E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-11-2006, 01:06 AM   #21
vic32amg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Palm Desert
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2003 M3 SMG Topaz
I believe that for the Z1 you will need the 7" bezel which is different than mine, Also it takes longer to make. But it's all worth it if it look clean. everyone who has seen my unit latley has been WOWed. talk to rich @ mybimmer.net. His work is qaulity. Also it's just a face cover tha matches up with the cage for the OEM radio. you will need to modify the OEM cage to work with your unit. Some of the links I posted show different ways of going about it.

thanks
Vic
vic32amg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 09:27 AM   #22
3onDubs
Registered User
 
3onDubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: yes
Posts: 6,884
My Ride: no
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976
Remember, don't program the R/T button. It activates whenever you turn on the ignition. I had it switch the source and got REALLY annoying.
I am currently having this annoyance and havn't had the cance to reprogram it yet.
3onDubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 10:47 AM   #23
redbmwm3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 187
My Ride: 2000 323ci
Thanks Vic, I order the bezel from Rich already. thanks again.
redbmwm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 11:27 PM   #24
Wickedflava
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2006 M3, 1999 Dakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976
This really isn't that hard.

I have a 5435 and the SWI-ECL...couldn't get it to work. Probably just me. Remember, don't program the R/T button. It activates whenever you turn on the ignition. I had it switch the source and got REALLY annoying.
I just had the same problem ... I think....

basically when I press the r/t button it sometimes turns the unit off and sometimes the volum up and down don't work..., is this related to the button?

so basically you just skipped that step and only used the volum up/down & track up/down?

and what version number did you program the pac interface for (I have a 06 model and used version 5)?
Wickedflava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 11:32 AM   #25
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,475
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
I used program 5.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 11:34 AM   #26
3onDubs
Registered User
 
3onDubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: yes
Posts: 6,884
My Ride: no
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickedflava
I just had the same problem ... I think....

basically when I press the r/t button it sometimes turns the unit off and sometimes the volum up and down don't work..., is this related to the button?

so basically you just skipped that step and only used the volum up/down & track up/down?

and what version number did you program the pac interface for (I have a 06 model and used version 5)?
No....the problem isn't with pressing the r/t button...that part works like it's supposed to each and every time. The problem is that our cars send a test signal to the r/t button at startup. As a result, the pac-swi thinks that the button was pressed and it preforms the action associated with that button press. This gets annoying because the source ends up switching everytime u start your car.

Aside from track up/down, vol up/down, you can also program that tiny button underneath the r/t. I have mine set as a mute function. I was actually thinking that it would function better as a pause/play button, but i'll get to that when i reprogram mine to take out the r/t function.
3onDubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2006, 12:00 PM   #27
bigjae1976
Registered User
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 11,475
My Ride: A car
Send a message via MSN to bigjae1976
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3onDubs
No....the problem isn't with pressing the r/t button...that part works like it's supposed to each and every time. The problem is that our cars send a test signal to the r/t button at startup. As a result, the pac-swi thinks that the button was pressed and it preforms the action associated with that button press. This gets annoying because the source ends up switching everytime u start your car.

Aside from track up/down, vol up/down, you can also program that tiny button underneath the r/t. I have mine set as a mute function. I was actually thinking that it would function better as a pause/play button, but i'll get to that when i reprogram mine to take out the r/t function.
If you have the SWI-ECL, you can only program track up/down, volume up/down and mode.
bigjae1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2006, 04:08 PM   #28
sylviera9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: bronx
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2002 330xi
how is the A/C working
sylviera9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 01:04 AM   #29
vic32amg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Palm Desert
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2003 M3 SMG Topaz
I am installing the Eclipse steering wheel interface this weekend - will do a DIY.

.
...... also I have a pac swi X for sell - brand new - 40 bucks shipped.
vic32amg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:18 AM   #30
3onDubs
Registered User
 
3onDubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: yes
Posts: 6,884
My Ride: no
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylviera9 View Post
how is the A/C working
Mine is working as it did before the operation.
3onDubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 01:58 PM   #31
Disco_Monkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF BAY AREA
Posts: 102
My Ride: 06 E46 M3 ZCP 6MT
Great DIY!

Thanks. I have never worked on a BMW so is a big help. Now I just need to order the relocation bracket and I am good to go!
__________________
06 E46 M3 ZCP 6MT - SG/Cinnamon
Disco_Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2007, 01:59 PM   #32
JSanders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,377
My Ride: Breaks too often
Since that wire in the ashtray isnt hooked up now, does the cigarette lighter still work?
JSanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 12:36 PM   #33
Flyguy737
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: N VA
Posts: 16
My Ride: 2004 330i ZHP
Check the part number for your particular car. I used his but after running my VIN the dealler said ineeded a different one. Great write up.
Flyguy737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 08:14 PM   #34
sakman74
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NYC/NJ/CA/Europe
Posts: 541
My Ride: M3 Coupe
so can someone post pics or tell more detail on how to actually mod the vent flap ? i have this install coming up in a few days and want to retain air to the feet, or at least let it work properly when the button is pressed.

got an audio shop doing this for me and they've never done it before for the e46, but i showed them what's going on on that duct....

thanks.....
sakman74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 11:53 PM   #35
BLK BLUR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ELK GROVE, CA. 95758
Posts: 1,096
My Ride: 335i,modena,titan cc
Good write up I'm gonna need this when i put a navi on my on
__________________
BLK BLUR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 03:27 PM   #36
OMEN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: london
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2002 325ti..........
Thanks Vic

This is one Idiot that will be using your write up off the weekend to install a double din.
OMEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 11:58 PM   #37
ZimZimma24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 65
My Ride: 2006 325 Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to ZimZimma24
Quote:
Originally Posted by sakman74 View Post
so can someone post pics or tell more detail on how to actually mod the vent flap ? i have this install coming up in a few days and want to retain air to the feet, or at least let it work properly when the button is pressed.

got an audio shop doing this for me and they've never done it before for the e46, but i showed them what's going on on that duct....

thanks.....
^ This guy never got a response and I've read about 10 posts so far on this topic (thanks Rich for posting links from your website) and have not yet seen an answer to this. Best I've heard was "you can do this, or you can do that...it's your choice" but nothing more.

What are the repercussions for doing this mod? I'm contemplating whether I should do this mod myself or have my local audio shop do it, however, I'm not sure how much experience they've had on an E46 (they seem pretty confident, though). I don't know how to word this properly but bottom line is, I have big hands and a stocky build (for lack of a better description without hurting my feelings, lol, j/k) so when it comes to reaching in to tight places and crawling under the steering column, it's a bit of a struggle and rather annoying to say the least. I also tend to break things as a result of not knowing when to stop applying pressure to a stressed piece of plastic (the f**ker should just come off!! ). As a result, I'm more inclined to pay someone else (who's "a professional") to do all stereo installations.

I just want to relocate the darn climate controls and retain all AC/ventalation functionality as if nothing was installed. If anyone can just explain this process and tell us "what's the worst that could happen", that'd be awesome!

Thx fellaz/ladeez
ZimZimma24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 12:24 AM   #38
ZimZimma24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 65
My Ride: 2006 325 Ci
Send a message via Skype™ to ZimZimma24
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimZimma24 View Post
^ This guy never got a response and I've read about 10 posts so far on this topic (thanks Rich for posting links from your website) and have not yet seen an answer to this. Best I've heard was "you can do this, or you can do that...it's your choice" but nothing more.

What are the repercussions for doing this mod? I'm contemplating whether I should do this mod myself or have my local audio shop do it, however, I'm not sure how much experience they've had on an E46 (they seem pretty confident, though). I don't know how to word this properly but bottom line is, I have big hands and a stocky build (for lack of a better description without hurting my feelings, lol, j/k) so when it comes to reaching in to tight places and crawling under the steering column, it's a bit of a struggle and rather annoying to say the least. I also tend to break things as a result of not knowing when to stop applying pressure to a stressed piece of plastic (the f**ker should just come off!! ). As a result, I'm more inclined to pay someone else (who's "a professional") to do all stereo installations.

I just want to relocate the darn climate controls and retain all AC/ventalation functionality as if nothing was installed. If anyone can just explain this process and tell us "what's the worst that could happen", that'd be awesome!

Thx fellaz/ladeez
Answered my own question...see post #19!!

Okay, now I can sleep!
ZimZimma24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 01:31 AM   #39
ThisFlyGuy
OEM ///Member
 
ThisFlyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SF bay area
Posts: 2,210
My Ride: A Car
look awesome...great writeup
__________________
ThisFlyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 02:53 PM   #40
HighVoltage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 431
My Ride: 2007 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZimZimma24 View Post
Answered my own question...see post #19!!

Okay, now I can sleep!

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...ght=floor+vent
__________________
Building a small, high rpm engine with the perfect bore, stroke and rod ratio is very impressive...like a highly skilled Morrocan sword fighter with a Damascus Steel Scimitar.

Cubic inches is like Indiana Jones with a cheap pistol.
HighVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use