E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
blatty86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jacksonville, nc
Posts: 159
My Ride: 2002 325i
i'm stumped

i already have an aftermarket system in the car and i've decided to put a different one in there. the problem is i only get sound when using the radio. i bench tested all the speaker outputs in the house and everything works fine, even tried it in someone elses car but once i put it in my car, same problem- radio is clear as a bell but i get no audio output when using dvd or ipod. is there a factory amp within the car that may be interfering? anyone ever come across this problem?
__________________

blatty86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-20-2009, 09:55 PM   #2
Crazedcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: tristate
Posts: 1,155
My Ride: TiAg 330i
Need more info on your setup. Do you have any amps? what model h/u? any pre-amp equipment?

I'm guessing somewhere you have the remote turn on and power antenna wires not properly connected. If you've mistaken the power antenna wire for the remote turn on wire you'll only have power when the radio is selected. The amps will turn off when you switch to CD, Changer, iPod, or anything else.
__________________
Crazedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:03 PM   #3
jc323ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: knoxville
Posts: 126
My Ride: 2000 323 ci
^^^+1 and yes if you have the h/k system then you will have a factory amp
__________________
- Jordan
Nothing special but i love it!!
jc323ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:07 PM   #4
blatty86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jacksonville, nc
Posts: 159
My Ride: 2002 325i
i have an amp for the subs but i havent even gotten that far because im tryin to figure this out. i have a panasonic cvdq7001 7" flip out. i just did the basic install so far(speaker wires for front back).

ill check those blue wires once more before i give up for the night
__________________

blatty86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:16 PM   #5
scott0482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 673
My Ride: 2001 530i
Send a message via AIM to scott0482
whatever mainman said above.. your amp is hooked up to your power radio antenna wire and not your acc.. so your amp only turns on when you have radio...

they probably bypassed the factory amp.. but i could be totally wrong.. you are connecting normal speaker wires, right? not rca?
__________________
scott0482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 08:46 PM   #6
blatty86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: jacksonville, nc
Posts: 159
My Ride: 2002 325i
it turned out to be the remote wires, i made a boo boo. thanks for the help
__________________

blatty86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use