E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2002, 10:58 AM   #1
lovethebimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 21
My Ride: 328i
Experts: Why do I need a LOC?

I am adding an Alpine MRV-450 amp (5th channel is for future sub if I choose) and upgrading the components up front and adding coax's in the rear deck. The guy at Ultimate Universe in Dallas (referral from this site - thanks!) said I would need a line output converter. The Alpine MRV-450 accepts line level signals I believe.

1) Why would I need a LOC if the Alpine accepts line level from the stock amp?

2) Is the signal cleaner and does it sound better to tap the signal before the factory amp (and convert with LOC)?

I have read so many conflicting responses on this board. What is the real deal?

Thanks in advance for your expertise.
__________________
Research stuff to death. This way you can obsess even more.
lovethebimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-17-2002, 11:16 AM   #2
boynix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 358
My Ride: 12 Volvo S60
you'll only need a LOC if your amp only has RCA inputs
boynix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 02:34 PM   #3
drgalleg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chicago Burbs
Posts: 449
My Ride: '02 325Ci
Send a message via AIM to drgalleg Send a message via Yahoo to drgalleg
Re: Experts: Why do I need a LOC?

If you tap the signal BEFORE the factory amp, then you'll also need a balanced line converter since the HU is sending out balanced signals. I THINK you should be ok if you tap after the amp and then go straight to the line level to your alpine amp.



Quote:
Originally posted by lovethebimmer
I am adding an Alpine MRV-450 amp (5th channel is for future sub if I choose) and upgrading the components up front and adding coax's in the rear deck. The guy at Ultimate Universe in Dallas (referral from this site - thanks!) said I would need a line output converter. The Alpine MRV-450 accepts line level signals I believe.

1) Why would I need a LOC if the Alpine accepts line level from the stock amp?

2) Is the signal cleaner and does it sound better to tap the signal before the factory amp (and convert with LOC)?

I have read so many conflicting responses on this board. What is the real deal?

Thanks in advance for your expertise.
drgalleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use