E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 202 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-25-2014, 06:35 PM   #361
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 152
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy@avinusa.com View Post
Yes if there is a 100% foolproof way but with root the user has complete control over everything. The user can also unintentionally corrupt even that factory image and many other security measures that are in place.
Very true. I've seen tons of root users have theirs bricked on xda forum when attempting something on their phones, even though all the comprehensive instructions provided.

I am also somewhat savvy about customizing android system but would rather choose non-rooted unit IF THERE WILL BE CONSISTENT AND FREQUENT UPDATES FROM MANUFACTURER.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod (for fun)



_____________
For Sale(PM me):
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel + Airbag
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 10:50 PM   #362
E46er75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 298
My Ride: 323i Vert, 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46er75 View Post
Finally had a chance to complete the install of my Avin and now it won't download apps? Says installing in google play and stays that way with nothing in the progress bar. Also noticed that nothing shows up in the notification pull down.

I have connected the unit to both my home network and my iPhone via hotspot. Google play opens right up and all other network related things work fine. I can search google play and everything. But it just won't download anything....

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
So I finally was able to install map updates and also finally was able to download poweramp. It took me roughly 10-12 reboots to get the apps to download. I'm not sure if I'm the only one with this issue?

Now for the new issue. I myself have the same control issues with poweramp as stated in previous posts, but I'm also getting really bad noise and static when using the app. To the point that I will not use the app due to possible speaker damage from it. Once the app is closed all sound returns to normal.

So anybody else with this issue?




Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
E46er75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:06 AM   #363
Haug523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 67
My Ride: Bmw E39 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy@avinusa.com View Post
This was something that a few customers asked for. Do not worry if do not need a rooted system you will still have warranty.
That would have been nice and i think i speak for a lot of your customers abroad then saying this, sending the unit to the states for warranty issues would be expensive, espessially for sending it from Norway.
Haug523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:18 PM   #364
dinix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: portugal
Posts: 2
My Ride: 320td
Hi, i was browsing the net for a few days by now for a nice replacement for my factory radio.
I've found a some of options: Navall E46-RN502, Andrive AN46 and the ANVIN. Actually I’ve found others but these seem to be the best ones.

For what i read so far, it seems AVIN has the best software integration/tuning of the three. But lacks a bit on the hardware side.

I've read the specs on the ANVIN website but some questions still like to ask:
- Does it have PDC (park distance control) and OBC functions like dynavin?
- Why the radio app does not show RDS info?
- Does it or will support MirrorLink?
- Do you have TV tuner option?

Regards
dinix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:40 PM   #365
tommy@avinusa.com
AKA: M3Evolution
 
tommy@avinusa.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: California
Posts: 188
My Ride: 2003 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinix View Post
Hi, i was browsing the net for a few days by now for a nice replacement for my factory radio.
I've found a some of options: Navall E46-RN502, Andrive AN46 and the ANVIN. Actually I've found others but these seem to be the best ones.

For what i read so far, it seems AVIN has the best software integration/tuning of the three. But lacks a bit on the hardware side.

I've read the specs on the ANVIN website but some questions still like to ask:
- Does it have PDC (park distance control) and OBC functions like dynavin?
- Why the radio app does not show RDS info?
- Does it or will support MirrorLink?
- Do you have TV tuner option?

Regards
No PDC or OBC displayed directly from the unit.
The radio app does show RDS info now.
It does not support mirrorlink. We do have our S150 model that does support mirrolink though. https://avinusa.com/bmw-e46-android-s150-series.html
No built in tv-tuner option.

Last edited by tommy@avinusa.com; 01-27-2014 at 01:50 PM.
tommy@avinusa.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:48 PM   #366
dinix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: portugal
Posts: 2
My Ride: 320td
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy@avinusa.com View Post
The radio app does show RDS info now.
It does not support mirrorlink. We do have our S150 model that does support mirrolink though. https://avinusa.com/bmw-e46-android-s150-series.html
No built in tv-tuner option.
Tanks Tommy for so fast answering.

Could you please also answer the first question about PDC and OBC functions like dynavin unit?

Regards
dinix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:49 PM   #367
tommy@avinusa.com
AKA: M3Evolution
 
tommy@avinusa.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: California
Posts: 188
My Ride: 2003 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigo1087 View Post

Also the Volkswagen Version. Has a capacitive screen and our doesn't?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using BimmerApp mobile app
The issues with capacitive touchscreen in cars is the operating temperature the capacitive screen can operate in. It has issues in extreme cold and extreme heat environment. So if you live somewhere that snows or is really hot like in Las Vegas you will have problems with the capacitive screen in your car. The temperature in a parked car in Las Vegas is a lot hotter then that of the temperature outside of the car.

We do warn our customers if they want to try the unit with capacitive screen these limitation. We will continue to test new capacitive screen that claims to have a wider operating temperature range.
tommy@avinusa.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:33 AM   #368
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
Can you use any odb2 bluetooth adapter or does it need to be the AVIN branded one?
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:39 AM   #369
matt0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 224
My Ride: 318i e46
"avin branded one" - lolque?
matt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:47 AM   #370
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt0 View Post
"avin branded one" - lolque?
Whoops, maybe not avin branded but the one from Tommy's website.
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 03:05 AM   #371
matt0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 224
My Ride: 318i e46
Works fine with my random $5 ebay bluetooth OBD connector
matt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 04:10 AM   #372
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
Cool. Not sure what I'm doing wrong then, I don't seem to have any options to connect to the obd connector under the Bluetooth menu? The only options I have are Auto Connection, Bluetooth telephone answering set and Pin code settings.
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:37 AM   #373
Ironman273
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Posts: 43
My Ride: 2003 BMW 530i
Check under the main settings->wireless->Bluetooth (I'm paraphrasing the menus, I don't know them by heart)
Ironman273 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:24 PM   #374
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 152
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
I've seen lots of people reporting about the obd2 bluetooth adaptor compatibility/product life issues.
I remember I've researched quite a long time before I ordered mine and here's what I've been using since years ago:

http://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products-...+bluetooth+e46

This seems quite more expensive than others but never failed nor giving me errors with any smartphones I've been using.
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod (for fun)



_____________
For Sale(PM me):
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel + Airbag
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes

Last edited by nut; 01-28-2014 at 12:25 PM.
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:29 PM   #375
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 152
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
Also, remember, if you're not aware of it, you have to pair it every time when you turn on...it's quite cumbersome.
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod (for fun)



_____________
For Sale(PM me):
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel + Airbag
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:43 PM   #376
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman273 View Post
Check under the main settings->wireless->Bluetooth (I'm paraphrasing the menus, I don't know them by heart)
This is where I have been trying but like I mentioned previously I only get the 3 options, Auto Connection, Bluetooth telephone answering set and Pin code settings.
The unit is connected to my phone when trying to connect the obd adapter, does it have to bee disconnected?

Click image for larger version

Name:	bluetooth.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	110.8 KB
ID:	544418
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 07:00 AM   #377
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
ok, ignore this for now. I just saw a little disclaimer on the model I purchased which says "Note: This model does not currently support Bluetooth OBD2"

Hopefully it will soon.


[QUOTE=ominous2003;15969572]This is where I have been trying but like I mentioned previously I only get the 3 options, Auto Connection, Bluetooth telephone answering set and Pin code settings.
The unit is connected to my phone when trying to connect the obd adapter, does it have to bee disconnected?
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:49 AM   #378
diemair
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Füssen
Posts: 34
My Ride: BMW E46 330xd
Quote:
Originally Posted by ominous2003 View Post
ok, ignore this for now. I just saw a little disclaimer on the model I purchased which says "Note: This model does not currently support Bluetooth OBD2"

Hopefully it will soon.
It seems u have the S150 Series Model.

Quote from description on AVIN website:

BMW E46 - Android - S150 Series with MirrorLink

Available and Shipping now!



Note: This unit is not the same as our ///AVIN AA-BE46 Avant Series

The BMW S150 series is not currently compatible with cars equipped with factory navigation.

Torque and Bluetooth OBD2 is not compatible with the S150 Series.
diemair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 02:10 PM   #379
ominous2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
My Ride: Jetta
Quote:
Originally Posted by diemair View Post
It seems u have the S150 Series Model.

Quote from description on AVIN website:

BMW E46 - Android - S150 Series with MirrorLink

Available and Shipping now!



Note: This unit is not the same as our ///AVIN AA-BE46 Avant Series

The BMW S150 series is not currently compatible with cars equipped with factory navigation.

Torque and Bluetooth OBD2 is not compatible with the S150 Series.

Actually the VW version with the capacitive screen.
ominous2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 02:57 PM   #380
d33p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 47
My Ride: zcp
So if you have no wifi/3g/4g will google navigation be kinda worthless?
d33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
android, avant, avin, dynavin, eonon, m3evolution

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use