E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-11-2006, 04:49 PM   #1
Adenosinebambam
Registered User
 
Adenosinebambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 997
My Ride: My Ride
DIY PAC SWI-PS steering wheel ctrl

Here is a little DIY for all of you who have an AVIC N-1/2 and miss your steering wheel controls. I bought a SWI-PS by PAC. This allows you to program your controls. This unit will work on all Pioneer and Sony stereos with wired remote inputs. (You will have to check the page for an actual list) You will have to excuse my digital cam.. for whatever reason all the pics are blurry..

1. I started by taking the panel down from under the dash on the drivers side so I could get to the wires that run up to the steering wheel. There is a pretty thick bundle that obviously goes into the steering column. Just cut the tape holdig them together and fish around in there for a thin wire, white and red with yellow dots. This will apply to most 3 series BMWs 00-05, with a few that actually use a white and grey with yellow dots.



2. Pull your AVIC back outta that mounting hole.. I know it was hard to get in there in the first place but tough luck. (This is assuming you installed it yourself, If you didnít, you need to pull the trim off the dash, pop your heating controls out and remove the cables, unscrew the stereo from in place etc.) I ran the yellow wire along where I ran the wires to my amp, down the left hand side of the dash to the drivers foot pedals. If you shine a flashlight at your pedals, you can see the light below, aim your wire there! I bundled the wires you donít need together, as you only use the red, black, and yellow. Keep the red and black at the top, and once you run the yellow wire get down where you already exposed that red/white/yellow dot wire. Cut the wire in half, and connect the yellow wire to the wire that is goin UP to the steering wheel. Insulate the other piece of wire.



3. Connect the red to the 12+ ignition. I used wire taps into the wires I already used for the stereo. Same with the neg. ground.



4. Connect the jack into the connection for the wired remote on the AVIC head unit. Now tuck everything away nicely. Keep the SWI-PS module sticking out, you will need the button to program.




5. Get programming! The directions included are pretty straight forward. I memorized the steps and it still took me a couple of tries to get it right, it is just that the button programming only gives you about 5 seconds between buttons, and if you get flustered you have to start over. (Not a big deal). I programmed my volume up.down, mute as the RSC button, track up.down, and the little phone button is my source.

6. Tuck the module away. I put all of my wires in the upper left corner with the harness and the module fitting nicely. Put your trim on and go for a drive!



I love it.. I can shift while I change channels again! It took me only about 30 minutes with taking the pics.
__________________
All of my FS items may be listed on other forums as well. Thanks.
~Tom
Adenosinebambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-03-2007, 04:42 AM   #2
RichieE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
My Ride: E46
Sorry for bringing up a old thread but didnt want to start a new one.

I did the same thing as u...used the R/T button to program for source.

The problem is when I put the key in to turn to "on" position, the headunit changes source constantly every 2 seconds. Its not until I push the R/T button, that it stops and acts normally. How do I stop this?
__________________
RichieE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 01:27 AM   #3
RichieE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
My Ride: E46
Well nm I figured out the problem after more research...to those that find this thread...

R/T button sends a test signal 2 or 3 times when u turn it to the ON position...so its better that you NOT program the R/T button unless you want to deal with the problem.
__________________
RichieE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 09:48 AM   #4
Adenosinebambam
Registered User
 
Adenosinebambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 997
My Ride: My Ride
?? I never had this problem.. Maybe it it something with the newer cars.
__________________
All of my FS items may be listed on other forums as well. Thanks.
~Tom
Adenosinebambam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:28 PM   #5
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adenosinebambam View Post
?? I never had this problem.. Maybe it it something with the newer cars.
All the old and new cars I have done do the same thing with the R/T button.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 01:32 PM   #6
gazfatha323i
E46 Spartan
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 531
My Ride: 04 CB/IR M3
Send a message via AIM to gazfatha323i
DId you have avic-n1 or N2

I have n1 and wondering if its compatiable
__________________

Carbon Black / IR ///M
gazfatha323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 07:03 PM   #7
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazfatha323i View Post
I have n1 and wondering if its compatiable
Yes, but you do need to have the pioneer remote for programming. I believe you have to buy it separately for around $30.

You are probably better off getting an SWI-PS model. No remote required, no infrared eye to mount. Plugs directly into the pioneers.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 11:41 AM   #8
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
I must REALLY suck at this. I have the Eclipse version...still can't get it right. I must be retarded. I've spent at least 4 hours on it.

One more try...then I'm trashing it.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 02:23 PM   #9
BreakMyWallet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 9,220
My Ride: B6 A4/ Mini Cooper S
nice diy
__________________
BreakMyWallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 06:31 PM   #10
jammykam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 318
My Ride: 2003 330Ci Step Vert
Excellent DIY

Just found out about this product a few weeks back from another member so may install one myself.


Cheers
///Kam
__________________
jammykam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 10:31 PM   #11
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976 View Post
I must REALLY suck at this. I have the Eclipse version...still can't get it right. I must be retarded. I've spent at least 4 hours on it.

One more try...then I'm trashing it.
I've never had any problems with it. Let me know if you need help.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 06:32 AM   #12
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,480
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
I've never had any problems with it. Let me know if you need help.
I got it right and then I had to disconnect the battery for some reason. I always forget about the R/T button too.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 07:59 AM   #13
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976 View Post
I got it right and then I had to disconnect the battery for some reason. I always forget about the R/T button too.

...well, there is a way to make the R/T button work. Involves minor rewiring at the steering wheel button harness and adding a resistor. If you are interested, I have diagrams.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 05:43 PM   #14
BreakMyWallet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 9,220
My Ride: B6 A4/ Mini Cooper S
wait so you only use 3 wires? red/black/yellow? is that just for pioneer?
__________________
BreakMyWallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 06:36 PM   #15
amunoz27e
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: FT Bragg, NC
Posts: 762
My Ride: 325ci
On an excellent DIY to use. Now I know which wire to cut exactly.
__________________

Bilstein PSS10 Coilovers | Highline Tuning Catback Exhaust | Double Din Audio | Lots of Carbon Fiber Interior/Engine Bay | 19x8,19x9.5 Wheels | RIP - Reiger Body Kit .
amunoz27e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:21 AM   #16
HalcyonTwilight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exton/PA, State College/PA
Posts: 55
My Ride: '03 M3, '99 323i
I'm trying to get this installed for my N3 but the installer is telling me that it's not compatible... is this true? Please help, urgent need of help! thanks if anyone can chime in a timely manner...!
__________________
HalcyonTwilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:21 AM   #17
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by HalcyonTwilight View Post
I'm trying to get this installed for my N3 but the installer is telling me that it's not compatible... is this true? Please help, urgent need of help! thanks if anyone can chime in a timely manner...!
Not compatible to the car or to the N3?
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 11:46 AM   #18
HalcyonTwilight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Exton/PA, State College/PA
Posts: 55
My Ride: '03 M3, '99 323i
The N3... the PAC adapter has what looks like a headphone type adapter, but there aren't any ports to plug it into (all to small)... did I get the wrong one somehow? It does say PAC-SWIPS on it. Thanks if you can help, typing this from my phome right now!
__________________
HalcyonTwilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2007, 12:20 PM   #19
SamXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 242
My Ride: 2011 WRX
Send a message via ICQ to SamXp
N3 is indeed listed as compatible with the SWI-PS...
http://www.pac-audio.com/swi-compati...acture=pioneer

I'd call PAC and ask them what's up. You sure you don't see a 1/8" jack in the back for a wired remote?

Last edited by SamXp; 08-04-2007 at 12:23 PM.
SamXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 12:18 PM   #20
GarrettF
needs a new sig...
 
GarrettF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Manhattan, NY
Posts: 4,705
My Ride: '02 330Ci
Send a message via AIM to GarrettF
BUMP

I called PAC and they said my car has some wire in it that doesnt let the PAC work I think it is called a "5volt swc wire" it is the wire for the cellular phone... can anyone confirm this or is there a workaround? my car is an 02
__________________
[LEFT]
CAR IS GONE
GarrettF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use