E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 87 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-22-2007, 01:04 PM   #81
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Looks like I'll be revisiting this thread before the weekend's over. Any feedback/suggestions from people who have done this DIY?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:05 PM   #82
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
OK, so I did this and I plugged in my MP3 Player and everything works great. I adjusted the audio level, the sound is awesome. Everything.

I plug it into the XM Player and nothing. Doesn't even know it's there. It switches back to CD. WTF?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:25 PM   #83
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
OK, so I did this and I plugged in my MP3 Player and everything works great. I adjusted the audio level, the sound is awesome. Everything.

I plug it into the XM Player and nothing. Doesn't even know it's there. It switches back to CD. WTF?
There's a ground loop that's happening and your radio is shutting down the AUX port. Try using another power source or a ground loop isolator on your power wire to fix the issue.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:31 PM   #84
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
There's a ground loop that's happening and your radio is shutting down the AUX port. Try using another power source or a ground loop isolator on your power wire to fix the issue.
Isolate the XM Player power wire? The AUX wire? Either? Both?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:32 PM   #85
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
Isolate the XM Player power wire? The AUX wire? Either? Both?
The XM Device wire.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:38 PM   #86
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
The XM Device wire.
Any quick way of doing this? Aluminum foil comes to mind...

EDIT: I just googled it and it seems aluminum foil won't work. I think I'll try powering the XM with batteries first, then see what I can do about the power? Unless... maybe there is a simple solution?
__________________

Last edited by 'busa; 02-23-2007 at 10:42 PM.
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:45 PM   #87
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
Any quick way of doing this? Aluminum foil comes to mind...

EDIT: I just googled it and it seems aluminum foil won't work. I think I'll try powering the XM with batteries first, then see what I can do about the power? Unless... maybe there is a simple solution?
Just install a ground loop isolator into the power wire, here's a link to the version we carry. You should be able to find a similar unit at a local audio shop.

12 Amp Power Noise Filter
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=309

Let me know if you have any further questions!
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 10:58 PM   #88
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Very nice! It seems you know what you're talking about. When it's not plugged in, the radio detects it, but of course, since it's not plugged in there's no sound. As soon as I plug in the power wire, the radio goes back to CD.

Is a ground loop isolator the only solution?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 11:12 PM   #89
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
Very nice! It seems you know what you're talking about. When it's not plugged in, the radio detects it, but of course, since it's not plugged in there's no sound. As soon as I plug in the power wire, the radio goes back to CD.

Is a ground loop isolator the only solution?
Yes - the radio is sensing power through the AUX port, and turning it off as a safety.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:32 AM   #90
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Yes - the radio is sensing power through the AUX port, and turning it off as a safety.
So, I'll have to cut the cigarette lighter adaptor apart and tap into each of the wires with it?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 12:54 AM   #91
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
So, I'll have to cut the cigarette lighter adaptor apart and tap into each of the wires with it?
If this is your power source, yes.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 11:53 AM   #92
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
If this is your power source, yes.
Sorry about all the questions. I just want to make sure I'm on the right path. With the headphones, I had to cut both wires, take the groundwires out of each and combine them into one for the connection to work.

On the cigarette lighter adapter, I'm guessing I'll pretty much have to do the same thing, since I don't see a separate ground wire just by looking at it.

Also, how does the fact that I want to tap into a power source in the car, instead of the lighter, change things? Do I still have to do this? Would it be easier if I do that first?

Thanks, Tom! You're a great help.
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2007, 12:45 PM   #93
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayabusa55 View Post
Sorry about all the questions. I just want to make sure I'm on the right path. With the headphones, I had to cut both wires, take the groundwires out of each and combine them into one for the connection to work.

On the cigarette lighter adapter, I'm guessing I'll pretty much have to do the same thing, since I don't see a separate ground wire just by looking at it.

Also, how does the fact that I want to tap into a power source in the car, instead of the lighter, change things? Do I still have to do this? Would it be easier if I do that first?

Thanks, Tom! You're a great help.
With a light tester/multimeter test for a +12V signal and tap the noise filter into it. The fact that you're using a powered source is causing the AUX to drop from the bus - so the filter is needed.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 09:00 PM   #94
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
OK, I didn't get get to do anything yet. I was wondering. If I tap into the car's power source, will I still have this issue??
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:47 PM   #95
srle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: prague
Posts: 179
My Ride: BMW 330cd
hallo hallo!

help needed! i made my own aux input cable. it works fine with my player and headphones but when i connect it to the HU and press mode button i can't find AUX. just FM and CD appears like before. i have checked my SV and 07-02-540 is written there. so what's wrong?

thakns!
__________________
srle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 01:50 PM   #96
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Djesi Srle!

For me AUX only shows up when I actually have something connected to the cable, AND when it powered by an external source (batteries in my case). My Satellite Radio won't show up because it's powered by the lighter.

Hope that helps.
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 04:36 PM   #97
srle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: prague
Posts: 179
My Ride: BMW 330cd
Cao majstore! :-)

could it be that i had my macbook used as a sound source? it shouldn't i thing, or am i wrong?
__________________
srle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 04:46 PM   #98
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
I don't think that should be a problem. It works with every other sound source?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:38 PM   #99
srle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: prague
Posts: 179
My Ride: BMW 330cd
http://kaiser-media.de/bmw/aux-in/

mabye i have found the answer....
__________________
srle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 09:33 PM   #100
'busa
Registered User
 
'busa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 1,465
My Ride: E90 335i (sold)
Wow, that guy really got into it. What are those, resistors? And why?
__________________
'busa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw aux in, diy aux input, input cable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use