E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2007, 06:44 AM   #1
IL8APEX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: the Motor City
Posts: 45
My Ride: E46 ZHP, Triumph 675
12V in Trunk, Part II: Sirius cutting out!

Awhile ago I had asked where the best place is to tap into 12v in the trunk to support the installation of my Sirius / Alpine interface. (Thread HERE)

I elected to use the amp's Yellow wire (constant 12V). For ground I used the common ground behind the CD changer rack. Everything worked smoothly and it fired up first time. However... when I turn up the volume (causing the amplifier to draw more power) the Sirius box stops playing and give me a "Acquiring Signal" message. Once it re-aquires (just a second or two) it plays for a fraction of a second before cutting out again.

I think the amplifier is drawing too many amps and starving the Sirius unit of power. Now I have to find another 12v power source in the trunk. Anyone have the wiring colors handy for the CD changer wires or Bluetooth wires? Sure would be easy to be able to tap into that instead of the amplifier power.

-Tom
IL8APEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-12-2007, 08:54 AM   #2
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Yellow wire = constant at the amp?

I believe the constant is a fat red/green wire at the OEM amp. Not sure if this wire goes to sleep though. Check it with a meter.


Quote:
Originally Posted by IL8APEX View Post
Awhile ago I had asked where the best place is to tap into 12v in the trunk to support the installation of my Sirius / Alpine interface. (Thread HERE)

I elected to use the amp's Yellow wire (constant 12V). For ground I used the common ground behind the CD changer rack. Everything worked smoothly and it fired up first time. However... when I turn up the volume (causing the amplifier to draw more power) the Sirius box stops playing and give me a "Acquiring Signal" message. Once it re-aquires (just a second or two) it plays for a fraction of a second before cutting out again.

I think the amplifier is drawing too many amps and starving the Sirius unit of power. Now I have to find another 12v power source in the trunk. Anyone have the wiring colors handy for the CD changer wires or Bluetooth wires? Sure would be easy to be able to tap into that instead of the amplifier power.

-Tom
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 09:26 AM   #3
IL8APEX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: the Motor City
Posts: 45
My Ride: E46 ZHP, Triumph 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
I believe the constant is a fat red/green wire at the OEM amp. Not sure if this wire goes to sleep though. Check it with a meter.
If I were to guess I'd say it doesn't matter if the wire sleeps because the presets are stored in the head unit. I'll check the fat red/green wire with a meter when I get a chance, maybe over the weekend.

-Tom
IL8APEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:04 PM   #4
BeaMerWorld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 24
My Ride: E46 M3 Cab
Update

Hello,

I am having the same issue and was wondering if you ever found a solution to this problem. My unit is connected to the red/green for constant power. Could you help me out.
BeaMerWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:31 AM   #5
BeaMerWorld
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 24
My Ride: E46 M3 Cab
Ttt

Anyone else ran accross this issue before? Need some help with this.
BeaMerWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use