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 12:57 AM   #144
ChampionC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 123
My Ride: 318Ci Convertible
I bought mine too on ebay from China and it had pins 7 & 8 connected

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
ChampionC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 02:11 AM   #145
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,170
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
I just ordered one from xcar360. Found a $5 off code so it was 14.99 usd shipped.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 06:12 AM   #146
ChampionC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 123
My Ride: 318Ci Convertible
From memory, the ebay seller included a copy of pa soft on a cd too

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
ChampionC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 08:18 AM   #147
DEADF15H
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Boca Raton, FL or Salisbury, NC
Posts: 1,377
My Ride: 2001 325i Auto
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChampionC View Post
From memory, the ebay seller included a copy of pa soft on a cd too

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
Make sure you use high end virus protection software to scan that cd for viruses and malware. They are a known source.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
DEADF15H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 09:21 AM   #148
Alibs555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: North Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328ci
Thank you Nallman for this excellent thread (from 2 years ago). Very informative.

I just received my PAsoft scanner...I believe Balidawg recommended on a different post I had made. After following the instruction to the "T", it installed without a hitch on my laptop with Windows10. I happily connected it to my car, 2000 328ci 5speed manual.

When I looked into the car specs, I was perplexed why it shows 2 different cars. One column states the correct mileage (151k kms) and transmission and that it's a Canadian/US model. The other column states it has 321k kms, that it is automatic and is Australian... !!??

Would anyone know why?
__________________
-Alibs555



...on the beautiful North Shore of Vancouver, BC Canada
Alibs555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 10:47 AM   #149
BaliDawg
Keepin' it real stock
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 5,246
My Ride: E24 E32 E46 E39 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alibs555 View Post
Thank you Nallman for this excellent thread (from 2 years ago). Very informative.

I just received my PAsoft scanner...I believe Balidawg recommended on a different post I had made. After following the instruction to the "T", it installed without a hitch on my laptop with Windows10. I happily connected it to my car, 2000 328ci 5speed manual.

When I looked into the car specs, I was perplexed why it shows 2 different cars. One column states the correct mileage (151k kms) and transmission and that it's a Canadian/US model. The other column states it has 321k kms, that it is automatic and is Australian... !!??

Would anyone know why?
The initial screen shows the IKE and LCM as in the 2nd screen shot in this thread.
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1067835

Most likely one of those two modules was swapped or recoded.
__________________
///Mmmmmm...
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 07:00 AM   #150
ChampionC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 123
My Ride: 318Ci Convertible
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alibs555 View Post
Thank you Nallman for this excellent thread (from 2 years ago). Very informative.

I just received my PAsoft scanner...I believe Balidawg recommended on a different post I had made. After following the instruction to the "T", it installed without a hitch on my laptop with Windows10. I happily connected it to my car, 2000 328ci 5speed manual.

When I looked into the car specs, I was perplexed why it shows 2 different cars. One column states the correct mileage (151k kms) and transmission and that it's a Canadian/US model. The other column states it has 321k kms, that it is automatic and is Australian... !!??

Would anyone know why?
Given that both milages differ, I assume you have the Tamper Dot to the left of the milage display on the dash ?

Use PA Soft to set the milage and the VIN (last 5 characters). This should then remove the Tamper Dot. From there, use copy FA coding for IKE -> LCM. The copying action will take about 30 seconds to complete.
ChampionC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 09:53 AM   #151
Alibs555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: North Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328ci
Thank you Balidawg and ChampionC.

Maybe it would help if I told you what columns: IKE shows the correct info but with only last 8 of VIN. EWS shows the wrong info but with full VIN. See the attached picture.

By the way, this was a confirmed 1 owner car when I bought it last month. Meaning I'm the second owner. It has had all its repairs/services done at the local BMW dealership.

Any thoughts? Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	175.4 KB
ID:	651873  
__________________
-Alibs555



...on the beautiful North Shore of Vancouver, BC Canada
Alibs555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:01 AM   #152
Alibs555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: North Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328ci
...and here is the scan report. It seems that someone "rewrote" the EWS with the wrong kms?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	163.0 KB
ID:	651874  
__________________
-Alibs555



...on the beautiful North Shore of Vancouver, BC Canada
Alibs555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:16 AM   #153
mikeetastic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,076
My Ride: lots of 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alibs555 View Post
...and here is the scan report. It seems that someone "rewrote" the EWS with the wrong kms?
or someone rolled the miles back (IKE and LCM).. this is very easy to do on M52 engine cars as the EEPROM chip are not protected. on m54 clusters you cannot write into it easily unless you dechip them.

carfax the car and will tell you whats really happening.

but my gut tells me miles got rolled back..
mikeetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 10:43 AM   #154
Alibs555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: North Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328ci
Thank you Mikeestatic, but no, it hasn't been rolled back. I have the Carproof (same as Carfax in US) and ICBC (provincial vehicle central registry) reports. And the original selling dealer and servicing dealer history report. Furthermore the condition of the car fits the 151k kms...it is extremely clean.

Still it is puzzling...
__________________
-Alibs555



...on the beautiful North Shore of Vancouver, BC Canada
Alibs555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 12:38 PM   #155
ChampionC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 123
My Ride: 318Ci Convertible
Have you got the Tamper Dot ?

And sorry, the VIN should be 7 digits. So just take the milage and Vin from the IKE and put that into the LCM. After that, copy the IKE to the LCM and all should be OK.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
ChampionC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2017, 07:11 PM   #156
Wochoa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2003 BMW 325ci
Does this program work with Mac? I dont have any Window's computer/software. Also anyone have a link to buy this product?
Wochoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:19 AM   #157
Alibs555
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: North Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2000 BMW 328ci
Do I need to reprogram my Business CD radio with PAsoft to get it the act as if it is connecting to a CD changer?
__________________
-Alibs555



...on the beautiful North Shore of Vancouver, BC Canada
Alibs555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coding, guide, manual, pa soft, tutorial

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use