E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2004, 01:29 AM   #1
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
1 big amp? or 2 smaller amps to run subwoofers

so im gonna run either 2 12w7s or 12w6v2s. w7s take up to 750 watts each while the w6s take up to 550 each. i have a 1000/2 watt amp. should i buy another one or should i just sell it and buy a 2000 watt amp?

how many channels should i get the amp with? thanks
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-08-2004, 01:17 PM   #2
DamUTRIPPIN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 788
My Ride: E60 530i
Send a message via AIM to DamUTRIPPIN
do you mean jl 1000/1?
DamUTRIPPIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 03:41 PM   #3
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
nope

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamUTRIPPIN
do you mean jl 1000/1?
i have a crystal pyramid 1000/2 amplifier. should i just buy another 1000 watt amp?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 03:57 PM   #4
cp400m
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 160
My Ride: 04 SG 330i zhp
your crystal pyramid probabley isnt putting out 1000 watts. I would go with one amp that is stonger. If you have to individual amps you have to make sure that the are tunned the same so you dont have an imbalence inyour subs. Those are nice subs. Two w7s would be extremly loud. i have one and it is very loud. I would get a nicer amp. Crytal pyramids arent that great.
__________________
Need to make a sig
cp400m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 05:05 PM   #5
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
but is there difference if it is one amp or two amps? the same results?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 05:23 PM   #6
cp400m
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 160
My Ride: 04 SG 330i zhp
Quote:
Originally Posted by egyptnads
but is there difference if it is one amp or two amps? the same results?
its hard to get the base equal between the subs if you run off of two amps. So i would say one good amp is better.
__________________
Need to make a sig
cp400m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 05:48 PM   #7
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
i know each sub takes around 750 watts. sould i get like an 1800 watt amp?

any good reccomendations on which of brand of amp i should go with?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 06:55 PM   #8
DamUTRIPPIN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 788
My Ride: E60 530i
Send a message via AIM to DamUTRIPPIN
well, the 12w7 has a single 3 ohm voice coil... there aren't many amps that i know of that are "compatible" with the w7's... the only amps (off the top of my head) would be a jl slash, or a pg xenon--both auto-match impedance.

also, the 12w7 isn't very efficient... they're gonna need a minimum of 750 watts (a piece) to sound good--most people use a 1000/1 to power a single 12w7 (or 13w7).

so if you really want to go with a pair of 12w7's... i'd recommend you get a pair of jl 1000/1's as well--nobody said this hobby was cheap.
DamUTRIPPIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 12:09 AM   #9
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
You should get one amp. If you split the signal to go to two amps, you'll cut the input voltage in half. Therefore, you'll have to turn the gains up which increases the system noise and the heat the amps must dissipate. Generally, amps run more efficiently when the gains are lower. The noise is not a huge deal with subwoofers but the heat factor is.

If you are looking to run two JL 12W7s to at max power, get a US Amps DE-1000. Its rated at 1000 watts at 2 ohms and will run at 1500 watts at 1.5 ohms. 1.5 ohms is the minimum load.

BTW, the DE-1000 is cheaper than the 1000/1.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 12:19 PM   #10
dmoeller17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 399
My Ride: 350Z
Send a message via AIM to dmoeller17
[QUOTE=cp400m]your crystal pyramid probabley isnt putting out 1000 watts. QUOTE]


neither are the JL 1000/1's on stock electrical system
__________________
from chaos comes clarity

dmoeller17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 01:26 PM   #11
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
How do you know that a JL 1000/1 doesn't put out 1000 watts on the stock eletrical system?

I doubt that anybody's amp consistently runs at the RMS rating since most don't listen to their system at full blast.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #12
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
ok so one amp would be more effiecent power wise. i guess i will have to get one bigger amp.

im actually looking for a small amp to fit in a certain spot in my trunk. anyone know of smaller amps that the jl 1000/1?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #13
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
oh and i dont want to run the sub at max power. what i want is to run it at optimum or a little over. so between 750-850.
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 05:10 PM   #14
///NYCM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 179
My Ride: 2001 TiAg M3
Send a message via AIM to ///NYCM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by egyptnads
oh and i dont want to run the sub at max power. what i want is to run it at optimum or a little over. so between 750-850.
I hope you have an upgraded alternator because your electrical system will be fried palying two monster amps at 800 watts.
__________________
///NYCM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 05:28 PM   #15
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
nah im gonna run one amp. that should save some energy than runnin two amps. besides, i dont have enough room for two amps. would i need a capacitator if im running about 1500 off my amp from like my battery?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:22 PM   #16
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Here, I'll give you a sales pitch. The US Amps DE-1000 puts out 1000x1 RMS at 2 ohms. It is 1.5 ohm stable and will put out 1500 watts. It is 2.5" x 9" x 11.75", has a subsonic and low pass 24db crossover, and a remote gain control. It requires a 100 amp fuse. MSRP is $669

I'm not saying this amp is THE BEST, but I think you'll have to search long and hard to find another high quality amp that fits your application as well as this one...smaller, cheaper, more efficient, draws less power, 1.5 ohm stable, higher power output that meets your 750 watts per driver criteria.

US Amps make really kick *ss amps as well...better than JL at least. What more could you want?

If you do get this...get a 1 farad cap.

US Amps DE-1000

Click on product info, amplifiers, digital amps, DE-1000

Last edited by bigjae1976; 10-09-2004 at 06:25 PM.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:24 PM   #17
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
and it will be enough to run two 12w7s? im not lookin to bump them in competition wise. just at optimum or near optimum power. would i need to run the subs at 1.5 ohms?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:26 PM   #18
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
i think that amp is what i need. just cant find it anywhere for a good price. i dont want to spend 600 on an amp
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:32 PM   #19
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///NYCM3
I hope you have an upgraded alternator because your electrical system will be fried palying two monster amps at 800 watts.
I have almost 2k watts off the stock electrical with a 1 farad cap. The system voltage doesn't drop below 13.1 at full volume with the car running. I am pushing the limits of the electrical system when the system is at full volume but that's with two amps rated at 1600x1 watts at 1 ohm and 140x2 at 4 ohms.

I'm not sure where you are getting that info from.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 06:34 PM   #20
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
would i need a cap running my system?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use