E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 04-01-2007, 05:36 AM   #801
kyle e46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Northern California - San Jose
Posts: 643
My Ride: 325xi
question, i have a ton of extra slack of cable left over, where do you guys normally leave it?
__________________
kyle e46 is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 10:25 PM   #802
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nait Sirhc View Post
Quick question... sometimes when I fire the car up, the radio display says "PAUSE". What's the easiest way to unpause it? It usually requires me to skip forward a track, and then backwards.
How long was the vehicle shut down for? also I need your iPod Generation and firmware version.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:24 PM   #803
Nait Sirhc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 72
My Ride: 92 GSX, 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
How long was the vehicle shut down for? also I need your iPod Generation and firmware version.
Usually 30 minutes to an hour. It's an iPod nano, 2nd gen, running 1.11
Nait Sirhc is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:00 PM   #804
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle e46 View Post
question, i have a ton of extra slack of cable left over, where do you guys normally leave it?
Simply bundle up the slack and tuck away.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 10:02 PM   #805
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nait Sirhc View Post
Usually 30 minutes to an hour. It's an iPod nano, 2nd gen, running 1.11
A 2nd Gen nano should be running firmware version 1.1.2, update your iPod using iTunes or this install document: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=60944

Let me know if you have any further questions.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 08:29 PM   #806
CBDZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The 909
Posts: 23
My Ride: 323i Touring
Here are the details...

2000 323i Touring.
Buisness CD Player

30 GB Video Ipod

HD Dice

Now the Issues...

If I shut down the car while in Ipod mode, and come back after a few hours, like from morning until lunch time, the Ipod begins playing at the beging of the track library...1st song...in the 1st album...of the first artist.

Everything seems to work ok, but it is annoying that I can't listen at the same place that I left off.

If I shut down for only a few moments...like run in the store to pickup a pizza, I gain have gone back to the first song in the library, but the text display gets stuck on the last track that I was listening to when I shut down.


If I shut down while in HD Radio mode, and come back, I again am put back at the begining of the frequecy range.

Also, I am having issues programming the radio presets.

I have not tried the usually suggested steps of pulling fuses, resetting the ipod, or pulling fuses.

I first want to know if this type of operation could be considered normal because I have a older Blaupank H.U.?
CBDZ is offline  
Old 04-05-2007, 12:39 AM   #807
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
This has nothing to do with the radio. What firmware version is on the iPod?
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:17 AM   #808
CBDZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The 909
Posts: 23
My Ride: 323i Touring
I was under the impression that the older head units had Pause and shut-down issues.

The Firm-ware version on the Ipod is 1.2.1.

I guess I should go ahead and try to disconnect the battery, and all the other stuff in your standard reply that I have read at least 100 times onthis tread.
CBDZ is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:21 AM   #809
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBDZ View Post
I was under the impression that the older head units had Pause and shut-down issues.

The Firm-ware version on the Ipod is 1.2.1.

I guess I should go ahead and try to disconnect the battery, and all the other stuff in your standard reply that I have read at least 100 times onthis tread.
The 99-01 Blaupunkt radios do not pause the iPod without changing the source first, but that isn't what was in your original post. Try resetting the battery first, if you should continue to have trouble - give me a call from your BMW and we'll run down some steps in real-time.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 06:28 PM   #810
jacobchemical
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: new york
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Problem with DICE

Hey Tom,

I bought a dice ipod adapter from EAS and installed it this past weekend in my 2005 330xi with navigation. I followed the instructions from website and it is not working. I recheck all my connections and took out fuses and still the same problem. I am able to switch to cd changer and change tracks on navi but no sound and ipod doesnt seem affected. Also the ipod does not charge. Another thing is when i connect the ipod the navigation switches to the Speed dial screen and displays" DICE ELECT"
Please help. I am very frustrated.
jacobchemical is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 06:35 PM   #811
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobchemical View Post
Hey Tom,

I bought a dice ipod adapter from EAS and installed it this past weekend in my 2005 330xi with navigation. I followed the instructions from website and it is not working. I recheck all my connections and took out fuses and still the same problem. I am able to switch to cd changer and change tracks on navi but no sound and ipod doesnt seem affected. Also the ipod does not charge. Another thing is when i connect the ipod the navigation switches to the Speed dial screen and displays" DICE ELECT"
Please help. I am very frustrated.
No need to be fustrated, we're here to help. You simply need to disconnect and reboot the iPod by pressing the MENU and CENTER buttons for +5 seconds, then reconnecting after Clickwheel operation returns.

Afterwards, you should see text display on the radio display.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:31 PM   #812
jacobchemical
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: new york
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
No need to be fustrated, we're here to help. You simply need to disconnect and reboot the iPod by pressing the MENU and CENTER buttons for +5 seconds, then reconnecting after Clickwheel operation returns.

Afterwards, you should see text display on the radio display.

Hey Tom

Thanks for quick reply. I just rebooted ipod and still same problem. The ipod works fine. I can scroll thru and pick songs etc even when connected to the dice device. However it doesnt charge when connected, there is no text display or sound. The only thing that happens when I connect ipod and switch to CD1 is that the screen goes to Speed dial and says " Dice elect" The ipod remains fully functional at that time but no charging, no sound or text display
jacobchemical is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:38 PM   #813
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobchemical View Post
Hey Tom

Thanks for quick reply. I just rebooted ipod and still same problem. The ipod works fine. I can scroll thru and pick songs etc even when connected to the dice device. However it doesnt charge when connected, there is no text display or sound. The only thing that happens when I connect ipod and switch to CD1 is that the screen goes to Speed dial and says " Dice elect" The ipod remains fully functional at that time but no charging, no sound or text display
Is this a standard DICE or HD DICE?
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:47 PM   #814
jacobchemical
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: new york
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Is this a standard DICE or HD DICE?
Standard trunk interface which i ran to glove box
jacobchemical is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:18 AM   #815
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobchemical View Post
Standard trunk interface which i ran to glove box
Recheck the DIP switches on the module, they both need to be in the OFF position.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 01:10 AM   #816
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by markandersonus View Post
Hi Tom

Where do I find a qualified technician who knows about DICE equipment? I'm not going to waste my money at a BMW dealership

(BTW - it's two units not 3. If you want to send me a 3rd one, feel free)

Regards

Mark
I can't recommend anyone I've worked with personally in the Chicagoland area, however I can offer to test your current module in hand on our bench and my own BMW to see if the same behavior is present.

This will determine if the DICE or there is something else going on in your BMW.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:08 AM   #817
boomr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 13
My Ride: 05 M3 vert
detailed instructions

Tom, I got the detailed instruction that you sent to me the other day, extremely helpful, thank you. Also went back and installed it last night, much easier the 2nd go around, knowing where the wiring goes.
Great service and great product. In fact, I was so happy with the way everything sounded, I didn't even listen to my normal talk show this morning during my morning commute (1.5 hour drive), thanks again for the great service.

Mike
boomr is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:29 AM   #818
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomr View Post
Tom, I got the detailed instruction that you sent to me the other day, extremely helpful, thank you. Also went back and installed it last night, much easier the 2nd go around, knowing where the wiring goes.
Great service and great product. In fact, I was so happy with the way everything sounded, I didn't even listen to my normal talk show this morning during my morning commute (1.5 hour drive), thanks again for the great service.

Mike
Thanks for the feedback. Keep in mind that most talk programs are in podcast format now, you can still download your shows and place them on the iPod for later.
tom @ eas is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:01 PM   #819
jacobchemical
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: new york
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2005 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Recheck the DIP switches on the module, they both need to be in the OFF position.
I have checked all my connection, and both of the DIP switches are off. Still same problem. I think the device is defective. Is there anyway to test it to determine if it is the device or connection problem?
jacobchemical is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 04:09 PM   #820
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobchemical View Post
I have checked all my connection, and both of the DIP switches are off. Still same problem. I think the device is defective. Is there anyway to test it to determine if it is the device or connection problem?
The DICE coming up as a selection and the message would indicate the kit is running properly, just not reading the iPod properly. First thing would be a full reset of both the iPod and the DICE:

1. Disconnect iPod from cable
2. Remove battery cables, negative first
3. Touch battery cable terminals together (away from battery) for +5 seconds, a small spark is normal as this is stored power draining from the system.
4. Allow cables to remain disconnected for about 5-7 minutes
5. Reconnect battery cables onto battery, negative last.
6. Reboot iPod by pressing on MENU and CENTER buttons for +5 seconds and then reconnecting to the DICE cable after the reboot process is completed.

Let me know if these steps correct the problem, if not - we'll make the necessary steps for product replacement under warranty
tom @ eas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use