E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-16-2009, 07:46 AM   #61
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
stuck

I made an aborted start today. Laid everything out and realised I hadn't sourced the connector for the memory function wire at the seat end - i.e. the one to plug into tiny pin 15 on the driver's seat connector block.

What did you use rr?

My only guesses so far are no.1 or no.3:



elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 05:47 AM   #62
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
update re. ^^^ for anyone else watching

Took a punt and had a helpful dealer overnight me a couple of those No.1 bushings 61 13 0 006 663. They come pre-crimped with a short wire attached.

They fit perfectly over the pin on the seat's X275 connector and hopefully will click into the X275 connector block that emerges from the carpet


edit - you only need one. I ordered two as insurance against crimping **** ups

Last edited by elfer; 02-17-2009 at 05:55 AM. Reason: clarity
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 12:11 PM   #63
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
I used one and then spliced into it - works fine. Bought a load - could have sent you some for nowt! Get you pix tomorrow - so lazy on that front. Taking it to dealer to get keys programmed to positions and to double-check airbags.

I can't believe how easy it all was in the end - like basic school wiring.

Really want to get memory mirrors now - not sure if I have them or not tho...
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 12:46 PM   #64
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Thanks for the thought, shame I was so impatient!

Funnily enough I was researching mirrors today also. We won't have them already as our cars didn't come with memory seats, and looks like we'd need a different mirror switch plus a 'mirror memory module' to make them work.

Meanwhile, hoping to get the seats in this week
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 02:04 PM   #65
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
My next mod is OEM Xenons. None of that HID nonsense for me. Spendy but worth it as it updates the car so much and BMW standard headlamps are really weak.

And memory mirrors with auto-fold will also have to happen - just need to collate the info and parts.

Where you at in London?
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 04:26 AM   #66
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Currently north London / Herts border. You?

Looking grey and wet today so probably no seat fitting for me. I want to wait for a sunny, dry day when I can take my time and really enjoy it. Mind you, what are the odds I'll get called in to work on all the sunny days this year?!

I can't even pre-crimp/solder the harness as I don't know how long the wire runs need to be until I get the car apart
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 07:06 AM   #67
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Depends if you wire them as BMW do or just run them from the fusebox down by the gear lever and to each seat.

Doing it the way BMW is longer and is way fussier as you have to mess with the carpet.

Last edited by royalratch; 02-19-2009 at 01:44 PM.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:55 AM   #68
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Intention is to run it the BMW way...

Last edited by elfer; 02-19-2009 at 04:55 AM. Reason: typo
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 01:45 PM   #69
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Well, you are doing it the BMW way by using their looms and terminations. How you route the wires makes no difference, will just save a lot of time to do it as I and Jared suggested.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 03:29 PM   #70
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
That's why it's only my intention! All my best plans always have room for revision...
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:19 PM   #71
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Got the heated switch condole fitted - this is going to make you laugh. All works fine but the passenger switch activates heat for the DRIVER seat! I can only put it down to the fact I got the switch console from the USA and it's in a UK car.

Will slip the pins out and swap them round at the switch console - doh!
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:34 PM   #72
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
The part numbers are the same for LHD and RHD. I know cos I checked yesterday. I wanted to know if the instructions were really correct...

The pdf instructions say 'driver's seat' and 'passenger seat' when really they mean 'left hand seat' and 'right hand seat'....

So if you followed the instructions to the letter in a Right Hand Drive you end up like you have, with the driver's seat wired to the left hand seat controls and vica versa.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 02:15 PM   #73
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Shouldn't be too hard to release the feed pins from the switch and swap around again.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:11 AM   #74
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Just found out the hard way that powered and manual seats have different seat rail mechanisms. That means if you have a saloon/touring and buy powered seats from a Coupe/M3, you can't swap the outer rail to keep your seat belt anchor
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:14 AM   #75
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Yes you can because that's EXACTLY what I did.

Coupe POWERED Sports Seats into my Touring - don't need to touch the rails - only swap the seat belt mounting bracket.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:32 AM   #76
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalratch View Post
Yes you can because that's EXACTLY what I did.

Coupe POWERED Sports Seats into my Touring - don't need to touch the rails - only swap the seat belt mounting bracket.
I know. I didn't say you couldn't keep the bracket, I said you couldn't swap the rail

I liked the idea of swapping rails because you keep the factory strength seatbelt anchor. I've been in a 90MPH (track) shunt and I know the energies involved when hitting something solid...

Looks like I'll have to do the same as you though. Cheers.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:57 AM   #77
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
I wouldn't have thought a Coupe belt placement would be weaker than a Touring's?
Unless you're talking about the difference between riveted and bolted?

The bolt seems a lot thicker than the rivet...

Last edited by royalratch; 02-26-2009 at 10:18 AM.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 11:21 AM   #78
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
The latter, it's the unknown strength of the replacement bolt versus the known strength of the factory rivet.

Car manufactures have to meet strict EU regulation and testing of the seat belt anchors and, given the choice, I'd rather not replace their approved and tested solution with some random bolt.

But the rail swap choice isn't there so I'd best get me drill out No biggie.

Might just read up on the MSA competition harness mounting regs first to see if there's a particularly strong type of nut and bolt they use.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:32 PM   #79
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
The bolt I used is a seatbelt anchor bolt...
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 01:33 PM   #80
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Yeah, I'm looking at doing the same.

Although the bolt is intended to be used in a shearing plane and we'll be using it in the weaker (for want of a word) pulling-straight-out-stripping-the-thread-off plane.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use