E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2004, 05:51 PM   #21
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,468
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by egyptnads
would i need a cap running my system?
JL amps don't because they have tightly regulated power supplies. The US Amps would benefit from a cap because the power supplies are loosely regulated.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 07:01 PM   #22
egyptnads
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Southern Cali.
Posts: 1,302
My Ride: 2000 silver 323i
Send a message via AIM to egyptnads
well i think ill be installing everything myself. doesnt look too hard. would be easier with one amp. how big would the fuse need to be?
egyptnads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 10:44 PM   #23
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,468
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
I saw your other thread and see you want to put 2 12W7's in the spare tire well. First, I'd get a new box built. The W7s, from what I've heard, are sensitive to enclosure size. The wrong enclosure will seriously degrade the sub's longevity.

Usually, subs with large motor structures tend to be more sensitive in this respect.

I'd build a more conventional sub enclosure. The amp is pretty small so you can save some space and maybe integrate an amp rack into the enclosure.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use