E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 02:27 AM   #61
kristsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
My Ride: 330D M57N
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
Without E46 Cluster, there will be no MIL light as there is no possibility to light it up
Thanks What I really wanted to know is if abscence of instrument cluster, ABS/ESP and other control modules will not make the ECU to go into limp mode?
kristsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:40 AM   #62
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
I guess, and actually i can just guess, without dsc module the ecu will go into limpmode.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:04 PM   #63
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jony787 View Post
Virginized MS43 with EURO 2 tune no SAP or post CAT o2 check engine light!!!!!!!!! If you installed headers, bad dme or sap delete this is for you!!!!!! PM me for details!!!!!!


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
I have included just that in my first post. Minus EWS delete.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 01:19 AM   #64
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
Appreciate your progress! But i would even more appreciate it if you would unveal it open

sorry for being late, but finally:

TPS position at MS430066:



tuner tuned tps:



i really hope there will be some progress in deleting the EWS and DSC handicap, i would really like to build a E36 330ti
Awesome!

How do you read that graph to make meaningfull adjustments to the throttle pedal to throttle body relationship?
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 09:25 AM   #65
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 266
My Ride: BMW FTW
Look at the first picture.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 02:02 PM   #66
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,914
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Seems odd that it would max out at 81 instead of 90. Is there a separate high load map?
__________________

Last edited by TerraPhantm; 11-19-2013 at 02:03 PM.
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:16 AM   #67
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
it corresponds to the inpa values
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 11:57 AM   #68
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
it corresponds to the inpa values
Gotcha,

I missed the pics at first. Attaching to thread. That image hosting you use is a mess... lol

TPS position on MS430066:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tps.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	229.1 KB
ID:	535613   Click image for larger version

Name:	tuned.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	245.9 KB
ID:	535615  
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-20-2013 at 12:08 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 12:43 PM   #69
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
Seems odd that it would max out at 81 instead of 90. Is there a separate high load map?
Could be because the M54 TB isn't shut all the way like S54's at rest.

That looks like a 10 angle to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tb.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	535623  
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 06:53 PM   #70
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,914
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Interesting. That could be the case, though I'd wonder why BMW would make a throttle body that never closes.

Makes me wonder if it'd be possible to just eliminate the idle control valve altogether on DBW cars. Always seemed redundant when the DME should just be able to adjust the main throttle body as necessary.
__________________
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 02:17 AM   #71
xHeiKe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 65
My Ride: '02 BMW 325i Sedan
Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

This is an extremely naive question but what are the codes used for? How do you use them?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
xHeiKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 04:22 AM   #72
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 505
My Ride: 330iCA
what kind of codes do you refer to?
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:24 AM   #73
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
Interesting. That could be the case, though I'd wonder why BMW would make a throttle body that never closes.

Makes me wonder if it'd be possible to just eliminate the idle control valve altogether on DBW cars. Always seemed redundant when the DME should just be able to adjust the main throttle body as necessary.
Possibly as a fail-safe in the event the TB went bad. IIRC, the ICV in the M54 is used for a percentage of tb opening. At idle it does not use the TB. Which may explain the 0.00 values at low load. Maybe there is a low load ICV map somewhere.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-21-2013 at 09:33 AM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:36 AM   #74
p0lar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 32
My Ride: E46 ///M3
I guess I'm going to get involved here since I now have access to a 430066 in his 325i.

I don't use WinOLS, so might it be feasible to simply update the checksums within the 64kb parameter space without using that?

Does anyone know exactly where the checksums are located and how many of them there are? I think terra mentioned there being ~8, but perhaps that's inclusive of the 512kb complete dump of the 29F400. It's supposed to be more complex than the MSS5x variants of DME, but that can probably be overcome.

If anyone has any files to help me get a jump on this, feel free to send me a PM. The 4Shared sites are taxing to use, so I'd rather use eMail or a privately hosted server.
p0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:18 PM   #75
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by p0lar View Post
I guess I'm going to get involved here since I now have access to a 430066 in his 325i.

I don't use WinOLS, so might it be feasible to simply update the checksums within the 64kb parameter space without using that?

Does anyone know exactly where the checksums are located and how many of them there are? I think terra mentioned there being ~8, but perhaps that's inclusive of the 512kb complete dump of the 29F400. It's supposed to be more complex than the MSS5x variants of DME, but that can probably be overcome.

If anyone has any files to help me get a jump on this, feel free to send me a PM. The 4Shared sites are taxing to use, so I'd rather use eMail or a privately hosted server.
What files are you looking for?

There are 2 checksums on the 64k data portion and 16 across the full dump. You are well versed in assembly and a great asset. Thanks for stopping by!
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-24-2013 at 08:29 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:45 PM   #76
p0lar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 32
My Ride: E46 ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by new//M3fan View Post
What files are you looking for?

There are 2 checksums on the 64k data portion and 16 across the full dump. You are well versed in assembly and a great asset. Thanks for stopping by!
I'll take whatever I can get my hands on that isn't pirated/copyrighted. More is better, I can sift through the junk, heh.

Thanks for the information on the checksums. Might you know the locations and/or calculation routine? If so, I can produce a TunerPro checksum calculation module in very short order, as well as a checksum correction tool written in Perl (or compiled as a Win32 binary).
p0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:53 PM   #77
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by p0lar View Post
I'll take whatever I can get my hands on that isn't pirated/copyrighted. More is better, I can sift through the junk, heh.

Thanks for the information on the checksums. Might you know the locations and/or calculation routine? If so, I can produce a TunerPro checksum calculation module in very short order, as well as a checksum correction tool written in Perl (or compiled as a Win32 binary).
Sure thing. PM me your e-mail address and I'll send the files and info I have. I know the locations but not the calculation routines just yet. Really haven't taken a look that far since I'm not so great at it.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-24-2013 at 08:54 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:09 PM   #78
p0lar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 32
My Ride: E46 ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by new//M3fan View Post
Sure thing. PM me your e-mail address and I'll send the files and info I have. I know the locations but not the calculation routines just yet. Really haven't taken a look that far since I'm not so great at it.
Locations are the start, the rest will come in the form of trial and error. Frankly, I'm surprised this hasn't already been conquered - it's one of the first steps required to break the independence of commercial software.

If someone has WinOLS and can correct checksums, I can create a few files to generate comparisons against to determine what algorithm is being used and we can go from there.
p0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:22 PM   #79
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by p0lar View Post
Locations are the start, the rest will come in the form of trial and error. Frankly, I'm surprised this hasn't already been conquered - it's one of the first steps required to break the independence of commercial software.

If someone has WinOLS and can correct checksums, I can create a few files to generate comparisons against to determine what algorithm is being used and we can go from there.
Just sent you just that. I'd love a primer on how that is done. Through skype or somewhat. I'd like to see in action and get an idea of what is needed if possible.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:42 AM   #80
p0lar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 32
My Ride: E46 ///M3
Ok, so no matter what changes seem to be made to the MS43 binary, only one location changes otherwise for me, 2 bytes at 0x3FE0. I don't believe the next 30 bytes are factored, but that doesn't help in the way the data is ordered when calculated, nor if there is a prefix much like the MSS52 and MSS54.

So, let's say the parameter space is chunked into exactly 16kb boundaries as follows:
segment 1 = 0x0000 -> 0x3FE0
segment 2 = 0x4000 -> 0x7FFF
segment 3 = 0x8000 -> 0xBFFF
segment 4 = 0xC000 -> 0xFFFF

I've tried running the same CRC16 used on the MSS5x DMEs in the following orders:
2,1,4,3
4,3,2,1
1,2,3,4
1,2,4,3
2,1,3,4

Plus, adding a prefix from 0x0000 -> 0xFFFF in advance of each run.

Thus far, I've hit on one match accidentally, but I believe that was a CRC16 collision as it didn't hold for any other instance. I know this is a brute force approach, but without a hint as to where to start, I'm not sure what else to try just yet.
p0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use