E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-17-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Like the title says I am getting an error that states "Hardware is Not Ready" I have a pa soft scanner running 1.4 I have tried 2 computers running windows 7 ultimate 32 bit with a usb cable. I have searched the web but nobody has answered anything that has to do with this specific question. I ordered my scanner from eBay here is the link:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/380727105290...84.m1497.l2649

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-17-2013, 05:43 PM   #2
VALMONT
The De46vil's Army
 
VALMONT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 26,769
My Ride: 325Ci, Passat
Send a message via AIM to VALMONT Send a message via MSN to VALMONT
I thought it was XP only.
__________________
VALMONT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:44 PM   #3
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Re: PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Quote:
Originally Posted by VALMONT View Post
I thought it was XP only.
I can run compatibility mode on sp2 and it doesn't effect the outcome.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:56 PM   #4
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Re: PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Quote:
Originally Posted by VALMONT View Post
I thought it was XP only.
I have a copy of windows xp so I will install it and see if I get the desired results.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:06 PM   #5
Solidjake
Zero. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 26,128
My Ride: '02 330i 6MT
Sure the cable is plugged in all the way? Might seem stupid but it happens
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:14 PM   #6
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Re: PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solidjake View Post
Sure the cable is plugged in all the way? Might seem stupid but it happens
Ya it makes the sound like it is plugged in and I installed the drivers for it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:15 PM   #7
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Re: PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solidjake View Post
Sure the cable is plugged in all the way? Might seem stupid but it happens
I know you have a thread on it, what OS are you running?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:30 PM   #8
Solidjake
Zero. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 26,128
My Ride: '02 330i 6MT
Win 7 64 bit
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 06:37 PM   #9
BMW-North
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: __
Posts: 1,175
My Ride: __
On the knock off units - if dropped often the solder connections at the port snap off - you can take it apart and reflow/reconnect. If you have a knock off unit it would be wise to tape the exterior with a thin layer of foam to prevent any impact.

The error you get with a broken connection is "Hardware not Ready" - however check to see none of the pins got pushed in (happens on the knock-offs also) then try to see if wiggling it works as it could be one of the pins not making contact. In Win Xp don't boot the machine with the knock off plugged in the USB. Plug in after BMW Scanner 1.4 is loaded.

Last edited by BMW-North; 10-17-2013 at 06:41 PM.
BMW-North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 07:30 PM   #10
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
It looks fine to me you take a look and tell me if you think the same.










__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 07:56 PM   #11
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 15,362
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5
Multiple drivers need to be installed.

The very last drivers to install are for the final chipset.

You MUST plug the dongle into the OBD port on the car and have the ignition in the on position as part of the dongle is powered from the car and not the USB port.

Also soldering looks pretty questionable. Might want to reflow the larger through hole connections for the UBS connector and the multipin connector.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:04 PM   #12
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Delete your drivers then boot the computer up in the disable driver signature mode then install the drivers again. Works everytime.

Guarantee it's not a hardware issue.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________

Last edited by TnT817; 10-17-2013 at 08:04 PM.
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:16 PM   #13
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
are these the correct driver ?
__________________

Last edited by philliplong; 10-17-2013 at 08:17 PM.
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:20 PM   #14
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
PA SOFT Error "Hardware is Not Ready"

Yes.
When you install them again plug the cable in and go to control panel and click the printers and drivers icon. Scroll down till you see USB ports and one if them should read BMW scanner. If you get that then try it again on your car. Should work fine.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________

Last edited by TnT817; 10-17-2013 at 08:22 PM.
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:48 PM   #15
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by TnT817 View Post
Yes.
When you install them again plug the cable in and go to control panel and click the printers and drivers icon. Scroll down till you see USB ports and one if them should read BMW scanner. If you get that then try it again on your car. Should work fine.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
I tried this with the same result. I found a program to disable the driver signature, how can i manually disable it? it had a sign a system file option and i used that but it still didn't work. Any other suggestions?
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:53 PM   #16
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 15,362
My Ride: 330CiC, M5, X5
Probably the issue is the drivers are not Windows certified/tested?

Not sure what you need to do to bypass the driver certification, probably can Google search for your specific OS?
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temp, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose temp switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299

Last edited by jfoj; 10-17-2013 at 09:13 PM.
jfoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:55 PM   #17
Benny Minn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 372
My Ride: 2004 325xiT 5-speed
I get this same error frequently with mine. Not exactly sure why it will work every 4th or 10th time for me and not every time, but I did notice that the connection to the data port is a bit finicky. You might want to try putting upward pressure on the adapter to make sure it's seated completely when you log on.

BTW, I'm running BMW Scanner 1.4.0.9 on Windows 7 64bit on a MacPro....which probably isn't supposed to work at all.
Benny Minn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:04 PM   #18
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
And another piece of info, the green light only lights and flashes right after i plug it in.
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:07 PM   #19
philliplong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 479
My Ride: 2002 325CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Minn View Post
I get this same error frequently with mine. Not exactly sure why it will work every 4th or 10th time for me and not every time, but I did notice that the connection to the data port is a bit finicky. You might want to try putting upward pressure on the adapter to make sure it's seated completely when you log on.

BTW, I'm running BMW Scanner 1.4.0.9 on Windows 7 64bit on a MacPro....which probably isn't supposed to work at all.
ha ha, i use Windows 7 64-bit ultimate on my iMac. and i will try holding the cable because it seems that mine has some play too.
__________________
philliplong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 09:41 PM   #20
BMW-North
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: __
Posts: 1,175
My Ride: __
Check the LED connection (solder) at the board one of the wires will be loose. When the LED doesn't illuminate the circuit is open and you get the error.
You may need to solder the LED wires firmly - don't use too much solder as it will flow fast.
BMW-North is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use