E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 09:19 AM   #1
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Question about modding dme

Hi everyone, I finally just finished doing up the asthetics of my car, and am going to turbocharge my car.

I would appreciate any advice on the various ecus available for upgrade.

I have a e46 323. Its a m52tu engine running on obd I. I am thinking of swapping a 330 ecu in. Any thoughts?

My Chasis is EE93500.

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my PadFone using BimmerApp mobile app
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 08-28-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about modding dme

wait, the ms42 DME you have in your e46 are OBD 2, no OBD 1 as you say.....
yes you can put the MS43 DME in your car, but you also need the drive by wire gas pedal, throttle body, engine harness...
why do you want to put the MS43 in your car?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:01 PM   #3
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Maybe I could upload some pics for everyone to see?
Apparently my car runs on OBD I connector - The connecting head is the round pin type like the E36s.
Do you suggest I swap a ECU or just dismantle the chip and put another 1 in?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:27 PM   #4
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about modding dme

I have the round connector in my e39, and I have the OBD2....


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:29 AM   #5
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
so u have both connectors?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:27 PM   #6
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 485
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrdCloud View Post
so u have both connectors?
EOBD started in year 2001, so BMW cars sold to some Asian countries did not have the EOBD port. OBD2 is north America mandated protocol (Canada and USA) other American countries did not mandate anything, they just listen what their big gringo boss says and they just do it.
HakenTT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:30 PM   #7
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,898
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
First of all, there really is no such thing as "OBDI"; OBD1 is simply a term that was retroactively applied to all the manufacture specific diagnostic protocols.


From MY96 to MY01, US BMWs had both connectors. This is because Europe did not introduce its standard until MY2001. When it became required for even European cars, BMW decided to standardize the whole fleet and just have everything run off the OBDII port. It has nothing to do with "forcing everyone else to listen to their gringo bosses" (Ned, you're a smart guy, but why do you feel the need to insult someone or some group with every post you make?).

Whether you have the 20-pin, the OBDII connector, or both, the actual diagnostic busses are the same (in the case of the E46). Everything goes over a pair of K-lines. One K-line has the Engine and transmission, the other has everything else. In early pre-2001 US cars, only the Engine/transmission K-line was available through the OBDII connector.

Getting to the point -- for an ECU swap, it doesn't matter that you have only the 20-pin and the 330 has only the 16-pin. The K-line originates from the same pin on the DME, so if you install the MS43, you'll retain use of your 20-pin connector.
__________________
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 07:09 PM   #8
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Ok so any advice on what ECU upgrades could fit my caR?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:02 PM   #9
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about modding dme

again, why you want to "upgrade" your DME?
I told you before, if you wanna put the MS43 in your MS42 car, you also need to install the drive by wire gas pedal + throttle body for the drive by wire...


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:19 PM   #10
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
We'll Im upgrading to run a turbo charge.
I'm trying to figure out how to flash this thing so I could buy a spare 1 to toy with it.

How do i tell if its a MS43/42? I've tried putting some of the part numbers on realoem.com but can't get anything.
Any advice?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 12:13 AM   #11
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about modding dme

you don't need to "update" your DME to put a turbo....
all the 323 and 328 came with the MS42 and all the 325 and 330 came with the MS43......

regards,


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 12:36 PM   #12
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Re: Question about modding dme

So I just flash it??

Sent from my PadFone using BimmerApp mobile app
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 01:37 PM   #13
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about modding dme

no.....
you cant flash the MS43 in to the MS42 or MS42 in to the MS43....
Still dont know why you want to put the MS43 in your car...
yes I know, you want to turbo, but why you need the MS43 to turbo your car????


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:21 AM   #14
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
jdjg, I appreciate the help, but I'm not intending to put make 42 - 43 or vice versa.
I'm just asking how i should make my car tunable after turbo charging.
Was thinking if getting the MSS54 would help.

Is there a way I could program the MS42 after turbo charging?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:34 PM   #15
Imanewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brats n cheese curds WI
Posts: 232
My Ride: 328i zsp
Question about modding dme

No.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Imanewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:47 PM   #16
tks
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 804
My Ride: slower than yours
Question about modding dme

this hurts my eyes.
tks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 02:47 PM   #17
Imanewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brats n cheese curds WI
Posts: 232
My Ride: 328i zsp
Question about modding dme

https://www.millerperformancecars.com/war-chip.html


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Imanewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 03:08 PM   #18
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330iCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imanewbie View Post
No.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Why? What should be that different compared to MS43 so you couldnīt tune it correctly?
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:01 PM   #19
Imanewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brats n cheese curds WI
Posts: 232
My Ride: 328i zsp
Question about modding dme

you won't be able to tune any of them enough to have any decent boost, because of this I decided to keep my engine completely stock. In my eyes there isn't anything you can do to these engines that are cost effective for hp. I suggest you do the s54 swap, less headache and cost.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Imanewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:03 PM   #20
Imanewbie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brats n cheese curds WI
Posts: 232
My Ride: 328i zsp
Question about modding dme

I don't think you have a grasp on these computers yet really. Your years away from "tuning" any BMW.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Imanewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use