E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > BMW Regional Forums > Regional Forums > Middle East

Middle East

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2005, 04:04 AM   #1
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
Digi-tec

How is the Digi-tec software for the E46 330? Did anyone do it? Is it worth it? I'm currently considering doing it...
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-15-2005, 09:58 AM   #2
ptrlhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: U.A.E.
Posts: 67
My Ride: 2003 330i Sold
I might go for it after my warranty is up. I asked them about pricing, they said it was Dhs 4k (approx. 2hrs of work) for 16 hp. What I like about Digi-tec is that it is TUV certified, and the gain is guaranteed. so I would do it
__________________
<--- SOLD
ptrlhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:47 AM   #3
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
actually "performance motor spares" in dubai does the digi tec upgrade for 3500dhs.

I know that it's a 16hp gain but what else do we get? Increased throttle response? Removed limiter? Increased red line?
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 11:47 AM   #4
ptrlhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: U.A.E.
Posts: 67
My Ride: 2003 330i Sold
Well, it depends on where this 16hp gain is on the powerband, if it is at the low-end part then you would get better acceleration (throttle response) due to more torque at low rpms.

I don't think it increases the red line, not sure about the limiter though.
__________________
<--- SOLD
ptrlhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:16 PM   #5
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
do you think it's worth it? will the car pull harder?

i'd love to hit 6800 RPM one day and go beyond 250km/h..
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:22 PM   #6
Dubai_0wnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 1,009
My Ride: 330ci (03)
lets be logical how many times are you planning to go beyond 250km/h?
__________________
Dubai_0wnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 02:29 PM   #7
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
I don't really want to go beyond 250 everytime but it would be nice if the car can pull harder thru the gears.

16HP is not little, thats a big gain... it will make alot of difference.
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 11:08 PM   #8
Ua3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai, U.A.E
Posts: 7,769
My Ride: Goldy Locks
16hp is little
Ua3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 01:54 AM   #9
thebighash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UAE & Lebanon
Posts: 1,451
My Ride: Z4MC / Sold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ua3
16hp is little
3500Dhs for 16hp i wouldn't do it..
the only performance mod i might do is throw in a 6 speed tranny
this opens the door for a S/C
__________________

2007 Imola Red Z4MC / Sold
thebighash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:03 AM   #10
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
you think 16hp is little? you know how hard it is to produce more horsepower in our cars? its like almost impossible..

changing to manual costs a fortune, I asked about it once... it would cost almost 55,000dhs.

SC is almost 25000dhs, i think it's worth it... thats definetly going to be my next major goal in the next yr or two.
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 07:44 AM   #11
Dubai_0wnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 1,009
My Ride: 330ci (03)
a SC is definately worth it, i dunno if its practical with the middle east's climate, its extremely hot and sandy sometimes.
__________________
Dubai_0wnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 08:30 AM   #12
Evil330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kingdom of Bahrain
Posts: 1,126
My Ride: 03 330i
just get a big intercooler and do what kashif did.... "NOS"
Evil330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 11:10 PM   #13
fazzy98
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dubai
Posts: 24
My Ride: RC
Another option to Digi-tec is powerchip.... check out www.powerchipgroup.com - they do a ECU remap which is supposed to give better gains. You can also download a detailed PDF about the upgrade with charts and stuff. Evolution Auto Couture in Al Quoz do this for about 3K.
fazzy98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 06:31 PM   #14
Ramone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dubai & Boston
Posts: 1,469
My Ride: Black 996 Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubai_0wnz
a SC is definately worth it, i dunno if its practical with the middle east's climate, its extremely hot and sandy sometimes.
I asked about this before. Most of the hot cars in the states are in California, Florida and Las Vegas and all are very hot with Florida being extremely humid (Identical to U.A.E. humidity). With an intercooler the U.A.E. climate isn't a problem for a supercharger. Look at all the AMGed Mercs running around

Sand and dust is a problem but not anymore of a problem than it is to the stock cars
Ramone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 06:35 PM   #15
Ramone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dubai & Boston
Posts: 1,469
My Ride: Black 996 Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil330
you think 16hp is little? you know how hard it is to produce more horsepower in our cars? its like almost impossible..

changing to manual costs a fortune, I asked about it once... it would cost almost 55,000dhs.

SC is almost 25000dhs, i think it's worth it... thats definetly going to be my next major goal in the next yr or two.
Why are you risking your warranty and the reliability of your car for 16hp

Also you said it yourself it is almost impossible to squeeze any extra hp out of our cars, so why waste your money on a chip if your goal is to supercharge in the future anyway. Save your warranty, reliability, and money for the time being and supercharge when the time comes
Ramone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use