E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2006, 02:41 PM   #1
Kamshaft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Canada)
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2002 325i (w/sport)
OMG!! Is it THAT easy to disable our ODOMETER!!??

OK, so we were going to the drive-in a few days ago and I hate having the windows down cause of the mosquitoes. But you gotta keep defogging the windows every once in a while which means you gotta keep starting the car every so often, and the daytime running lights come on and piss everybody off!!

Long story short (too late for that), I fiddled around with the fuses until I found the combination that allowed me to start the car WITHOUT the daytime running lights coming on, but then I noticed on my way to the drive-in...

The odometer stopped counting!! So did the trip meter, the MPG, speedometer, fuel gauge, etc...

Didn't notice any loss of power or anything else wrong during the drive, so I figured once I reinsert fuses #32 & #34 after the movie, all will come back to normal. It didn't.

Odometer never caught up at all, and the only other weird thing is that I couldn't start the car... actually sounded like the engine was flooded!!

So here are my 2 questions for the guru's:

1 - Is it actually THAT easy to cheat the odometer reading? That would scare the hell out of me next time I'm buying!

2 - Why did the car stall after I re-inserted the fuses again and could my little experience have caused any permanent damage to any componenents?

Any thoughts?

Kamshaft
__________________
Favorite Movie Quote:
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he doesn't exist." (Usual Suspects)
Kamshaft is offline  
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 08-08-2006, 02:45 PM   #2
Two Outtakes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newport Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,455
My Ride: is on 20" DPE's
wow very weird
__________________


RETIRED EP Sedan
Two Outtakes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
Notreknip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 275
My Ride: 2001 325Ci (TiAg)
Odd.

You could've just unplugged your high-beam connectors?!?
Notreknip is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:49 PM   #4
cowmoo32
drunken science
 
cowmoo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,532
My Ride: Trek 1.5
So did the car finally start after a couple tries after you put the fuses back in?
__________________

flickher

What's this about a brownie in motion?
cowmoo32 is online now  
Old 08-08-2006, 02:57 PM   #5
dave12345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 4,141
My Ride: 2003 ///M3 6MT
yep on the odo... how would u know since the car wouldnt start
__________________
2003 BMW ///M3
Carbon Black/Cinnamon 6MT
dave12345 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:06 PM   #6
rellik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oregon (OR A GUN)
Posts: 814
My Ride: is too slow...
interesting...couldn't be that easy...could it?
__________________
02' Black Sapphire Metallic 330i
Sport, Cold Weather and Premium Packages * Dinan TCAI * Dinan Stage II engine software * Dinan performance tranny software * UUC TSE3 * ///M3 Steering wheel * ///M3 lip spoiler * UUC Slotted Front Rotors * Powerflex FCAB's * KONI FSD's * UUC StrutBarbarian * 35% tint * OEM (ULO) clears * 5000k bulbs * NGK Iridiums * Stewart WP * Delmarco's Bluetooth retrofit * LED Angel Eyes * 3K HID Fogs * USA Spec
rellik is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:08 PM   #7
Timbo126
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 718
My Ride: 2004 330xi
Don't these cars have sensors that know if you have played with the odo. or not. I'm almost positive they do and thats possibly why u couldn't start it i dont know just a guess.
Timbo126 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:09 PM   #8
BMWPower06
Registered User
 
BMWPower06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Area Want: TX
Posts: 21,529
My Ride: ///M5 & VW Group Car
Send a message via AIM to BMWPower06
some1 else try it
__________________


Sold: ACS 330Ci :(
BMWPower06 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:11 PM   #9
blp88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 928
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWPower06
some1 else try it
You try it lol.
__________________
O MY 3-JB zsp


Mtech~19's & 17's~two-tone interior~tint~lip spoiler~sat radio~perf. zhp steering wheel~euro plate~h&r~debadged~clears~more less important things :)
blp88 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:12 PM   #10
Kamshaft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Canada)
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2002 325i (w/sport)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave12345
yep on the odo... how would u know since the car wouldnt start
The car DID eventually start, but it took up to a minute or so before it kicked back in and started from first key turn.

Don't worry, I didn't have to camp out at the drive-in!! The ODO did not catch up to where it should have been once I drove home.

Kamshaft
__________________
Favorite Movie Quote:
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he doesn't exist." (Usual Suspects)
Kamshaft is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:18 PM   #11
russ330
Mod Squad
 
russ330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mississippi's Gulf Coast
Posts: 15,802
My Ride: Motorsport III
Send a message via AIM to russ330
I doubt that it's that simple.

The mileage reading is also supposed to be stored in the LCM as a back up (I believe there is one other place where it's stored as well). I'm surprised the "tamper light" didn't illuminate in the gauge cluster.

Now whatever is stored in the LCM and what the gauge cluster reads should be different.

Oh yeah, the other place where mileage is stored is your key. You can take the key to any dealership and have them check it on a key reader.

The only question is have is if the cluster gets the info and then sends it to the key and LCM, which would conceivably 'pause' the readings on them, OR if the mileage is read somewhere else and has sent the numbers to the LCM and key, but the cluster received nothing.

Seems a central location that branches off to those three spots would be the most likely scenario since there's so many back up readings of the odometer.
__________________
russ330 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:26 PM   #12
ChadE7320
Registered User
 
ChadE7320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta GA, Charlotte NC
Posts: 619
My Ride: E90 / ATR-72
Send a message via AIM to ChadE7320
yea im suprised a tamper dot didnt show up on the dash, if it didnt it will prob show up on the computer when they hook it up when you go to the dealer prob
__________________
ChadE7320 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:34 PM   #13
Edison@JleviSW
1.888.JLEVISW
 
Edison@JleviSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clara
Posts: 28,332
My Ride: BMW Duh
Send a message via AIM to Edison@JleviSW
Seriously, if the odometer stopped reading you would have a tamper light. Maybe you just disabled the connection between the odometer data and the actual reading on the LCD. In which case that would be sweet
Edison@JleviSW is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:35 PM   #14
Kamshaft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario (Canada)
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2002 325i (w/sport)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChadE7320
yea im suprised a tamper dot didnt show up on the dash, if it didnt it will prob show up on the computer when they hook it up when you go to the dealer prob
Where would this "tamper dot" show up in the cluster exactly?? I'll look for it on my way home tonight (just in case I missed it up til now!).

Kamshaft
__________________
Favorite Movie Quote:
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he doesn't exist." (Usual Suspects)
Kamshaft is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 03:41 PM   #15
russ330
Mod Squad
 
russ330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mississippi's Gulf Coast
Posts: 15,802
My Ride: Motorsport III
Send a message via AIM to russ330
It's a small light on the bottom corner of the speedometer or the tachometer, I can't quite recall ATM.
__________________
russ330 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:45 PM   #16
Guy With A BMW
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 538
My Ride: 2003.5 AW M3 SMG
A code will get stored in the ECU that odometer stopped counting. Im 100% sure of this. You cannot clear this code, only with the right tools you can.

The only way I know how to stop the odometer, is to desconnect it at the wheel. I think it is in the right rear wheel. You will see a black box, open it and disconnect it. You will have no problem starting the car, but you will not have ASC/DSC as this is one of the sensors it uses, and you will also get a code stored in the ECU.

If you are buying a car, as for a scan and make sure you dont find any codes like that.
Guy With A BMW is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:48 PM   #17
donjuan45i
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: DMI
Posts: 684
My Ride: e.quart.seis
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWPower06
some1 else try it
donjuan45i is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:56 PM   #18
MCD007
Im The Man
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,191
My Ride: 325ci
Send a message via AIM to MCD007
I've done it. I was pulling fuses one day and inserted fuse 56 into the wrong place. This controlled the abs, dsc, etc. The gauge cluster stopped working in that the needles did not move nor did the odo keep count. When i finally realized the mistake i put the fuse back in but the odo stayed the same. I put about 30 miles on the car that went unaccounted for.
__________________
MCD007 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:22 PM   #19
BMWPower06
Registered User
 
BMWPower06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DC Area Want: TX
Posts: 21,529
My Ride: ///M5 & VW Group Car
Send a message via AIM to BMWPower06
**** looks like it works then
__________________


Sold: ACS 330Ci :(
BMWPower06 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:32 PM   #20
2000_328CI
DK Jack Sparrow
 
2000_328CI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Isla de Muerta | DC/VA
Posts: 29,023
My Ride: 328Ci | Range Rover
Send a message via AIM to 2000_328CI Send a message via MSN to 2000_328CI
i have heard from a bmw tech that setting our odometers back isn't really all that hard
__________________

Everything you need to know on muffler deletes : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=745244
2000_328CI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use