E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-30-2013, 01:46 PM   #61
KwhyLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 1,209
My Ride: 2.5
If youre still having problems, dont restore until after you JB.
__________________
KwhyLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:34 PM   #62
shwagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 766
My Ride: 325it 5-speed
Need some help guys... I purchased an AT&T iPhone 5 (running ios7) off of ebay to use on the straight talk plain. I see that AT&T has apparently stopped 3rd party unlocking. Is there a way to get this phone working on ST using the jail break option?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reedo302 View Post
What an unending cavalcade of rampant virgin Mom's-basement-dwelling douchebaggery... Wow.
My Gun Builds: AR-15, GSG-522-SD, Saiga 308
shwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:46 PM   #63
nojoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: en la puta madre
Posts: 8,477
My Ride: 06 M3Vert 6MT JB/CIN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shwagon View Post
Need some help guys... I purchased an AT&T iPhone 5 (running ios7) off of ebay to use on the straight talk plain. I see that AT&T has apparently stopped 3rd party unlocking. Is there a way to get this phone working on ST using the jail break option?
I didn't have to switch anything from my AT&T 4s? I just literraly cut the sim card to mini sim and it worked. Att network changed to HOME on the carrier side of the iOS but back then it was iOS 6.

I've had straight talk about 2 years now, but every since I updated to iOS 7 my carrier shows TFW as in tracfone wireless since their affiliates, just like simple mobile I think.

when iOS 7 told me to upgrade some carrier settings I put yes, and that messed up my Inet through tracfone, so luckily I restored my phone and everything is working fine.

Besides all the jailbreak stuff.
__________________


2006 BMW M3 VERT 6MT (CURRENT)
2007 B7 AUDI A4 2.0T CVT FWD (BRILLIANT BLACK) TRADED

2002 E46 BMW M3 SMG II (TIAG) RIP

INSTAGRAM : itsjorgebrah

Last edited by nojoda; 12-30-2013 at 05:48 PM.
nojoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:56 PM   #64
shwagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 766
My Ride: 325it 5-speed
iOS 7 Jailbreak released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nojoda View Post
I didn't have to switch anything from my AT&T 4s? I just literraly cut the sim card to mini sim and it worked. Att network changed to HOME on the carrier side of the iOS but back then it was iOS 6.

I've had straight talk about 2 years now, but every since I updated to iOS 7 my carrier shows TFW as in tracfone wireless since their affiliates, just like simple mobile I think.

when iOS 7 told me to upgrade some carrier settings I put yes, and that messed up my Inet through tracfone, so luckily I restored my phone and everything is working fine.

Besides all the jailbreak stuff.

This is what I'm getting when I insert the SIM card and try to complete the set upClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1388447805.023431.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	540586


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reedo302 View Post
What an unending cavalcade of rampant virgin Mom's-basement-dwelling douchebaggery... Wow.
My Gun Builds: AR-15, GSG-522-SD, Saiga 308

Last edited by shwagon; 12-30-2013 at 05:58 PM.
shwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:15 PM   #65
b0bab0i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: so cal
Posts: 795
My Ride: x
Find a friend that has an AT&T sim and put it into activate phone. Switch sims after. See if that works. Or call AT&T CS and have them unlock the phone.
__________________

Last edited by b0bab0i; 12-30-2013 at 06:19 PM.
b0bab0i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:26 PM   #66
nojoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: en la puta madre
Posts: 8,477
My Ride: 06 M3Vert 6MT JB/CIN
Ok so here's an update how I fixed the jailbreak problem. and the cause.

Cause: upgraded from iOS 6 to iOS 7 through wifi. ( not really caring )

Fix: backed up my iphone, restored Iphone ( forces you to automatically update through Itunes. hence iOS 7.0.4 )


Cause: Jailbreak through OSX Mavericks through same computer I used to back up and restore phone. - somehow jailbreak wouldn't work.

Fix: restored Iphone through Itunes on PC, switched over to my MacbookPro after for the backup, then switch back and jailbroke on the PC.

voila, cydia is working correctly, no carrier name is working.
__________________


2006 BMW M3 VERT 6MT (CURRENT)
2007 B7 AUDI A4 2.0T CVT FWD (BRILLIANT BLACK) TRADED

2002 E46 BMW M3 SMG II (TIAG) RIP

INSTAGRAM : itsjorgebrah
nojoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:33 PM   #67
nojoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: en la puta madre
Posts: 8,477
My Ride: 06 M3Vert 6MT JB/CIN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shwagon View Post
This is what I'm getting when I insert the SIM card and try to complete the set upAttachment 540586
Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0bab0i View Post
Find a friend that has an AT&T sim and put it into activate phone. Switch sims after. See if that works. Or call AT&T CS and have them unlock the phone.
Im not sure if this guide will help, but
swapping sims to fix straight talk problem.



I got around that screen because iOS let me continue, i updated carrier settings and I was set. unfortunately I think iOS7 is restricting for a reason. which makes no sense since iphones generally could be sold unlocked
__________________


2006 BMW M3 VERT 6MT (CURRENT)
2007 B7 AUDI A4 2.0T CVT FWD (BRILLIANT BLACK) TRADED

2002 E46 BMW M3 SMG II (TIAG) RIP

INSTAGRAM : itsjorgebrah

Last edited by nojoda; 12-30-2013 at 06:35 PM.
nojoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 10:33 PM   #68
shwagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 766
My Ride: 325it 5-speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0bab0i View Post
Find a friend that has an AT&T sim and put it into activate phone. Switch sims after. See if that works. Or call AT&T CS and have them unlock the phone.
OK thanks for the idea of switching SIM cards, this got me to the home screen and I was able to reload all my data from I tunes. My ony problem is, now when I insert the straight talk SIM it automatically sends me back to the set up screen with the same message I posted earlier... If I take the SIM out it brings up the home screen again. Any suggestions?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reedo302 View Post
What an unending cavalcade of rampant virgin Mom's-basement-dwelling douchebaggery... Wow.
My Gun Builds: AR-15, GSG-522-SD, Saiga 308

Last edited by shwagon; 12-30-2013 at 10:47 PM.
shwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:20 PM   #69
awesomechinz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South Bend
Posts: 467
My Ride: 1999 BMW 323i sedan
iOS 7 Jailbreak released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shwagon View Post
OK thanks for the idea of switching SIM cards, this got me to the home screen and I was able to reload all my data from I tunes. My ony problem is, now when I insert the straight talk SIM it automatically sends me back to the set up screen with the same message I posted earlier... If I take the SIM out it brings up the home screen again. Any suggestions?
Call AT&T and tell them that you would like to unlock your iphone (even though the servers should have automatically unlocked it when the 2 year contract was completed/properly terminated)
__________________
When the lava flows, play in the mud

brown magic
awesomechinz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:36 PM   #70
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,006
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
im still on ios5 on my 4s believe it or not and i want to upgrade to the ios7 untethered version. do i need to update on itunes first then run the evasion software or can i just jump straight to jailbreak?
__________________
daron

Last edited by w0w; 12-30-2013 at 11:36 PM.
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 01:30 AM   #71
b0bab0i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: so cal
Posts: 795
My Ride: x
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0w View Post
im still on ios5 on my 4s believe it or not and i want to upgrade to the ios7 untethered version. do i need to update on itunes first then run the evasion software or can i just jump straight to jailbreak?

Update to iso7 on iTunes, then run evasion.
__________________
b0bab0i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 01:32 AM   #72
KwhyLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 1,209
My Ride: 2.5
Backup, Restore on iTunes, Select the 7.0.4 update, close iTunes, Open Evasi0n, Jailbreak.
__________________
KwhyLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:54 AM   #73
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,006
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
thanks guys! everything went smoothly, just need to find out a tethering app and ill be content for now
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 10:58 AM   #74
KwhyLE
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 1,209
My Ride: 2.5
iOS 7 Jailbreak released.

Mobile Substrate is not updated and called "Cydia Substrate." There should be less problems now with tweaks. Devs are still trying to update all the apps and tweaks and then we should be good.

For tethering, there's tetherme or PDAnet. Everyone has their positives and negatives for both.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
KwhyLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:44 AM   #75
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 537
My Ride: 2002 330i
took out hiddensettings7 since it does not save the settings when you respring.

i use noslowanimations now to speed up the animations. works fine so far, no settings to configure.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:19 PM   #76
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,006
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
PDAnet doesn't work (which is what i was using before), ill try tetherme now and report back!
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:57 PM   #77
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 537
My Ride: 2002 330i
i use "tether". always worked, regardless if it's jailbroken or not. just have to connect your phone via USB to the computer.

if you need wireless hotspot, get mywi. well worth it.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:01 PM   #78
aldeghij
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 248
My Ride: 2003 330i
iOS 7 Jailbreak released.

Jailbroke my iPhone 5 Xmas eve and all was working fine. Did today's update now google plus, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram are all crashing. Wtf? Reinstalled mobile substrate as well. Dammit.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________

Last edited by aldeghij; 12-31-2013 at 04:02 PM.
aldeghij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:06 PM   #79
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 537
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldeghij View Post
Jailbroke my iPhone 5 Xmas eve and all was working fine. Did today's update now google plus, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram are all crashing. Wtf? Reinstalled mobile substrate as well. Dammit.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
that happened to me, i dont know what the culprit was, but i restored my phone and re-jb'd it. works fine now without any reboots so far.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:20 PM   #80
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,006
My Ride: '02 M3 Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry330i View Post
i use "tether". always worked, regardless if it's jailbroken or not. just have to connect your phone via USB to the computer.

if you need wireless hotspot, get mywi. well worth it.
i heard people with att have had issues with mywi. im contemplating purchasing tetherme now or waiting for pdanet support
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use