E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Lighting Forum

Lighting Forum
Angel Eyes, DDEs, lighted rings, Clear Turn Signals, LEDs, Xenon, HID, or Bi-Xenon. If it lights up and you want to discuss it, post here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2007, 09:59 AM   #1
jasoncrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
My Ride: 01 325i
What am I doing wrong? Pics included of my wiring (Angel Eyes Installation)

I haven't tried to hide any wires yet or done any electrical tape work. I'm no electrician and I can't seem to find out whats wrong.



[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/172379.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/172380.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/172381.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/172382.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/171907.jpg[/IMG]
jasoncrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-02-2007, 11:21 AM   #2
jasoncrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
My Ride: 01 325i
????????
jasoncrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 11:38 AM   #3
dragonz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: queens ny
Posts: 242
My Ride: 323i
what problems are you having? angel eyes not lighting up? You'll get answers as the day goes along its too early!

is the red wire tapped into the red/yellow striped wire in the ECU?
Also check the wire prongs in the ballast.

Last edited by dragonz; 06-02-2007 at 11:42 AM.
dragonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 11:38 AM   #4
aphhpa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Point, NY
Posts: 1,448
My Ride: 2001 330Ci
Send a message via AIM to aphhpa
i had same problem, i wired them to my accessory wire and grounded it to some nuts. so yeah helllpppp
aphhpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:46 PM   #5
e34werkz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: jersey
Posts: 624
My Ride: F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasoncrowley
[IMG]http://www.***********.com/ims/u/1906/7849/172382.jpg[/IMG]
Should'a used a t-tap instead. Try checking the fuse and see if that's the issue.
__________________

BMWCCA Member#395677
e34werkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 12:48 PM   #6
jasoncrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
My Ride: 01 325i
Yeah, the angel eyes simply do not work.

I used a t-tap the first go round to no avail...maybe I'll replace the fuse that came with the angel eyes.
jasoncrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 03:29 PM   #7
e34werkz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: jersey
Posts: 624
My Ride: F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasoncrowley View Post
Yeah, the angel eyes simply do not work.

I used a t-tap the first go round to no avail...maybe I'll replace the fuse that came with the angel eyes.
Be sure to wrap it up with some electrical tape. BTW, is the ground wire frayed too? I would check the fuse first, then the connections.
__________________

BMWCCA Member#395677
e34werkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 04:10 PM   #8
xPhantom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sugar Land, TX / Lincoln, NE
Posts: 2,805
My Ride: 2003 BMW M3 (TiAg)
Send a message via AIM to xPhantom
i would put the ground and the relay in the same spot...
that's how i did it in mine.
and for the power, instead of actually doing it where the terminal is..
do it on the other side, under the bolt.
follow this DIY: http://www.fastm.com/m3/angeleyes.html
xPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 07:15 PM   #9
jasoncrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 25
My Ride: 01 325i
just in case anyone has a similar problem doing this project, I just moved my ground () and all is well.

jasoncrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 07:33 PM   #10
Edison@JleviSW
1.888.JLEVISW
 
Edison@JleviSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Santa Clara
Posts: 28,332
My Ride: BMW Duh
Send a message via AIM to Edison@JleviSW
Yep ground can cause that issue. Please wrap that ECU tap in electrical tape at the very least, that is asking for issues.
Edison@JleviSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 12:38 AM   #11
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,924
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
picture #2. I found out that using grounds like that don't always work.

there's paint underneath the nut. as others say, move your ground to the ground terminal
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 01:44 AM   #12
AzCamel
OEM ///Member
 
AzCamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 1,088
My Ride: Soon To be Boosted
Ground it to the negative terminal next to the power terminal in the open area on the passenger side. 2nd, the wire you taped into the ECU is not the power wire, it is only the remote switch to your angel eyes, wire that wire into the positive terminal and tap your remote wire into the ecu wire. If you just mistakenly said power wire when you ment remote wire then ignore the 2nd part.
__________________

02 M3 SMG Vert

Dinan 3.91 / Dinan SMG Software / Dinan ECU Stage 1 / Beyern Mesh 19's / BSW Sound / EAS LED Angel Eyes / ETC..


94 Supra FOR SALE, OR TRADE FOR NSX
Precision SP63 / Tial / Apex-i / TRD / Seibon / Do-Luck / CCW / Recaro / Eibach / Top-Secret / Greddy / ETC...

AzCamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 04:50 PM   #13
garodgers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 127
My Ride: '01 325i
I would definately agree with the previous 2 posts. You can pump power into them all day but until you have a solid ground, the circuit won't close and nothing will happen. Easiest way to check this, grab a cheap multimeter from radioshack and check the measurements between the contacts (+) and (-). Good luck.
garodgers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 08:41 PM   #14
BlkE4600
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 136
My Ride: 99' 323i
I just installed ine yesterday and had no issues. I used the spot recommended in the write-up and merely scraped away the paint behind the nut to make sure that there was a good ground.

-Bill
__________________
18" Konig wheels/Brembo x-drilled rotors/Hawk pads/Full Hamann bodykit/H&R Springs/Kenwood K617 DVD/ 2 12" Pioneer subs/Sony Xplod 1200w amp
BlkE4600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use