Oil Temp/Pressure from obd? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2015, 01:34 PM   #1
dinanxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ...
Posts: 12
My Ride: 325xi
Oil Temp/Pressure from obd?

Anyone know of a way to be able to get the oil temp and pressure to show up on an app like torque from the obd bluetooth connector? I looked on the forum and it seems the answer is a no but wanted to double check and see if anyone had any other ideas about this? any help would be greatly appreciated.
dinanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 01:40 PM   #2
jfoj
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 24,650
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5, E93
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinanxi View Post
Anyone know of a way to be able to get the oil temp and pressure to show up on an app like torque from the obd bluetooth connector? I looked on the forum and it seems the answer is a no but wanted to double check and see if anyone had any other ideas about this? any help would be greatly appreciated.
You MIGHT? be able to get Oil Temp by setting up a Custom PID on Torque, I had considered doing that at some point, but have not invested the time and effort. The problem is figuring out which PID is the oil temp as I do not believe it is a standard PID. I have one software tool that has a PID finder and was going to consider trying to find the oil temp PID, but this may take hours? I do know I have some more advanced OBDII tools that do in fact pick up the oil temp on the E46 as the E46 does have an oil temp sensor mounted on the OFH along with the oil pressure switch.

As for the oil pressure, I do not think there is a pressure transducer, but a switch. So the switch is either on or off, it does not provide a pressure value as I am aware. So I do not think this is a data point you can get via OBDII on this car??
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 01:42 PM   #3
fn42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Worcester MA
Posts: 309
My Ride: 2001 330 xi
you could try querying the PIDs manually http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OBD-II_PIDs

but I do not think the sensors are physically there in non-m3s. Not sure about oil pressure but it might just be an on/off value, not actual pressure
__________________
2001 330xi 5mt, 220k
2008 335xi 6mt, 140k
2001 Audi S8 6speed swap, 170k
fn42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2015, 03:08 PM   #4
dinanxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ...
Posts: 12
My Ride: 325xi
Thanks, I will give it a try. I looked online and this may be it but not 100% sure:

OBD2 Mode and PID: 0195
Minimum Value: -50
Maximum Value: 200
Scale factor: x1
Unit type: C
Equation: AC-40
OBD Header: 7E0
dinanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:24 PM   #5
Tbone8ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: weha CT
Posts: 1,052
My Ride: 2003 330i
was curious also as my torque app doesn't show oil temp. keep searching for a solution
__________________

Black 2003 BMW 330i 5-spd Sport Package HSD
Tbone8ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 05:31 PM   #6
jfoj
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 24,650
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5, E93
The problem with things like trans, oil and radiator outlet temp is that these are non standard PID's.

I know that Torque has started to implement trans temp for some models, but not all.

If I have some time, probably in mid April I may be able to look at trying to figure out a few of the non standard PID's.

I may check on my X5 and see what I can find, they may be slightly different for the E46 so I would need to verify on the E46 which is not always readily available on a moments notice.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 02:16 PM   #7
dinanxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: ...
Posts: 12
My Ride: 325xi
Any luck getting the PID for the oil temp?
dinanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 02:59 PM   #8
margaldi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 92
My Ride: BMW E46 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinanxi View Post
Any luck getting the PID for the oil temp?
I am curious too...

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
margaldi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 12:11 PM   #9
da Vinci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 220
My Ride: 2003 BMW 330i ZHP
Did anyone persevere and find the oil temperature PID?
__________________

Click here for my Build Thread
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." Albert Einstein

da Vinci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 12:15 PM   #10
fn42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Worcester MA
Posts: 309
My Ride: 2001 330 xi
$01 0x5c
__________________
2001 330xi 5mt, 220k
2008 335xi 6mt, 140k
2001 Audi S8 6speed swap, 170k
fn42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 12:48 PM   #11
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,829
My Ride: 330iC
Quote:
Originally Posted by fn42 View Post
$01 0x5c
Will try that
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 01:28 PM   #12
da Vinci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 220
My Ride: 2003 BMW 330i ZHP
daniel_f. Are you going to try it with "Torque" the OBDII reader app? Please share your results and if you get it to work please share that as well.

Even with the PID code, there are so many questions when entering a custom PID, I do not feel confident.
__________________

Click here for my Build Thread
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." Albert Einstein

da Vinci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 03:21 PM   #13
jfoj
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 24,650
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5, E93
You should be able to get Transmission Temperature on an Automatic and Oil Temperature, but not oil pressure. You may be able to get oil pressure to work like the oil light, either on or off, but not a pressure reading because I recall the oil pressure sender is a simple pressure "switch" not a pressure transducer.

With any Custom PID you will need some formula(s) so the displayed value with mean something once you figure out what PID you are reading.

Some trial and error along with disconnecting the sensor to make sure you have the correct PID should work. I just have not had time, the car on hand and the weather to all cooperate at once to get to the bottom of this. It is not a main priority, but I am sure it would only take about 30 minutes if someone really put their mind to it.

I would be interested if someone get this figured out as well. Other custom PID's could be set up as well, but most would not be as useful as Trans and Engine Oil Temperature.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:29 AM   #14
edmondhk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 74
My Ride: E46 325ci
Sorry to pull up this thread.
But I am searching for the same thing.
I can read the oil temp from test-o software, so sensor won't be a problem, but can we do this without a computer?
edmondhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 09:59 AM   #15
markusmarkus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,839
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by edmondhk View Post
Sorry to pull up this thread.
But I am searching for the same thing.
I can read the oil temp from test-o software, so sensor won't be a problem, but can we do this without a computer?

No. The oil temperature sensor, which is screwed into the oil filter housing reports to the ECU. There's no way to access the data stream from this sensor without software.
markusmarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:20 PM   #16
margaldi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 92
My Ride: BMW E46 M3 SMG
Just a question. If sensor read by ecu why not an app like torque obdii which connects to ecu can't read this sensor. Just need to find out the code

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
margaldi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:31 PM   #17
jfoj
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 24,650
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5, E93
Quote:
Originally Posted by margaldi View Post
Just a question. If sensor read by ecu why not an app like torque obdii which connects to ecu can't read this sensor. Just need to find out the code
In theory this is the way it works, in practice it can be far more complicated.

Oil temps show up on my Professional tools under the EGS module. Not 100% this is where the info is reported to, but this is where the values show up.

Engine oil, radiator outlet and transmission temperatures are the ones most folks would be interested in.

Part if the problem is these PID's are not standardized across vehicle manufacturers and models, so this can be a tricky thing for tools/developers to deal with.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:39 PM   #18
edmondhk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 74
My Ride: E46 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by markusmarkus View Post
No. The oil temperature sensor, which is screwed into the oil filter housing reports to the ECU. There's no way to access the data stream from this sensor without software.
So the only way is place an onboard computer and run the testo on it?
edmondhk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 12:52 PM   #19
margaldi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Posts: 92
My Ride: BMW E46 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfoj View Post
In theory this is the way it works, in practice it can be far more complicated.

Oil temps show up on my Professional tools under the EGS module. Not 100% this is where the info is reported to, but this is where the values show up.

Engine oil, radiator outlet and transmission temperatures are the ones most folks would be interested in.

Part if the problem is these PID's are not standardized across vehicle manufacturers and models, so this can be a tricky thing for tools/developers to deal with.
So in theory if someone finds the code to access the data of this sensor can program TORQUE app to read. Right? It's a matter of any skilled member is keen to share his findings. Error is no risk

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
margaldi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 01:53 PM   #20
socrates42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: DC
Posts: 30
My Ride: e90 M3
Looking for oil pressure

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk
socrates42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
obd, oil, pressure, temp, torque

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.