E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > Home Improvement

Home Improvement
Home Improvement ideas, help, DIYs, and show room. Got a home improvement project you need help with or want to share. Post your project now!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2006, 08:09 AM   #1
GBX330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC
Posts: 919
My Ride: 2011 Cayenne 6sp
Send a message via AIM to GBX330ci
Just hooked up using HDMI.....

So, i finally bought an HDMI cable to replace the component that came with my cable box. I have a SA8300HD. I noticed that thru hdmi i have the option of different displays - 1080i, 720i, 420p and 420i. They can all be active or only one can. When all are active, i notice that regular tv displays in 420i, but when i only have 1080i active, then that's how it will display. How should this be set-up? Should I only have 1080i active?

Also, i can't decide if regular (non-HD) TV looked better with the component cable or with my new HDMI cable. Does regular TV usually look better on a particular cable.


By the way, i have a Panasonic HD Plasma and bought monster HDMI400 Cable. Any help or insight into this would be appreciated. TIA!
GBX330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:17 PM   #2
James330I
Imported Redneck
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 881
My Ride: BMW baby 330i 5spd
Send a message via AIM to James330I
You won't see much difference with regular cable TV over HDMI. The source signal is garbage so you'll still see garbage. Garbage in, garbage out.

Depending on your TV set, you may or may not even get an improvement of your HDTV over HDMI/DVI then with component - but hey, if your TV has HDMI, you might as well use it.

Also, return the monster cable HDMI. $10/20 HDMI/DVI cables perform exactly the same. Digital is digital - you either have 100% of it or 0%..a higher grade sleeve plastic or extra titanium-copper insulated housings really don't do anything under normal operating environments
__________________
------------------------





2001 Dinan 330I 5spd (gone..what an awesome car)
2013 335i 6spd M-sport
2013 Infiniti M37S


Last edited by James330I; 03-14-2006 at 12:20 PM.
James330I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:42 PM   #3
soheilm3
bored.
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 950
My Ride: definitly not an m3
Send a message via AIM to soheilm3
i to have the sa8300hd and still am unsure as to what settings to keep things lol! i do have 720p up for my tv's native res, but for stand channels it utilizes 420p if i remember correctly. with hdmi vs component i noticed the diff on the hd channels, it was very apparent when noticing things like the channel logos and what not.

cheers
--soheil
__________________
Women are:

Taken
Smart
Beautiful

(pick 2 of the three only)
soheilm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 09:49 AM   #4
MFarrZHP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,211
My Ride: Has 6 speeds
Quote:
Originally Posted by James330I
Also, return the monster cable HDMI. $10/20 HDMI/DVI cables perform exactly the same. Digital is digital - you either have 100% of it or 0%..a higher grade sleeve plastic or extra titanium-copper insulated housings really don't do anything under normal operating environments
Thanks, you just answered the question I was going to ask. I just got my TV last night, and I was going to pick up an HDMI cable, mainly b/c it will replace the bulkier component cables.

Where is the best place to go for cheap cables? Radio shack? I dont want to buy online, b/c I'm too impatient to set it up.
__________________
MFarrZHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 10:46 AM   #5
FloridaE46
Registered User
 
FloridaE46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 194
My Ride: *****
Quote:
Originally Posted by MFarrZHP
Where is the best place to go for cheap cables? Radio shack? I dont want to buy online, b/c I'm too impatient to set it up.
Pretty much online only or phone order....

or you can buy something like the samsung hd upconverter dvd player... that comes with an hdmi cable u can use for the cable box then just hook up the player with componet....
__________________
** Removed annoying animated image - Tim330i **
**Thats's Racist**

FloridaE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 11:08 AM   #6
zbeam3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 66
My Ride: VQ35
Quote:
Originally Posted by MFarrZHP
Thanks, you just answered the question I was going to ask. I just got my TV last night, and I was going to pick up an HDMI cable, mainly b/c it will replace the bulkier component cables.

Where is the best place to go for cheap cables? Radio shack? I dont want to buy online, b/c I'm too impatient to set it up.


http://cablewholesale.com/
zbeam3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 07:50 PM   #7
Surkol M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 94
My Ride: 07 tC
Send a message via AIM to Surkol M
+1 for cablewholesale.com A cable I ordered was out of stock so they gave me the higher end version for the same price.
Surkol M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use