E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 53 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 02:52 PM   #41
M3DIY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NA
Posts: 52
My Ride: NA
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Honk_Few View Post
I found a nice alternative to this for anyone looking to DIY this part. According to my local BMW service department, if you find a used sensor that's from the same model as yours (body style, transmission, suspension set up), it doesn't need to be calibrated to the DSC computer; it works plug and play. As luck would have it, I found just that for $125. It's pretty easy to install. You don't need to remove the driver's seat but rather just unbolt it and move it backward. Then you just pop out the threshold and loosen the footrest. Then you fold forward the carpet. Location-wise, think of the sensor as being under the outer most velcro unit for the floor mat. It's in a heavy bracket next to a two-inch thick styrofoam piece that must be shoved forward to allow access to the bolts. After I installed the used speed sensor, my DSC light went off immediately. I drove to a gravel road where I had fun confirming that I once again have traction and stability control!
Does anyone know the particulars of this DIY? In other words could I get a used one that matched my cars specs but my car is 323i and the sensor that this came out of was a 330i would it still work? Thanks.
M3DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 06:11 PM   #42
elpache
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ftl lauderdale FL
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2000- 323it
Wow you guys are great . Thanks a lot for your knowledge and help
Mp
elpache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:49 PM   #43
chris98891
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,741
My Ride: '16 X6 50i
Send a message via AIM to chris98891
Bump...I'm pulling codes:
5E3C Yaw rate sensor not plausible
5E38 Yaw rate sensor electrical failure

Does this mean I should replace the sensor? I plan on just reseating the plug first, but if it can just simply be reset with a steering wheel lock-to-lock turn, I'd like to try that as well. Also, do I HAVE to code a new sensor? Or will it recognize it automatically? I have access to INPA/DIS/GT1/SSS if needed, but don't want to mess around with it if I don't have to.
__________________
-Chris




chris98891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:58 AM   #44
325Ci Guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325Ci
Hello,

This issue has now come up on my '01 325Ci...I was driving along the expressway 70mph and the front left brake activated on its own (it felt like the ABS was kicking in) the car jolted to one side and the DSC and Yellow Brake Light are now illuminated. After extensive research I am beginning to think it is this Yaw Speed Sensor. I am just having a difficult time with the correct part number?? Does anyone know/have the part number I need to be searching for? (I am looking for a used one)
325Ci Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:45 AM   #45
M2K
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2
My Ride: 01 325i
I also have the same issue with my 2001 325cic.

When scanned via PASoft 1.4 the following error codes were pulled:

5E3C [24124] Yaw rate sensor not plausible
5E38 [24120] Yaw rate sensor electrical faulty

After extensive research on the forum and the web, it seems that the yaw rate sensor is called differently at different places (speed sensor, rotation rate sensor, yaw rate sensor, just to name a few). However, I have narrowed it down to 2 possible part numbers:

37146781405 - ~$88
http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/37146781405/ES242427/

34526754289 - $440
http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/34526754289/ES63112/

Honk_Few, can you please help us visually identify the correct part from the choices above? Thanks.
M2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:06 PM   #46
chris98891
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,741
My Ride: '16 X6 50i
Send a message via AIM to chris98891
Hey man, I was getting the error too. I just let it happen for like a week, it got hot outside, and all is well again. I honestly can't explain it, but I'm ok with it! haha
__________________
-Chris




chris98891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 04:18 PM   #47
ngillan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: VA
Posts: 441
My Ride: Is in a salvage yard
YAW TRICK YAW!!!!!!

__________________


'07 328i - Montego Blue
ngillan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #48
Dippinwandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal- 310
Posts: 254
My Ride: 325i
Same thing happened to me.
Dippinwandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:00 PM   #49
Dippinwandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal- 310
Posts: 254
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honk_Few View Post
An interesting note: According to Systron Donner's literature on this sensor, it has an expected useful life of ten years. Guess this means we'll be seeing more of these fail pretty soon.
Which is why we are seeing these fail on the older cars not the newer ones.
Dippinwandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:13 PM   #50
mpereznoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 49
My Ride: 323i
My ASC light came on! Car started like missfiring. Dnt read the codes yet. But thats the only light showing.... Ideas?
mpereznoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:41 PM   #51
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: '99 E38 740iL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpereznoble View Post
My ASC light came on! Car started like missfiring. Dnt read the codes yet. But thats the only light showing.... Ideas?
I don't think ASC cars like mine and yours have a Yaw sensor, as we don't have DSC (the later Stability control system)

You need a code reader, just be careful which one you buy!
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:42 PM   #52
mpereznoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 49
My Ride: 323i
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/acc...questid=308614

Would thins work? Im two blocks away
mpereznoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:49 PM   #53
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: '99 E38 740iL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpereznoble View Post
http://www.autozone.com/autozone/acc...questid=308614

Would thins work? Im two blocks away
I think that could read basic codes (prolly emissions ones) but not the in depth ones.

Also our older cars need a 20-pin adaptor as our data plug is under the hood, and not the normal OBD II port
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:16 PM   #54
mpereznoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 49
My Ride: 323i
Ok, ive just ordered the 1.4 bmw scan. Hope it works!
mpereznoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:27 PM   #55
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: '99 E38 740iL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpereznoble View Post
Ok, ive just ordered the 1.4 bmw scan. Hope it works!
Which one did you order?
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:53 PM   #56
mpereznoble
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama
Posts: 49
My Ride: 323i
http://www.xcar360.com/bmw-scanner-1...scan-tool.html

This one
mpereznoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:26 PM   #57
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: '99 E38 740iL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpereznoble View Post
This one failed for me today, (got it yesterday!) hoping to get a replacement, so far no E-Mail reply.
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:30 PM   #58
lszlszx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Socal
Posts: 5,345
My Ride: 1.8T, XC70
Quote:
Originally Posted by David McMahon View Post
This one failed for me today, (got it yesterday!) hoping to get a replacement, so far no E-Mail reply.
How did it fail?
__________________


GM No Reverse - posts 427, 439

"Would the codes indicate if it's the carburator?"
lszlszx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:44 PM   #59
David McMahon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: '99 E38 740iL
Quote:
Originally Posted by lszlszx View Post
How did it fail?
Well it worked fine yesterday, I read most of the modules, cleared my Airbag Error, today nothing!

Getting "Hardware not ready" errors most of the time, then after changing key position, USB ports and Cables, new install of XP, I still get the errors. Sometimes I get an IKE error too
David McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:51 PM   #60
lszlszx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Socal
Posts: 5,345
My Ride: 1.8T, XC70
Do you have another scanner to try to make sure your plug is working?
__________________


GM No Reverse - posts 427, 439

"Would the codes indicate if it's the carburator?"
lszlszx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsc, sensor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use