Probably bricked - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2017, 07:16 PM   #1
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Probably bricked

Was using jmgarageflasher to read my dme and it kept freezing at random percentages, and giving "wrong echo bytes" when trying to connect, eventually got it to connect, then was getting "wrong echo answer" as i said at random percentages, between tries id wait a few minutes to see if the processes would complete, never moved, eventually i gave up and plugged everything back in, now my car cranks but doesn't start
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170925_184746.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	683929   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170925_184744.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	166.0 KB
ID:	683937   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170925_173253.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	105.6 KB
ID:	683945  

Last edited by Amerced; 09-25-2017 at 07:38 PM.
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:10 PM   #2
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
I'm assuming you were using jmgarage flasher on a bench?
When I tried using it to read the 512kb from my DME on a bench, I would always get wrong echo bytes after successfully connecting. I downloaded the older version and it worked perfectly fine.

I suggest using galletto to see if you can still read the ecu data or the 64kb bin. Also, if you have inpa, connect to the DME and see if it'll connect successfully.
__________________
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:14 PM   #3
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Using it in car, can't get galletto to work with my cable and I'll be checking with inpa tomorrow, if it does connect could i just go about maybe using a different computer with xp, I'm running Windows 10, and still just flash the bin for the 3.0 since the whole reason I'm doing this is i did the 3.0 swap
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-25-2017, 09:15 PM   #4
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
Using it in car, can't get galletto to work with my cable and I'll be checking with inpa tomorrow, if it does connect could i just go about maybe using a different computer with xp, I'm running Windows 10, and still just flash the bin for the 3.0 since the whole reason I'm doing this is i did the 3.0 swap
By "can't get galletto to work with my cable" have you set it up properly? Meaning changing the serial number in galletto.
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:30 PM   #5
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Mprog won't read and parse, throws an error
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:30 PM   #6
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
Mprog won't read and parse, throws an error
Have you tried redownloading it?

Last edited by armenh7; 09-25-2017 at 09:30 PM.
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:39 PM   #7
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Ya i redownloaded all of the programs today and then these pictures were as far as i was able to get
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:42 PM   #8
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
Ya i redownloaded all of the programs today and then these pictures were as far as i was able to get
What error does it specifically throw?
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:47 PM   #9
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Error read eeprom failed device but it pulls it up when i scanfor it as a programmed device
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:48 PM   #10
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
Error read eeprom failed device but it pulls it up when i scanfor it as a programmed device
May I please see a picture? And what drivers do you have installed for your cable?
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:49 PM   #11
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Failed device 0
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:49 PM   #12
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
Ya let me get that
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:59 PM   #13
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
This is what i got
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170925_215244.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	136.2 KB
ID:	683953   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170919_133843_HDR.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	123.0 KB
ID:	683961  
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:04 PM   #14
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
This is what i got
Okay so uninstall the driver you currently have and install this driver.
https://mega.nz/#!XpVyURrT!R0iptDfwa...nMXd3uESwQzn2Q. Just unzip the file and open "CDM20828_Setup.exe".
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:43 PM   #15
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
still the same unfortunately
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:45 PM   #16
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
still the same unfortunately
Hmm if it gives an eeprom error, that would suggest something is wrong with your cable. Are you able to use inpa to access the DME and other modules?
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:49 PM   #17
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
just dme
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:50 PM   #18
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
just dme
Just to clarify, you are able to connect to your DME with inpa?
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:51 PM   #19
Amerced
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: allentown
Posts: 38
My Ride: 2002 325i
yes I was prior to this issue, haven't checked after the no start
Amerced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:52 PM   #20
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 2,242
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amerced View Post
yes I was prior to this issue, haven't checked after the no start
Okay then your cable is fine. Maybe try using a different port on your computer when using Mprog. Also try running mprog in compatibility mode.
armenh7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dme brick ms43

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.