E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2002, 11:00 PM   #1
jaydc393
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: so cal (LA)
Posts: 220
My Ride: 04 M3 Vert
Send a message via ICQ to jaydc393 Send a message via AIM to jaydc393 Send a message via Skype™ to jaydc393
Can I run pwr off the HK upgrade amp?

ok so I got the HK upgrade but I'm not happy with the bass, I have 2 12" rockfords but nothing to power them. I was thinking of using the HK amp if that was possible. does anyone know? would i be able to take the speaker wires off the HK subs and ptu them in my rockfords?
jaydc393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-03-2002, 11:04 PM   #2
lileccentricJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. FL.
Posts: 37
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Send a message via AIM to lileccentricJ
Not knowing the HK fuse size, I wouldn't suggest doing that. Why not just run fused power from the batt and ground to the chassis closest to your new amp? should be easy enough and IMO safer for blown fuses and power quality.

Edit - read that one wrong... must be late as far as using the HK amp to power your rocks... dunno that. You can always just try it and see but I doubt the HK amp has the power your looking for to drive those. BTW, when I had the HK sub down I noticed the speakers were stamped w/ 2 ohm... so u can compare w/ ur rocks.
__________________

Desperately seeking mod $$... sponsorships available! hehe

^ Please pay me to put your banner ad here!


Last edited by lileccentricJ; 11-03-2002 at 11:11 PM.
lileccentricJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 01:05 AM   #3
dollar99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 775
My Ride: c6 Z51
Send a message via AIM to dollar99
ummm.. I don't think the HK amp will supply suficient power. You are better off buying a 500.1 amp. Come on dude, you drive a BMW and can't afford a better amp?
__________________
2003 325ci (my first car) *Sold*
2004 Supercharged G35 coupe *Sold*
2001 Landrover Disco *Totalled*
2005 X3 3.0 *Daily Driver*
2006 C6 Z51 *needs FI*
dollar99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 05:38 PM   #4
jaydc393
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: so cal (LA)
Posts: 220
My Ride: 04 M3 Vert
Send a message via ICQ to jaydc393 Send a message via AIM to jaydc393 Send a message via Skype™ to jaydc393
ok so looks like I'm gettin a new amp

so how would that work would I have to use the new amp to power all my speakers or just the Sub? how do I access the HK amp to replace it?
jaydc393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 12:16 AM   #5
lileccentricJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. FL.
Posts: 37
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Send a message via AIM to lileccentricJ
This is kindda tough cuz I donít know your level of expertise or ability / desire to mess w/ wiring etc..

1) The HK main amp is behind the drivers side trunk trim. This Amp receives the inputs from the head unit, amplifies and distributes out to the speakers.

2) The HK Sub amp, this gets its input from the head unit (Iím not aware of it going to the main amp first) and there is a small black box (the sub amp) attached to the back of the black sub enclosure.

When installing an amp, you can get power form the battery, ground to the chassis and then either tap the HK sub unit for high level inputs or ask others here who might know how to get low level inputs for you.

In my case, I installed a powered Bazooka which has the amp in the sub enclosure. I just connected power and ground and tapped the HK subs. I wanted to leave the HK Subs as they have a higher frequency response than the Bazooka does and I didnít want to lose the punch. I hope this helps you understand the system a lil better.
__________________

Desperately seeking mod $$... sponsorships available! hehe

^ Please pay me to put your banner ad here!

lileccentricJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use