E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2002, 03:35 PM   #1
Concept
14.9@93 mph 1/4...Not bad!
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Your moms house!
Posts: 850
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to Concept Send a message via MSN to Concept Send a message via Yahoo to Concept
Quick question for people in TX

I will be moving to Texas (Fort Hood to be exact) in about 6 months and I wanted to know if Texas requires a front license plate or not. Thanks for you help!
__________________
Concept is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-07-2002, 04:11 PM   #2
biggiestuff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Houston
Posts: 368
My Ride: E46 POS
Send a message via AIM to biggiestuff
yes they require front license plates.

Last edited by biggiestuff; 06-07-2002 at 04:13 PM.
biggiestuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 04:11 PM   #3
Luncheater
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Frisco Texas
Posts: 22
My Ride: nothing right now
i dont think you need one.
Luncheater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 04:17 PM   #4
Cyclone
I'm Mini Clem
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 401
My Ride: 2005.5 Audi A4 2.0T
Send a message via ICQ to Cyclone Send a message via AIM to Cyclone Send a message via MSN to Cyclone Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclone
Its required, by law. I don't think anyone would hassle ya though. I moved here from North Carolina (they don't require them) and my car didn't have the plates for about 8 months (til I sold it). So, leave it off at your own risk, but beware it IS the law!
Cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 04:21 PM   #5
All About G's
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: G-Town
Posts: 2
My Ride: Titanium 330i
Yes the front plate is required so that the police have a nice flat metallic surface to aim the radar gun at. The only time you will get hassled is when you get pulled over.
All About G's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 04:27 PM   #6
bluer1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: dallas
Posts: 263
My Ride: big black 330i
yes, by law - as usual, it's all up to the cop though. you can end up with a "fixit ticket", depending on who & where it gets written.
cody
bluer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 04:42 PM   #7
Concept
14.9@93 mph 1/4...Not bad!
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Your moms house!
Posts: 850
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to Concept Send a message via MSN to Concept Send a message via Yahoo to Concept
So I won't waste my time getting the front bumper strip then,


Thanks for the quick resposes.
__________________
Concept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 06:39 PM   #8
mcabr
Just Marinatin'
 
mcabr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Aichi
Posts: 2,632
My Ride: Chikatetsu
I am from texas

so dont' think that I am just blowing smoke but, as long as you have a front license plate it does not have to be attached. If you got pulled over you could just put it in your windshield or something. I know that sounds stupid but it is just a matter of having two plates.
__________________
mcabr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 08:54 PM   #9
bender
hammer talks like this
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,293
My Ride: 2006 Honda insight
Send a message via AIM to bender
i dont have mine on, never had any problems...My brother is stationed at fort hood and he had to put his on is wind shield.
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use