E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 13 votes, 4.92 average. Display Modes
Old 09-09-2008, 03:03 PM   #81
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
You can use diodes and do what is shown in post #22 or use a relay and do what is shown in post #13. If you go with a relay, instead of ignition source, use the ecu wire for both the relay trigger and relay power (relay terminals 87 and 85 tied together).
No fuse on light circuit, but need a fuse on ECU wire. I always use 3A fuses.

You can use 18 gauge, but make sure you protect it with the right size fuse (there are tables online that can give you current ratings vs. wire gauge vs. distance, but can tell you from experience that 3A is perfectly safe for what you are doing). I wouldn't use solid core wire. Get stranded wire. You can get a small spool of "hook up" wire from any auto parts store or local stereo shop.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 05:14 PM   #82
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
Body control module, located behind the glove box.

I believe the wire is blue/red, but I could be wrong.

As I said before, although you might not have under-dash lights, the wires should still be there (black plug with two wires).

If you find a wire you suspect is the correct one, you could verify with a voltmeter or LED test light. If you don't want to go through the trouble of looking for it, just run it to a working light.
so i would have to take off the pillar and then how do i remove the roof cloth thing where the overhead lights are? wouldn't i find that same wire running to the overhead lights in the pillar somewhere because the wire can only go through there.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 02:56 AM   #83
Ashhong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2002 325i
using that logic, couldnt you tap the wire in the fuse box and tap it there?
Ashhong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 07:37 PM   #84
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
okay so my car doesnt have any footwell lights wire hanging around, what else can I tap my remote trigger into? wire colours and locations will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 01:18 AM   #85
Ashhong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2002 325i
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...d.php?t=987563

Ashhong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 08:03 PM   #86
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashhong View Post
You are a good man.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 11:38 PM   #87
Ashhong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2002 325i
i do what i can.
Ashhong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 01:07 PM   #88
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
quick question:
i noticed on the bimmer forums that someone mentioned using add a circuit to draw power from the interior lights fuse (fuse #49 - 5 amps)
ive used add a circuits before and they are great to avoid splicing and such but my question is, if i tap into this fuse will i get the fade in/fade out feature as tapping straight into the ceiling lights? ive noticed when i pull this fuse the interior lights + glovebox lights go out, putting it back fades interior lights on and glovebox light immediately on. does the interior lights have a seperate dimmer? glovebox light also has fuse 52 so i dont kno if that contributes to the immediate on?
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 11:00 AM   #89
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by skittl3s View Post
quick question:
i noticed on the bimmer forums that someone mentioned using add a circuit to draw power from the interior lights fuse (fuse #49 - 5 amps)
ive used add a circuits before and they are great to avoid splicing and such but my question is, if i tap into this fuse will i get the fade in/fade out feature as tapping straight into the ceiling lights? ive noticed when i pull this fuse the interior lights + glovebox lights go out, putting it back fades interior lights on and glovebox light immediately on. does the interior lights have a seperate dimmer? glovebox light also has fuse 52 so i dont kno if that contributes to the immediate on?
I don't like add-a-fuse. The cheap ones end up damaging fuse holders and end up causing trouble. Best thing is to splice and solder your connections.

The actual interior lights are controlled directly by the LCM. The LCM does the fade-in/out. If you tap into a fuse that powers the LCM, you will only get constant power.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 08:03 PM   #90
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
okay so big problem... the option of routing through the pillar to the ceiling lights is no longer available.... someone rounded the torx 15 heads
so is there a wire or anything under the glovebox that i can tap into? i tried the glovebox light itself but it stays on until i lock the car or leave it untouched for 16 mins...
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 03:29 AM   #91
Atlas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,245
My Ride: 320i
Send a message via ICQ to Atlas
How about driver's side? Or perhaps even the rear interior lights?
Atlas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 06:16 AM   #92
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
that would require a lot of routing, couldnt i tap into one of the red/blue wires in the glovebox area? there a few with different sizes
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 06:46 AM   #93
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by skittl3s View Post
okay so big problem... the option of routing through the pillar to the ceiling lights is no longer available.... someone rounded the torx 15 heads
so is there a wire or anything under the glovebox that i can tap into? i tried the glovebox light itself but it stays on until i lock the car or leave it untouched for 16 mins...
You don't have to take the trim out, just tuck it in uder the edges.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 01:11 PM   #94
rickard123456
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 42
My Ride: 320i Touring
Can you do that whit the fogs to????? So both Angel Eyes and Fog lights will turn on or can it only be done whith Angel Eyes
rickard123456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 09:38 PM   #95
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
You don't have to take the trim out, just tuck it in uder the edges.
but i cant find the way down below the glovebox with the wire... is there a sure way of getting that wire up there?
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:30 PM   #96
juslookin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yonkers
Posts: 1,020
My Ride: 05 330ci ZHP
if you wire the AE's up to your corner lights and do a corner delete would they still light up?
juslookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:50 AM   #97
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by juslookin View Post
if you wire the AE's up to your corner lights and do a corner delete would they still light up?
You can wire up the lights to whatever you want. Only issue about the corner delete mod is putting too much load on the side marker wires. You could damage the LCM if you overload it. If you do it, use led bulbs, or add a relay.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:10 AM   #98
francie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: norn iron
Posts: 6
My Ride: m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 320de46m47 View Post
Thanks to Highvoltage


so just for explanation .. when the footwell lights are activated via the key power is supplied via 87a across the relay to 30 and then to the angel eyes. when the ignition is turned on (ie power supplied to pin 85) the coil in the relay is activated which pulls up the bar away from 87a to connect with 87 instead. the footwell supply is broken and power is supplied to the angel eyes via 87 and 30. the switch of course makes or breaks the circuit after the relay.

Ive wired mine up like this but when i put the fuse in the interior lights stay on, any help would be much apprecaited. thanks
francie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:22 AM   #99
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by francie View Post
Ive wired mine up like this but when i put the fuse in the interior lights stay on, any help would be much apprecaited. thanks
Check the relay connections. Looks like you have the battery power tied to the lights.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:33 AM   #100
francie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: norn iron
Posts: 6
My Ride: m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
Check the relay connections. Looks like you have the battery power tied to the lights.
thanks for replying, Ive swapped them round (no joy), the way i had them wired was(87s) the main power is going to the middle and the trigger from the footwell lighting to the other 87 but no joy. would i have the wrong relay? its a 5 prong.
francie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use