E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 92 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-30-2005, 08:36 AM   #21
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmanlfe
Yes. There is one without cutting oem amp wiring.
1. Wire splices or
2. use a copper 1 strand wire to insert in the holes of the pins and then glue gun it to secure it.

This is my setup... Flawlessly works.
Can you tell me where you got that wire? I've managed to fabricate my own by soldering resistor pins (with the resistor snipped off, obviously) to some multi stranded wire. I've looked around, but couldn't find a single strand wire that was thick enough. Thanks.
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 09:03 AM   #22
Canuck328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Happyland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,173
My Ride: 09 Altima Cpe
Belden carries small rolls of solid "buss wire" of all gauges, maybe 22 or 24 gauge would work. Plus the pins would need to be larger for the speaker wire side of the connector, right?

Mark
Canuck328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 12:11 AM   #23
darkmanlfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: mars
Posts: 1,599
My Ride: rocket propelled 323
Send a message via AIM to darkmanlfe
I got it off Radio Shack
__________________
Albert Einstein once said - Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.
darkmanlfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 10:59 AM   #24
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmanlfe
I got it off Radio Shack
What guage?
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 01:21 PM   #25
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
bump
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 01:47 PM   #26
rcurley55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,620
My Ride: 2001 IR M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkmanlfe
Yes. There is one without cutting oem amp wiring.
1. Wire splices or
2. use a copper 1 strand wire to insert in the holes of the pins and then glue gun it to secure it.

This is my setup... Flawlessly works.
Or a third way - build your own male harness - it's very very easy, I can post info a bit later....
__________________
Life's too short not to be M-Powered

rcurley55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 04:59 PM   #27
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcurley55
Or a third way - build your own male harness - it's very very easy, I can post info a bit later....
Please do.
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 05:05 PM   #28
rcurley55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,620
My Ride: 2001 IR M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth_Horwitz
Please do.
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...3&postcount=14

there you go
__________________
Life's too short not to be M-Powered

rcurley55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 04:18 PM   #29
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcurley55
Would you know which pins you used? The ones that I have are a little too flexible for what I need them to do. They work, but I'm not sure how they'll hold up long term.
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 08:14 PM   #30
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Bump for HDClown
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 11:02 AM   #31
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Mods? Sticky? You could at least return a PM.
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 07:46 AM   #32
Hans_ACS
AC Schnitzer Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Belgium
Posts: 313
My Ride: E53 X5 3.0d
Send a message via MSN to Hans_ACS
One question, since it is not clear from the pictures : where do you connect the VEN4 to ? to the outputs of the Headunit ?

Because I expect the signal path to be as follows :

OEM Headunit speakeroutputs -> ven4 -> aftermarket amp -> speakers (connected via the speakerwires coming out of the old oem amp)
__________________
Freude am Fahren...
Hans_ACS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 09:44 AM   #33
rcurley55
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,620
My Ride: 2001 IR M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans_ACS
One question, since it is not clear from the pictures : where do you connect the VEN4 to ? to the outputs of the Headunit ?

Because I expect the signal path to be as follows :

OEM Headunit speakeroutputs -> ven4 -> aftermarket amp -> speakers (connected via the speakerwires coming out of the old oem amp)
Thats how I did mine....
__________________
Life's too short not to be M-Powered

rcurley55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 08:30 AM   #34
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Sticky?
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 04:20 PM   #35
Dave
Moderator
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,176
My Ride: 323,330,M3,M3,M3
stuck. Excellent writeup, thanks. I may try to copy this in a month or so.
__________________
Perhaps you think multi-million dollar ad campaigns make a beer taste better. Perhaps you're mouthing your words as you read this.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 02:19 PM   #36
Canuck328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Happyland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,173
My Ride: 09 Altima Cpe
Thanks Dave...

Mark
Canuck328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2005, 08:46 PM   #37
Dave
Moderator
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,176
My Ride: 323,330,M3,M3,M3
Can anyone give a newbie to ICE a rundown on how these would differ for a sedan? I have a coupe but we'll be doing my girlfriend's 323i this summer. Seems that her non HK unit has the tweeters up near the side view mirrors, would that affect anything?

Also, what kind of useful mount points for the amp exist for those with a full service spare?

So this whole thing uses 6 speakers instead of the 10 from the factory, and still kicks ass? Pretty cool. No need whatsoever for rear door speakers?
__________________
Perhaps you think multi-million dollar ad campaigns make a beer taste better. Perhaps you're mouthing your words as you read this.
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 04:21 PM   #38
Pedrito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 247
My Ride: 320d M
Ive heard that doing an OEM upgrade its no so good because like HU doesnt have rcas, amplifiers produces a lot of noise although you use a hi/low conversor. Is it true or not. Im thinking on do this but Im not sure.
__________________

sign designed by adamu77777

ACS3 2.0d
Pedrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 08:48 PM   #39
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by alicuencana
Ive heard that doing an OEM upgrade its no so good because like HU doesnt have rcas, amplifiers produces a lot of noise although you use a hi/low conversor. Is it true or not. Im thinking on do this but Im not sure.
You've heard that from someone trying to sell you more equipment. First, Line Output Convertors (LOC) have come a long way. Popular ones like the Peripheral SVEN4 (as listed above) shouldn't have any noise issues if installed properly. Second, the BMW head unit DOES have an RCA output, it's just an atyical balanced signal, which the SVEN4 converts to "standard" RCA's as good as any from any other head unit. Third, try the SVEN4 route, and if that doesn't go right, you're only out $30 for the part. You can then by a new headunit and run RCA cables from the new head unit to the amps. Personally, I'd think it's worth the $30 risk, over definitly buying a new head unit and paying for labor to run RCAs to the trunk. (Plus you'd easily get $15 for the SVEN4 on these boards, so you'd only be out $15)
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 08:56 PM   #40
Seth_Horwitz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 801
My Ride: 330ci, 911 Turbo X50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave
Can anyone give a newbie to ICE a rundown on how these would differ for a sedan? I have a coupe but we'll be doing my girlfriend's 323i this summer. Seems that her non HK unit has the tweeters up near the side view mirrors, would that affect anything?
It really shouldn't make much of a difference in components, just the techniques to take the speakers out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave
Also, what kind of useful mount points for the amp exist for those with a full service spare?
You could do it on the floor of the trunk and make it liftable, mount it on either side, or hang it from the roof of the trunk. (The last one might have some critics.) It's up to you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave
So this whole thing uses 6 speakers instead of the 10 from the factory, and still kicks ass? Pretty cool. No need whatsoever for rear door speakers?
I'm installing the stealthboxes in my rear deck and have only removed the rear speakers. (No subs installed yet) I already think the car sounds better. There are many true audiophiles out there who never put in "rear fill" as they feel it confuses the sound stage. I'm now agreeing as I only have sound coming from the front and I think it sound s great. Can't wait for the subs and replacement speakers!
Seth_Horwitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use