E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2006, 08:59 AM   #1
Blaze323i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 367
My Ride: white3er
Send a message via AIM to Blaze323i
Car Subs with a Home stereo?

I blew out the subs on my home system. My question is can I replace them with car subs? The home amp runs 100 watts per channel and the subs are 200 watts RMS and 400 watts peak. I know it will be under powered, but some bass is better than no bass. Here are some pics:

Image hosting by Photobucket


Image hosting by Photobucket

Image hosting by Photobucket
__________________
Blaze323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-03-2006, 09:08 AM   #2
Beefweasal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Space Coast
Posts: 66
My Ride: '08 335i Coupe
I wouldnt do it. You will have impedance load issues that could damage your receivers amplifier. Check some websites for direct replacements, they shouldnt be too expensive. Try www.partsexpress.com or www.mcmelectronics.com
Beefweasal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:23 AM   #3
Canuck328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Happyland, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,173
My Ride: 09 Altima Cpe
I agree - you'd run into impedance issues as mentioned (which would be detrimental to your amp and mismatch any internal crossover in the speaker) as well as box sizing issues. It would be a lot easier to simply pick up a set of replacement drivers.

You could do it if you did a bunch of research on drivers and found one with the same impedance as the original driver, the same box dimension requirements and the same or similar sensitivity ratings. All this will be pretty difficult to match, and in the end it probably won't sound that great.

Mark
Canuck328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:46 AM   #4
Blaze323i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 367
My Ride: white3er
Send a message via AIM to Blaze323i
thanks a bunch for your imput guys.....i will search for a replacement
__________________
Blaze323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:57 AM   #5
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,954
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
It would be much better just to buy new speakers. Speakers are the most important part of a system. Slapping some China woofer in your old cabinets is never the answer. Marginal quality electronics on great speakers is much better than great electronics on marginal quality speakers.

Buy some new speakers and you will be amazed at the difference.

If you wanna rock look at Cerwin Vega or DCM as they are great for bang for the buck.

If you want better stuff, look at Polk or Infinity.

JMHO

John
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:34 PM   #6
BreakMyWallet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 9,215
My Ride: B6 A4/ Mini Cooper S
JL audio makes home systems..
__________________
BreakMyWallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:45 PM   #7
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,954
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakMyWallet
JL audio makes home systems..
.
.
JL Audio makes home subwoofers which are extremely expensive. I have sat through a JL demo at both CES and CEDIA conventions and they rock, but so does any other name brand subwoofer system costing $10K - $20K.
.
.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 02:43 PM   #8
323iT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: EastBay
Posts: 1,481
My Ride: AG 323i
Send a message via AIM to 323iT
i dunno much about home audio systems and all the watts you're talking about.
but my friend got his bro's car sub and hooked it up to his home system. works great if you can get it to work
__________________
323iT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 03:36 PM   #9
WishIHadAStick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 48
My Ride: 2003 330xi
I thought you were going to use the box from the car, then I'd laugh. Thats too redneck. Not that I didn't do it in college though.
WishIHadAStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 04:20 PM   #10
stewey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 237
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaze323i
Image hosting by Photobucket

Are you sure it's blown? Those are foam surrounds which eventually wear out and disintegrate. You can get new surrounds for ~$10/pr and install them yourself with a little bit of patience. I've done this on several speakers myself and it's not nearly as hard as it sounds. There are plenty of DIYs on the internet.

Save some cash and re-foam!
stewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 04:26 PM   #11
JLTD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 42
My Ride: Classified
Quote:
Originally Posted by glockman9c
.
.
JL Audio makes home subwoofers which are extremely expensive. I have sat through a JL demo at both CES and CEDIA conventions and they rock, but so does any other name brand subwoofer system costing $10K - $20K.
.
.
The most expensive JL Audio home subwoofer (The Gotham) has a suggested retail price of $7500. http://home.jlaudio.com/
JLTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 04:41 PM   #12
djmatty
Banned
 
djmatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeastern CT, near the cows and corn
Posts: 2,751
My Ride: Black '99 328i Sedan
Send a message via AIM to djmatty
Computer PSU + car amp + car sub == awesome sound system for my computer.
djmatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 05:31 PM   #13
BreakMyWallet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 9,215
My Ride: B6 A4/ Mini Cooper S
you can do that??

how do you hook up a car amp in your house??

i mean i know the battery and ground.. but what about the remote?

i would like to do this with my movie theatre
__________________
BreakMyWallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 10:57 PM   #14
djmatty
Banned
 
djmatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeastern CT, near the cows and corn
Posts: 2,751
My Ride: Black '99 328i Sedan
Send a message via AIM to djmatty
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakMyWallet
you can do that??

how do you hook up a car amp in your house??

i mean i know the battery and ground.. but what about the remote?

i would like to do this with my movie theatre
I have 12VDC going from the power supply to both the power and remote terminals. Just have a switch for the turn on circuit for the ATX power supply:
http://www.duxcw.com/faq/ps/ps1.htm
djmatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 09:57 AM   #15
Blaze323i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 367
My Ride: white3er
Send a message via AIM to Blaze323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stewey
Are you sure it's blown? Those are foam surrounds which eventually wear out and disintegrate. You can get new surrounds for ~$10/pr and install them yourself with a little bit of patience. I've done this on several speakers myself and it's not nearly as hard as it sounds. There are plenty of DIYs on the internet.

Save some cash and re-foam!

I can still hear the bass, but it rattles due to the holes in the foam. I didnt know you could re-foam subs. I will def look into this thanks
__________________
Blaze323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 10:34 AM   #16
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,954
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLTD
The most expensive JL Audio home subwoofer (The Gotham) has a suggested retail price of $7500. http://home.jlaudio.com/
.
.

Yea, whats your point?

Since you probably work for JL and argue with every point I have ever made about JL, then you know that JLs demo room at both CES and CEDIA had a system containing 3-5 subs which equal $10K-$20K as I stated.
.
.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 10:35 AM   #17
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,954
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BreakMyWallet
you can do that??

how do you hook up a car amp in your house??

i mean i know the battery and ground.. but what about the remote?

i would like to do this with my movie theatre
.
.

You dont want to hook up a car amp in your home (unless for a tiny room or computer). The power supply for a large car amp would cost as much as a home amp and it would not sound as good.
.
.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 01:03 PM   #18
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,468
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by glockman9c
.
Since you probably work for JL and argue with every point I have ever made about JL, then you know that JLs demo room at both CES and CEDIA had a system containing 3-5 subs which equal $10K-$20K as I stated.
.
.
My turn to argue...JL s*cks my balls. Waaaaay overpriced and waaaaaay overmarketed. I can get a sub/amp/speaker that is comparable (probably better) to JL in everyway at about half the price. We're talking MSRP here BTW.

Back to the subject. You can get a new surround kit from parts express.

Yes, car speakers can work in home audio, I just wouldn't put them in an existing enclosure. I'm putting a Resonant Engineering XXX 15 in my living room. The box will probably be about 5 cu ft. Can't wait to blow my windows out!!!
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 02:00 PM   #19
djmatty
Banned
 
djmatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeastern CT, near the cows and corn
Posts: 2,751
My Ride: Black '99 328i Sedan
Send a message via AIM to djmatty
Quote:
Originally Posted by glockman9c
.
.

You dont want to hook up a car amp in your home (unless for a tiny room or computer). The power supply for a large car amp would cost as much as a home amp and it would not sound as good.
.
.
You just need one that draws a low amount of current, and then a computer PSU is fine.
djmatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 03:42 PM   #20
WishIHadAStick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 48
My Ride: 2003 330xi
I got old ones at radioshack
WishIHadAStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use