E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2004, 07:21 PM   #1
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Box Design Plans

Does anyone here know how to design box plans?

Will to Pay!

Need a box tuned to 33hz.
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-16-2004, 08:14 PM   #2
0hMyGod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 1,489
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to 0hMyGod
What size sub? Ported? Sealed? Let me know.
0hMyGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:22 PM   #3
kwang125
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 454
My Ride: 323i
email Jmac at Caraudio.com

Jmac279@Hotmail.com
kwang125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:45 PM   #4
journalism1020
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 69
My Ride: 2004 325i
Do a Google search for sub box design and you'll find several sites where you simply plug in the specs of your woofer (vas, qts- small thiel parameters) and you'll get what you're looking for.
journalism1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:53 PM   #5
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwang125
email Jmac at Caraudio.com

Jmac279@Hotmail.com
I e-mail Jmac Twice already, no repsonse.



Junior:

15" Re Audio XXX"

Ported, Tuned to 32hz

Ok Heres the Hard Part.... The Shape of the box.

Box is going to Be in a Shape of "T"


Height 15.5inches
Width 30 at base, 33 top. Look at the Pic, the 33 is going to fit over the the 2 lower humps in the trunk.

Depth,Trying to follow the slant in the trunk. 13 at top, 21 at bottom.


ignore dimensions in the pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	final.JPG
Views:	325
Size:	15.4 KB
ID:	92417  
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:54 PM   #6
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by journalism1020
Do a Google search for sub box design and you'll find several sites where you simply plug in the specs of your woofer (vas, qts- small thiel parameters) and you'll get what you're looking for.

I could... but my box has many sides
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 08:58 PM   #7
0hMyGod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 1,489
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to 0hMyGod
Can you give me the full spec of the sub?
and How fast do you need?
0hMyGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 09:06 PM   #8
kwang125
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 454
My Ride: 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLAZAMAN
I e-mail Jmac Twice already, no repsonse.



Junior:

15" Re Audio XXX"

Ported, Tuned to 32hz

Ok Heres the Hard Part.... The Shape of the box.

Box is going to Be in a Shape of "T"


Height 15.5inches
Width 30 at base, 33 top. Look at the Pic, the 33 is going to fit over the the 2 lower humps in the trunk.

Depth,Trying to follow the slant in the trunk. 13 at top, 21 at bottom.


ignore dimensions in the pic.


FINALLY!!!!!!, an e46 with RE !!!!

even if juniorstudio can give you the box design, if i were you, i would totally ignore the bottom 30" x 2.5" x 20" area, then, the box would be a normal rectangular box. then, make elevated trunk floor. don't know if this make sense to you. but good luck !!!
kwang125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 09:09 PM   #9
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
i was planning on having the box made tomorrow, using some other box plans i had. But these plans, was just a regular box.

i dont want to rush you.. so u tell me...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xxx_ts.gif
Views:	334
Size:	4.0 KB
ID:	92418  
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 09:13 PM   #10
0hMyGod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 1,489
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to 0hMyGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLAZAMAN
i was planning on having the box made tomorrow, using some other box plans i had. But these plans, was just a regular box.

i dont want to rush you.. so u tell me...
I agree with kwang125. I would make a regular box.
BTW, I will let you know by tomorrow night or sat.
If it's ok with you.
Let me know.
0hMyGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 09:15 PM   #11
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwang125
FINALLY!!!!!!, an e46 with RE !!!!

even if juniorstudio can give you the box design, if i were you, i would totally ignore the bottom 30" x 2.5" x 20" area, then, the box would be a normal rectangular box. then, make elevated trunk floor. don't know if this make sense to you. but good luck !!!

yep! re 15 xxx. What subs do u have?

what do u mean ignore those? If i have it like that, i get an extra .86 cubes.
And why elevate the floor?
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 09:21 PM   #12
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by juniorstudio
I agree with kwang125. I would make a regular box.
BTW, I will let you know by tomorrow night or sat.
If it's ok with you.
Let me know.

i would be losing if i made regular box. i wont have much space after port and displacement. Thats why im trying to cover bit of space possible without taking up too much of the trunk. plus...re subs like large Enclosure.

Tomorrow sounds cool!
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 12:00 PM   #13
Canuck328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Happyland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,173
My Ride: 09 Altima Cpe
PLAZAMAN, if you want to see how mine turned out go to the other part of my website: http://www3.sympatico.ca/bmw328ia/mod_sub.htm. It is significantly smaller than what you are planning, but shows how the top edge was cut to get the box to go flush against the seat.


Mark
Canuck328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 12:20 PM   #14
kwang125
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 454
My Ride: 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLAZAMAN
yep! re 15 xxx. What subs do u have?

what do u mean ignore those? If i have it like that, i get an extra .86 cubes.
And why elevate the floor?

i am waiting for my Adire Brahma.
i suggested elevate floor so there won't be a void space under the box if you make a regular box. but since you want maximum volume for your box, then, ignore what i said...
kwang125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 01:45 PM   #15
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwang125
i am waiting for my Adire Brahma.
i suggested elevate floor so there won't be a void space under the box if you make a regular box. but since you want maximum volume for your box, then, ignore what i said...
Adire Brahma

Better SQ than the XXX

XXX is louder

Pretty Much the same drivers.

what are you using to power it?
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 01:47 PM   #16
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
junior, can we drop the depth by 2 inches?
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 03:15 PM   #17
0hMyGod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 1,489
My Ride: is faster than yours
Send a message via AIM to 0hMyGod
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLAZAMAN
junior, can we drop the depth by 2 inches?
Yeah, I guess.
The port will go through skipass? or somewhere else?
If you have IM, hit me up.
ID= jrbandg
0hMyGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 04:13 PM   #18
kwang125
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 454
My Ride: 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLAZAMAN
Adire Brahma

Better SQ than the XXX

XXX is louder

Pretty Much the same drivers.

what are you using to power it?


i wanted XXX at first, but no online seller.
i haven't really decided on sub amp yet..
anyhow, take a lot of pix during and after building your box. i wanna see !!
kwang125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 09:03 PM   #19
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by juniorstudio
Yeah, I guess.
The port will go through skipass? or somewhere else?
If you have IM, hit me up.
ID= jrbandg
i dont have fold down seats or arm rest.

i dont have any speakers on the rear deck. is it possible to have it on top ? maybe to the left.
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 09:04 PM   #20
PLAZAMAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,621
My Ride: FourPointEightEyeS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck328i
PLAZAMAN, if you want to see how mine turned out go to the other part of my website: http://www3.sympatico.ca/bmw328ia/mod_sub.htm. It is significantly smaller than what you are planning, but shows how the top edge was cut to get the box to go flush against the seat.


Mark
yep.. im trying to get that angle you have on your box?

what the the dimensions of your box?
__________________
PLAZAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use