E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 15 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-22-2013, 02:11 AM   #41
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 155
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
1. Google navigation app makes the unit reboot while running.
2. Pandora is background force-closing with internet connection.
3. Statics noticeable above volume 20ish when mute/not playing/pause. I'm running RCA connection to aftermarket amp.

#1 is a major issue for me, #2 and #3 being minor issue, I'd say.
ROM update would fix #1 & #2 bugs easily.
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod
•Folding mirror motor retrofit



_____________
For Sale:
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 03:51 AM   #42
tommy@avinusa.com
AKA: M3Evolution
 
tommy@avinusa.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: California
Posts: 198
My Ride: 2003 M3 SMG
Google Maps issue seems to be common on many devices. It appears to be random but we are working on finding a solution for this. All other GPS navigation apps are working great and do not experience this issue. Please contact us directly and we will help everyone on a case by case basis.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/08...on-a-solution/

https://www.google.com/search?q=goog...m=122&ie=UTF-8
tommy@avinusa.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 03:56 AM   #43
Haug523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 68
My Ride: Bmw E39 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy@avinusa.com View Post
Google Maps issue seems to be common on many devices. It appears to be random but we are working on finding a solution for this. All other GPS navigation apps are working great and do not experience this issue. Please contact us directly and we will help everyone on a case by case basis.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/08...on-a-solution/

https://www.google.com/search?q=goog...m=122&ie=UTF-8
Is the google maps issue only affecting US Users or T-Mobile? i guess it won't be a big issue for me as i will be using Tomtom or Sygic
Haug523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 10:29 AM   #44
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,744
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReactiveShooter View Post
I will go ahead and say that the "static" is completely unnoticeable even when the engine is off unless you are somewhere very quiet such as the garage. For me it is a complete non-issue and I am a bit if an audiophile. I would not let the static issue effect your purchase decision.

Also, unless there is something I don't know about audio systems(I have built several), a line output converter would not effect this issue. A LOC could only lower the overall output of the head unit, which you can much more easily do buy turning the volume knob. The static is only noticeable at high volume levels, when you turn the volume below say 15 it is no longer detectable. adjusting the output down with a LOC would be just the same as turning the unit down. A LOC only becomes necessary when a source device has noticeable static/noise output even at low or no volume, such as an old, badly shielded source with internal static introduced after the amplification circuits. The static in the Avin unit is being introduced before the internal amplification, therefore a LOC will have no more effect than adjusting the volume of the head unit itself. If I'm making sense.
Correct, an LOC would not be relevant in your case. But turning up any stereo and pressing pause you are going to get some level of noise, in the case of the avin its going to depend on the app/feature, bluetooth for instance is going to have more noise than CD. But as you noted, its a non issue in regular use.

My LOC advice was for the guy having low level noise, he specifically noted volume levels of 0-1.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 04:54 PM   #45
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
I got my X5 version head unit in today. I have no idea how to install this.
Can anyone throw some hints on where these connectors go? They do not seem to match my OEM connectors.



Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 04:56 PM   #46
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
On my last post, I do not know where the connectors on the third image go. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Andrew
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:07 PM   #47
Haug523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 68
My Ride: Bmw E39 523
You have Dsp, it says on Avin's site that the player isn't compatible with DSP, i guess you'll have to return it or buy some aftermarket amps and speakers.
Haug523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:09 PM   #48
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
No DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haug523 View Post
You have Dsp, it says on Avin's site that the player isn't compatible with DSP, i guess you'll have to return it or buy some aftermarket amps and speakers.
Uhh no. I do not have DSP. I have the standard sound system. I don't know why you assumed that.
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:10 PM   #49
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 155
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
I haven't seen left one but can tell you about right one. Maybe X5 version is different from E46 one?(I have short memory...
You just connect the wire-end to another connector, not the black plastic housing one. You can leave the black housing side as it is.
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod
•Folding mirror motor retrofit



_____________
For Sale:
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:17 PM   #50
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
I also have this connector.

The end next to the head unit plugs straight into the head unit and the other end goes into the long extension cable. I am guessing those two other connectors in my previous post (image three) are not needed for my case?
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:27 PM   #51
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 155
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
I needed all the cables to be connected to each other(or headunit). Check the labels attached to the wires and refer to the diagram. It will help you understand the system little bit more.
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod
•Folding mirror motor retrofit



_____________
For Sale:
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:29 PM   #52
nut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: was ATL
Posts: 155
My Ride: 04 LSB M3 SMG
Once again, it's for X5 so I might be wrong...
__________________

•Koni Yellow + Eibach
•VMR VB3 19" + Ventus V12 EVO K110
•Brembo GT 355mm 6pods + 345mm 4pods
•Headlamp retrofit: S2k projector + 85122cm + eas AE
•Avin Avant 2(+BU cam) + Alpine PDX F4 + BSW stage I, JL 600/1v3 + 10W7
•SCSL dual CF trunk
•E90 key retrofit w/ greater remote distance! + Start Engine button mod
•Folding mirror motor retrofit



_____________
For Sale:
•ZHP Alcantara steering wheel
•OEM M3 18" wheel F/R + OEM brakes
nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:59 PM   #53
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,744
My Ride: BMW
Like all BMWs with Nav the radio module in your X5 is in the trunk, under the floor, next to the battery and spare tire under a plastic cover. Thats why you go the extension harness, to run all the wiring back there.

Everything only plugs in one way, lay it out on the table like you have done and plug everything in until it makes sense.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 12-23-2013 at 06:00 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:00 PM   #54
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
I figured it out. one of the connectors on post 45 (image 3) was used. It was flat pin connector type that was originally connected to the OEM radio tuner. I did a test install and it works! The audio quality is amazing! I had the BSW package installed over 5 years ago and with this new head unit you can really hear the difference. Haven't tested other stuff yet, but I will after I do the install.

Also does anyone know where I wire the park and illumination wires to?
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:09 PM   #55
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,744
My Ride: BMW
you wont use the park wire but the illumination wire needs to go to a dash illumination circuit wire.....there is one in the plugs that were originally plugged into the oem screen.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 12-23-2013 at 06:30 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:12 PM   #56
Haug523
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 68
My Ride: Bmw E39 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr3wX5 View Post
Uhh no. I do not have DSP. I have the standard sound system. I don't know why you assumed that.

Because this user had troubble installing a Hualigan into his X5 because of DSP, he have the excact connections as in your car:


http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...ew-Info/page48

There's also a workaround, should work with the Avin aswell:

http://www.xoutpost.com/bmw-sav-foru...rough-diy.html



I see you solved it

Last edited by Haug523; 12-23-2013 at 06:16 PM.
Haug523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:40 PM   #57
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
Yeah I did, thanks everyone for the suggestions. Just need to route all the wires which I am in the process of doing. This is the boring part. I am routing it under the door sills. I will show my install once I am done.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions View Post
you wont use the park wire but the illumination wire needs to go to a dash illumination circuit wire.....there is one in the plugs that were originally plugged into the oem screen.....
Jeff, do you happen to know which wire the illumination one is, in the blue plug? Should I be looking for an orange wire since the supplied illumination wire is orange?

Thanks,
Andrew
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:15 PM   #58
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,744
My Ride: BMW
no, the wire colors will be different, the AVIN uses standard industry color codes (orange is illumination). Car manufacturers all use their own proprietary color codes. I dont recall off the top of my head what the wire is you need to tap into but its easy to figure out with a multimeter or test light.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 06:50 PM   #59
Dr3wX5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5 3.0i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions View Post
no, the wire colors will be different, the AVIN uses standard industry color codes (orange is illumination). Car manufacturers all use their own proprietary color codes. I dont recall off the top of my head what the wire is you need to tap into but its easy to figure out with a multimeter or test light.
Hey Jeff, I figured it out, the wire that needs to be tapped for illumination is a gray/red wire which is on the blue OEM plug. This applies for the X5 with factory navigation. The light is on regardless of the dimmer dial. It is on only when headlights/parking lights are on.

The problem I am having now is routing the extension cable. I originally routed it under the door sills and through the B-column but it is just too thick. I cannot put the trim pieces back on. Jeff do you happen to know any alternative locations where I can route the cable?
Dr3wX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 07:26 PM   #60
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,744
My Ride: BMW
Don't put it directly under the sills, put it under the adjacent carpet, the carpet and pad is a lot more flexible and forgiving than plastic trim parts.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use