E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum

BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by BAVSOUND

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2016, 08:20 AM   #1
RCase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 87
My Ride: 2001 325i Touring
Xtrons Android 5.1 Deck - No Sound - HiFi 01 325

Folks,

I recently purchased the latest Xtrons Deck that is on eBay with Lollipop, quad core and has the upgraded 1024 pixel screen. It is very fast, gorgeous screen compared to the dynavin - except i have no sound.

My 01 touring has hifi audio, so i believe the equates to no digital processing. I assumed the head unit would drive the speakers. My dynavin and my old single din alpine deck both worked (and still work when i troubleshoot).

There is no option to enable/ disable DSP, the harness is plug and play. The remote amp wire is not hooked up nor has it been on my previous decks (as that should be firing an external amp).

CAN bus integration is working as steering wheel controls are perfect. Dimming, lighting , etc, all good. The harness oddly has both the older round pins and also the slotted style all on one pig tail. I was going to cut the other connector off , however now that I wonder what the deal is, I don't know.

Does Hifi have an AMP external to the deck like HK? I contacted the seller multiple times and they have not responded.

I would really appreciate if anyone has an idea. It feels like it has to be a setting, however i have literally went through every single possible menu. I am not sure if there is a way to get into th boot loader on this deck, I don't think that will make a difference. Wifi and Bluetooth work as does GPS , USB on the back, etc. All perfect.

Thanks!
__________________
2001 S54 Touring / Manual / Alpine White / Beige
2015 F31 / M-Sport/Alpine/Diesel
2008 M3 Sedan / Manual / Jerez Black / Fox Red
RCase is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 07-06-2016, 03:48 AM   #2
davo 01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: cardiff
Posts: 23
My Ride: bmw e46 330ci conver
Hi, I am having the same problem, did you find a solution?
davo 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 07:59 AM   #3
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,572
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
All BMW E46 cars made for the US market have a separate amp. I'm not sure where the amp is located in the touring, but in all other bodies the amp is located in the left side of the trunk. E46s didn't get DSP or any other sophisticated sound system, except for HK. The differences between the base sound system and the HK system are the amp and the speakers. The head units are the same.

The head unit provides a "turn on" signal to the amp. It's a 12VDC signal. The wire is integrated into one of the two connectors at the amp. I believe the wire is cream in color. Check the head unit's wiring diagram to make sure the signal is being provided by the new head unit.

Also, be aware that the OEM amp (base and HK) require balanced differential input signals. These are of a higher voltage than line level/RCA signals. Some have reported that the sound level is very low after the installation of an after market head unit.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use