E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 67 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-08-2013, 11:21 PM   #41
WOLFN8TR
OEM ///Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 470
My Ride: 05 330CI ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by aa34s View Post
Nice information and write up.
Thanks...


Ok guys here is the wiring info for the Can Bus V2 to get the reverse camera to work, thanks to Tnhl1989!

The Orange wire is needed to have the reverse camera working with the new canbus v2 and harness. I soldered a Blue wire to the Orange (reverse) wire and connected to a Blue/Yellow wire in the glove box
.

Shown in the diagram below is the wiring to the reverse light. This box is on top of the fuse box.



Soldered a Blue wire to the Orange (reverse) wire and connected to a Blue/Yellow wire in the glove box.


Last edited by WOLFN8TR; 11-07-2013 at 09:03 PM.
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 02:13 AM   #42
shingo43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 65
My Ride: 04 325ci
I saw in 5150 on the left bottom there is a "mic" label, does that mean there is an front mic so I don't need to wire the external mic?
shingo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:23 AM   #43
WOLFN8TR
OEM ///Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 470
My Ride: 05 330CI ZHP
Yes Sir...

Last edited by WOLFN8TR; 10-27-2013 at 12:54 PM.
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 08:25 AM   #44
WOLFN8TR
OEM ///Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 470
My Ride: 05 330CI ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingo43 View Post
I saw in 5150 on the left bottom there is a "mic" label, does that mean there is an front mic so I don't need to wire the external mic?
Yes Sir...That is a Mic.
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 12:15 PM   #45
shingo43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 65
My Ride: 04 325ci
How do I know which relocate part I need? I cannot tell the difference between smoker one and the non-smoker one?
Does smoker one have led light and non-smoker one doesn't? my doesn't
shingo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 02:57 PM   #46
WOLFN8TR
OEM ///Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 470
My Ride: 05 330CI ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingo43 View Post
How do I know which relocate part I need? I cannot tell the difference between smoker one and the non-smoker one?
Does smoker one have led light and non-smoker one doesn't? my doesn't
Correct. I ordered the non-smoker one by accident and it didn't have the hole for the ash tray led. I had to drill a hole to install my led. That was the only difference.
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:40 PM   #47
aa34s
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 6
My Ride: 99 328i
Is it really need the relocation kit for the HVAC or I can mod the original to fit in??
aa34s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:25 PM   #48
shingo43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 65
My Ride: 04 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFN8TR View Post
Correct. I ordered the non-smoker one by accident and it didn't have the hole for the ash tray led. I had to drill a hole to install my led. That was the only difference.
Do you mind shot me a picture? Thanks
shingo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:57 PM   #49
daki_bmw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 818
My Ride: 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by aa34s View Post
Is it really need the relocation kit for the HVAC or I can mod the original to fit in??
No, you don't HAVE TO...Check this vid (0:50 - 2:30 talks about relocating A/C unit):
__________________
daki_bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:37 PM   #50
shingo43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 65
My Ride: 04 325ci
Thanks for the video, I didn't fully understand it, It says you don't need to keep "this" and "that", what exactly are they?
shingo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:41 PM   #51
WOLFN8TR
OEM ///Member
 
WOLFN8TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 470
My Ride: 05 330CI ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingo43 View Post
Do you mind shot me a picture? Thanks
Sure. What exactly do you want a pic of? Ash tray?
WOLFN8TR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 07:48 AM   #52
daki_bmw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 818
My Ride: 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by shingo43 View Post
Thanks for the video, I didn't fully understand it, It says you don't need to keep "this" and "that", what exactly are they?
I think that "this" and "that" are clips that lock into relocation unit, which you can't "lock" using non-relocation unit. You can still make it sit nice, straight and flush without it, too...
__________________
daki_bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:27 PM   #53
shingo43
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 65
My Ride: 04 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFN8TR View Post
Sure. What exactly do you want a pic of? Ash tray?
oh I was wondering the difference between the relocator, and wanted a picture to show the differences.
I've checked and my car has a small orange light in the ash tray so I guess mine is the smoker version.
shingo43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 07:06 PM   #54
toze777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: PT
Posts: 41
My Ride: 320D ( E46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFN8TR View Post
I originally installed the GPS Antenna inside on the dash by the passenger A pillar. This worked ok but I decided to mount it on the roof in the front of the car. This was actually pretty easy, it took about 15 minutes to complete and the signal is better. All the wires for the backup camera, GPS, USB and iPod ran down to the passengers side behind the glove box.

Mount the GPS Antenna and run the wire down inside the window seal into the engine compartment. Then thru the rubber grommet inside the small compartment on the passengers side. There are two unused access slots, just cut the tip off one and run the cable thru. See below.

Nice ,, That Gps would last long here in Portugal like that some would jut cut it and take it over night .. but till good idea
toze777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:21 PM   #55
CBLKE46M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kalifornia
Posts: 6
My Ride: E46 M3
First off thanks for the great write up!!

Hey a few questions...

1. My car is a 2001 M3 with Factory GPS retrofit from a 2004 model, is there a particular harness I need?
2. Anything needed for a HK System? Line out converter etc? Or simple Plug and play?
3. Does the blue tooth work just fine? (I have galaxy S4)
4. Does the IGo maps come pre loaded on a SD card when you purchase directly through Eonon?
5. Can you change the clock look? It just looks so silly/cheap.
6. Are steering wheel controls retained?
7. Is the a group buy?

Last edited by CBLKE46M3; 10-17-2013 at 05:24 PM.
CBLKE46M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 01:40 AM   #56
wicked_ink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 152
My Ride: 2002 325i
Thanks for puting this together WOLFN8TR! Great job!

Quick question, is there a 12HR mode for the clock or is it just 24HR mode?

Thanks,
Mike
wicked_ink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 08:38 AM   #57
therealet23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 61
My Ride: BMW M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked_ink View Post
Thanks for puting this together WOLFN8TR! Great job!

Quick question, is there a 12HR mode for the clock or is it just 24HR mode?

Thanks,
Mike
Yes in the settings...

The clock is kind of weird as I can never get it to be correct when it is synced to the GPS...
therealet23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:13 PM   #58
wicked_ink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 152
My Ride: 2002 325i
Re: Eonon D5150 Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by therealet23 View Post
Yes in the settings...

The clock is kind of weird as I can never get it to be correct when it is synced to the GPS...
Cool, thanks.

Sent from my Galaxy S4 using BimmerApp
__________________
wicked_ink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:54 PM   #59
Mr. Danutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cluj-Napoca
Posts: 10
My Ride: BMW E46
Eonon D5150 Install

Hello,

My name is Dan, and I'm from Romania. First of all, i want to appologise my english.

@WOLFN8TR - your informations about the product and the instalation are very great, and i want to thank you very much fort that. Monday arrives my D5150 and your tips are going to be very usefull.

A++++++++++


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Mr. Danutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:00 PM   #60
cyberlando
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: fort stewart
Posts: 553
My Ride: 2002 M3
Eonon D5150 Install

Anyone know how good the RCA outputs on this unit is? I have a aftermarket component setup front and rear.....with an aftermarket Amplier


The info I need is what is the voltage rating for the head unit as far as RCA output


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Mods:
[] Section 1 Dual AR20's[] B&B Exhaust[] Led interior [] SSBL
[]KW V3 [] Eibach F&R Sways[] BMC Filter

Last edited by cyberlando; 10-19-2013 at 06:01 PM.
cyberlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
backup camera, bluetooth, business unit, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use