E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-06-2008, 04:52 AM   #41
matej84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 14
My Ride: e46
http://www.circlebmw.com/service/access/9410794.htm doesnt work
matej84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 04:55 AM   #42
matej84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 14
My Ride: e46
did anyone have documentation about retrofit kit front fog lights?
I install LCM and now i cant connect cable with relay and fuse. Any picture please?
matej84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:26 PM   #43
frogg320
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 610
My Ride: 2000 323i
It's dangerous to go alone! Take this.

http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qc7hnmrbdlu

(file is the DIY I used to successfully add fogs to my 323i)
frogg320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 05:39 AM   #44
matej84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 14
My Ride: e46
Thanks
matej84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 08:08 PM   #45
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,995
My Ride: 00 323i
hi im currently putting fogs in my car and after i was all done i got the green light in my dashboard but the fogs are not lighting up. I do not hear my relay clicking and im somewhat stuck at the distribution board.




__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:57 PM   #46
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,995
My Ride: 00 323i
everyone in the diy has a ground jumper wire with a connector on each side going from one block to the other. i bought this kit from the dealer and it comes with 2 ground wires (im assuming from each foglight connector) and i dont know what to do with them. I tried putting them on the same row as the ALL BROWN wires but both fog lights will work not at the same time, only when one is on by itself. thanks
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 06:38 PM   #47
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,995
My Ride: 00 323i
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 09:48 AM   #48
frogg320
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 610
My Ride: 2000 323i
Yes, there is one long connector that has lots of other brown wires in it, that should be where your ground goes. I don't know if it matters, but the instructions tell you to put those two branch cables in their own comb connector, then use a jumper to connect that to the larger bank of grounds (remember to use larger gauge wire! 14 GA should be safe. I had to make this part myself). You say that with both brown wires are connected to that comb connector, neither light up, but when you pull one out the other does? That's very strange. Are your sure they are both connected properly? I noticed that the ends of your connectors are a little flared out, maybe you aren't making good contact. Part of the reason it might be good to use a seperate comb is that you can really make sure they're seated on there.

So, what do you mean you're stuck at the distribution board? More details, please!
frogg320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 09:53 AM   #49
frogg320
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 610
My Ride: 2000 323i
I should note that I had to stop in the middle and get the comb connector, the connectors for the jumper wire to plug into it, and the little plastic housing from the dealer. My kit did not come with then either (shipped from Germany via Pelican Parts), this is probably just the way you've got to do it.
frogg320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:20 PM   #50
matej84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 14
My Ride: e46
I install this kit but my fog lights doesnt works
This is my picture. Look my rele if it connect ok?



Fuse:




Mass:
matej84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 04:07 PM   #51
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,995
My Ride: 00 323i
alright thanks for the help ill fix the ends of those just in case. now u say i can use the wires in the ALL BROWN comb, but then where do i connect the other end of the jumper?
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 09:25 PM   #52
w0w
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,995
My Ride: 00 323i
alright here is the rundown of the problem. when both are connected, neither bulbs will turn on. when one is connected the bulb will turn on at full brightness and then after 10 seconds or so dims down. and once the car is started, the bulb will eventually DIM OUT. what i have done is plugged both ground connectors into the ALL BROWN (ground) comb connector at the very end. no ground jumper was used. what do u guys think?
__________________
daron
w0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 05:15 PM   #53
matej84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 14
My Ride: e46
Ground i connect here:


On relai Pin 4 and 6 in my picture are wrong connected!
Correct:
Brown cable pin 4! OK
Red/yellow cable pin6! OK
matej84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 03:55 PM   #54
justvisiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston / La Jolla / Fremont
Posts: 315
My Ride: 323i / my feet..
Hey all,

Anyone who's done this without the 30 dollar harness from BMW - can you check if this diagram is correct? Specifically the pins and their associated wires, and if the input and output locations are correct.



thanks!

Last edited by justvisiting; 09-27-2008 at 09:35 AM.
justvisiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 09:36 AM   #55
justvisiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston / La Jolla / Fremont
Posts: 315
My Ride: 323i / my feet..
bump: i edited the diagram.. thanks
justvisiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 10:56 AM   #56
frogg320
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 610
My Ride: 2000 323i
Is the brown and yellow wire the switch?

85 + 86 should be the connections for the coil (you run power through them to turn the relay on) and the power to the lights should be going from 30 to 87. If I'm not mistaken, it looks like you have the power for the lights wired to 85 instead? My guess, and you *need to double check this*, is that you should switch 85 and 30.

And if I were doing this, I probably would have switched 85 and 86, since diagrams I see often have + on the left and bottom sides...but I'm not sure about this at all. It may not matter.

Finally, regarding the wires in your diagram, as long as they are both connecting to a sufficiently large ground wire and the connection is good, I think it should be fine? Though you should probably put them straight into the comb, not piggy-back on a wire that may already be pushing its limit. But please, for your sake, double-check my response
frogg320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 02:59 PM   #57
justvisiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston / La Jolla / Fremont
Posts: 315
My Ride: 323i / my feet..
I tried to read as much as I could about how the relay works, and I think you are right. 12V needs to go across from 85-86 to open the coil for 30-87 to activate.

So if 86 is ground, then 85 needs to be the positive input with the switch - thus the trigger wire (the brown and yellow) from the headlight switch. So when they activate, power is drawn from pin 30 to pin 87 lighting up the lights. So I do need to switch my 85 and 30

The ground wires just need to be ground.. It sounds like igottissues666, routed the 2 ground points for the lights into the relay, then had a 3rd wire(thicker 12-14awg) in contact with those 2 and the relay going to the ground in the distribution board. So this single wire grounds the 2 lights and the relay.

Frogg, you make it sound like 2 wires should go to the distribution board, one from the relay, one from the 2 light grounds. Just to be safe. If there are 2 open slots I don't see why not.

Anyways I hope this is right. I hope igottissues could check it, but either way, if its wrong, I don't think I will damage anything, as there is nothing to explode... like a capacitor or resistor. I just need to make sure the wires are all 16awg, with the main ground 12awg - to prevent excess heat.

If I ever get this to work this christmas break.. ill update the correct diagram.

Last edited by justvisiting; 09-27-2008 at 03:02 PM.
justvisiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 03:15 AM   #58
jem_jpg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 36
My Ride: is cool!
do you have a link on where to get those pigtail connectors for foglight sockets?
jem_jpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 02:36 PM   #59
justvisiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston / La Jolla / Fremont
Posts: 315
My Ride: 323i / my feet..
you can get them at dealers, but I recommend your local car shop/auto parts store <9006 females>. The dealer charges 3-5 dollars per plastic housing, then ANOTHER 3-5 dollars per lead!!! so ~25-30 dollars.... ridiculous. While a pair off of ebay will run you about 10 shipped.
justvisiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 10:54 AM   #60
pesos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington
Posts: 1
My Ride: BMW 323i
fog light question

i want to get an m3 bumper for my 4door, and it says they come with the foglights. Will this diy for the retangular fogs work for the circular ones too???
pesos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use