E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 05:05 AM   #81
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfer View Post
Yeah, I'm looking at doing the same.

Although the bolt is intended to be used in a shearing plane and we'll be using it in the weaker (for want of a word) pulling-straight-out-stripping-the-thread-off plane.
No - it is used in a shearing plane, it cannot be 'pulled' out of it's hole.

The seat belt is slotted down in between the rail walls and then the bolt slots through all 3 pieces 'binding' them together. Inner rail, through seatbelt anchor then screws into the inside of the outer rail.

It can only move in one direction and that's up, not out.

What one EARTH are you going to be doing in your Touring anyway!?? LOL!
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:31 PM   #82
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalratch View Post
No - it is used in a shearing plane, it cannot be 'pulled' out of it's hole.

The seat belt is slotted down in between the rail walls and then the bolt slots through all 3 pieces 'binding' them together. Inner rail, through seatbelt anchor then screws into the inside of the outer rail.

It can only move in one direction and that's up, not out.
Let me try and explain better. The new bolt would be fitted vertically, in the same direction that the seat belt would be pulling in the event of a crash.

Whereas factory anchor bolts are fitted at 90 degrees to the force that would be exerted, so they would have to shear in two for them to fail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by royalratch View Post
What one EARTH are you going to be doing in your Touring anyway!?? LOL!
Nearly 150MPH. I visit Germany two or three times a year.

Last edited by elfer; 02-27-2009 at 03:05 PM.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 05:36 PM   #83
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfer View Post
Let me try and explain better. The new bolt would be fitted vertically, in the same direction that the seat belt would be pulling in the event of a crash.

Whereas factory anchor bolts are fitted at 90 degrees to the force that would be exerted, so they would have to shear in two for them to fail.
That's exactly how my mine are mounted - read my post bro.

The bolt 'pierces' the rail with the seatbelt anchor in the middle of the 'sandwich'.

Bolt at right angle to anchor.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:54 AM   #84
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
Ah, so you haven't transferred the bracket to the new rail, replacing the rivet that secures it to the top of the rail with a bolt. Instead, you've discarded the bracket and bolted the belt directly to the side of the new rail. That right?

I like that idea Why didn't BMW do it that way?! Any chance you could get me a pic?
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 03:36 AM   #85
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
It wouldn't show much, just a bolt disappearing into a hole. It threads in smoothly and tightens up properly but the bolt used there is about half the length of a normal seat bolt.

Try and get a pic in any case.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 03:48 AM   #86
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
That'd be great
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 02:53 PM   #87
toffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milan, I
Posts: 43
My Ride: 320ci
Send a message via MSN to toffa


Is it correct this diagram that I wrote?
I didn't understand where I have to connect the memory cable (yellow color) on the car side.

What is the code of the pins on the fuse box?

Thanks a lot
__________________
toffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 03:11 PM   #88
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Read the first install posts ALL the info is there.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:39 PM   #89
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
pictures doens't show up.. I need this thread to install my M3 seats....: (
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:31 AM   #90
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
You don't need pics - all the info is in the text!
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 11:33 AM   #91
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Said I'd post up pix - enjoy:

The original seats - E46 Coupe seats in weird Alcantara/Fabric mix.
These are power/memory and 150 off eBay!


Here they are re-trimmed in my Touring in OEM BMW Leather 'Saddle Tan'


Also retrofitted Heated Seats thanks to the OP and BMW's retrofit wiring loom.
Switch console was $45 from eBay.


Here is the new seatbelt mount position (from rear of Drivers seat) when fitting Coupe seats.
The only difference is the way the bracket enters the seat rails, you don't have to change
anything to use Coupe seats in Saloon or Vice Versa - which is awesome! Bracket enters from
above with bolt piercing the rails and seatbelt bracket.


All functions work fine except recently, the memory stopped working. It worked when I first
installed but now the M button won't light up or store positions. I have checked all connections
and am stumped. Will have to look into it deeper soon.

Last edited by royalratch; 04-02-2009 at 11:40 AM.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 12:59 PM   #92
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
That colour scheme looks superb! What an improvement over the dirty Alcantara.

I can see how you attached the belt to the bracket, but still can't see how you attached the bracket to the rail. My M3 seats are in storage but, as far as I remember, there's nothing sticking up from the rail that you could have passed that bolt through.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:35 PM   #93
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Maybe M3 seats are different...?

Or maybe I did swap just the outer rail...?
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 03:49 PM   #94
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
My M3 rails look exactly the same as yours...



Nothing sticking up there to pass that bolt through

Last edited by elfer; 04-02-2009 at 03:52 PM.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:07 AM   #95
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Swap the outer rail from a 4-door seat - must be it.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:16 AM   #96
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
rail doesn't swap between manual and power seats - can't be it
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:08 AM   #97
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
I think that bracket comes off via the reverse Torx screw and then can be re-bolted?
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:18 AM   #98
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
There's no other way but to bolt it. And that's the bolt which will be inline with the pulling force in the event of a crash.
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 01:25 PM   #99
royalratch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London
Posts: 252
My Ride: 03 320d SE Touring
Hmmmm.

I have to check how the trimmers did it. even if it were bolted, I don't think it would go anywhere though before the seat belt click tab anyway.
royalratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 11:41 AM   #100
JayXbmw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: quebec
Posts: 125
My Ride: 2002 330ci
question:

i have heated non-memory seats, and i'm gonna get m3 seats with power/memory, will i have any wire job to do or its plug and play ?
JayXbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use