E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > Home Improvement

Home Improvement
Home Improvement ideas, help, DIYs, and show room. Got a home improvement project you need help with or want to share. Post your project now!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2006, 07:50 PM   #1
rana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: White Rock, BC Canada
Posts: 1,543
My Ride: 04' 320i, 03' 745Li
Can I use a car sub as a home theater sub?

Hi guys,

My secondary Home Theater sub blew out...its actually been a while...

I have a 12" Infinity car sub sitting around collecting dust...Im wondering, can I use that as my home theater sub?

The only thing is, the actual HT sub I had, had a lot of knobs and stuff at the back to control sound output....and I think it had a built in amp as well....

Hmm...will my reciever be able to power the Infinity sub on its own?
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 01:27 AM   #2
sycE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,889
My Ride: 323ci
Most likely, no...

Most receivers can only drive 6-8 ohm speakers. Chances are... your infinity sub is either wired for 4 or 2 ohm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rana
Hi guys,

My secondary Home Theater sub blew out...its actually been a while...

I have a 12" Infinity car sub sitting around collecting dust...Im wondering, can I use that as my home theater sub?

The only thing is, the actual HT sub I had, had a lot of knobs and stuff at the back to control sound output....and I think it had a built in amp as well....

Hmm...will my reciever be able to power the Infinity sub on its own?
sycE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 01:41 AM   #3
Three30i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Whistler BC, Canada
Posts: 442
My Ride: 2001 330i
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...t=home+theater

This might help you
__________________

*Sig courtesy of ArjunGFX*
Three30i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 11:30 AM   #4
brew
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 347
My Ride: Sequoia X5 MR2 G20
Yes you can use a car sub. You'll need a separate amp. Here is a link to some good cheap plate amps for subs: http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....up_ID=505&SO=2

Most of those should have no problem with a 4 ohm sub. If you have dual 2, 3 or 4 ohm voicecoils, make sure to wire them in series.
brew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 01:46 AM   #5
rana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: White Rock, BC Canada
Posts: 1,543
My Ride: 04' 320i, 03' 745Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by brew
Yes you can use a car sub. You'll need a separate amp. Here is a link to some good cheap plate amps for subs: http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....up_ID=505&SO=2

Most of those should have no problem with a 4 ohm sub. If you have dual 2, 3 or 4 ohm voicecoils, make sure to wire them in series.
Exactly what I needed!

Thanks brew
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 01:46 AM   #6
rana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: White Rock, BC Canada
Posts: 1,543
My Ride: 04' 320i, 03' 745Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by Three30i
that was helpful. Thanks man
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use