E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum

BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by BAVSOUND

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2017, 09:34 PM   #21
nealfromnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 144
My Ride: 2002 e46
Can't see if you have a mk3 or mk4 Nav module.
I retrofitted a mk4 and volume changeable under latest version of software ( something for later)

So a couple more things to check/ test then. Put tuner onto radio and disconnect plugs b & c so it has no audio inputs from other modules are connected. If tone is still there it's coming tuner. Thus eliminating anyother source as noise.

From there I'd double check the ground connections which connect to a comb near by. Most of the modules will connect to a comon place . ( ground loop maybe ? )

This is what it looks like on my coupe. Note the 4 gauge cables are my amp grounds so won't be there on yours.

nealfromnz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 12:13 AM   #22
bk_856er
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 84
My Ride: BMW
NAV hardware in this 2003 325XiT is MkIV (aka, Mk4) with NAV OS v29.1 from 9/7/07 updated by me. Found the CD I used. Looks like there is a v31 available for this hardware.

Do the BM53 A/B/C plugs actually separate? I'll need to inspect. That's a good idea to test just A and eliminate the possibility of B/C contributing to the issue.

Most of the ground point connector (comb as you call it) is hidden behind a vertical carpet panel with integrated speaker grill. I'll see if I can get to it.

*edit* For giggles I just updated the MkIV NAV to v32 software (the latest available). I don't think it's related, but the radio will no longer power on from the front knob. I do still get voice from the steering wheel phone button.

BK

Last edited by bk_856er; 04-24-2017 at 01:38 AM.
bk_856er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 03:50 AM   #23
nealfromnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 144
My Ride: 2002 e46
So on the plug the smaller white and black connectors insert into he main connector. They have tabs at the top of the connector. Gently PRI the tab with a small flat blade screw driver and they will pop out of place. You just reinsert them and they click back into place.

http://s56.photobucket.com/user/niko..._0002.jpg.html

On the nav front v32 is latest / last version. I think the main difference was night mode setting and perspective if not already in your version.

There are also some versions around based on v32 that give different start up splash screens and Points of interests such as speed cameras. Requires a multistage process of building an ISO creating icon and sound for fixed cameras and feeding in a file of GPS coordinates for fix cameras in your area. I'd be a bit cautious over these versions.



On v32 disconnect all your power and completely reset the system. It should come right.

Last edited by nealfromnz; 04-24-2017 at 03:52 AM.
nealfromnz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use