E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 11:04 PM   #1
leechieh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 111
My Ride: 325i
GT1 NCS-Expert

I have DIS properly working and also autodetecting but i cannot use car/key memory it says "vin cannot be read" from what i read i understand that this is because i have and 04 an the module is encrypted. So i tried to use ncs-expert on my windows 7 machine, this did not work. So my question is does anyone know how to get ncs-expert to work on Windows 7?

Thanks all,
Phil
leechieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-17-2010, 11:46 PM   #2
morregerbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hartford CT
Posts: 37
My Ride: 99 328I
looks like its a wrong forum about that kind of question. it is possible to make ncs work with 7 (google more) but i wouldn't even try just get XP.
morregerbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 11:48 PM   #3
ferrarix99
Registered User
 
ferrarix99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 3,294
My Ride: 87 325e - 05 M3 Vert
i really need to get this working, i have the programs already. what interface are you using?
__________________
click for pics of the old ride...
-Nick the Greek-
euro.techniks
Bimmerworld Epic Tune | OEM Euro Headers | CSL Brakes | B&B TriFlo | aFe SuperStock | PSS10 | Varrstoen TE37 | V1 | ZKW Lens Swap | Orion Golds
Want your car coded? PM me.
ferrarix99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 11:55 PM   #4
TitaniumCranium
/// Limitless
 
TitaniumCranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle / Sequim
Posts: 3,198
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330Ci
If you're using Win7 Ultimate there is a free download called XP Mode. It's a free non-keyed version of Win XP Pro running as a virtual machine. It works perfectly including driver loading and XP specific registry entries.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/vir.../download.aspx
__________________

/// MODS
/// Auto => 6-Spd Manual Conversion | Apex EC-7 | Koni/Ground Control Coilovers | Vorshlag Camber Plates | Meyle HD LCA | PowerFlex bushings | GruppeM rep CAI | Shark Injector | 6000k HID's and Fogs | BMW European MTechII | BMW Performance Shifter | ACS Mirrors and Rear Spoiler ///
TitaniumCranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 12:34 AM   #5
leechieh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 111
My Ride: 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrarix99 View Post
i really need to get this working, i have the programs already. what interface are you using?
this is the cable i am using http://cgi.ebay.com.hk/ws/eBayISAPI....m=260433011691
leechieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:00 AM   #6
TitaniumCranium
/// Limitless
 
TitaniumCranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle / Sequim
Posts: 3,198
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330Ci
What did it cost US? Apparently he ships to US??? Cuz I can't read that!
__________________

/// MODS
/// Auto => 6-Spd Manual Conversion | Apex EC-7 | Koni/Ground Control Coilovers | Vorshlag Camber Plates | Meyle HD LCA | PowerFlex bushings | GruppeM rep CAI | Shark Injector | 6000k HID's and Fogs | BMW European MTechII | BMW Performance Shifter | ACS Mirrors and Rear Spoiler ///
TitaniumCranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:10 AM   #7
leechieh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 111
My Ride: 325i
it was like 30 ish here is the uk version of the posting http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=260433011691
leechieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 12:20 PM   #8
genuity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: *
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: '1 E46
Are you running the DIS with the IBM laptop? Is it running in VMware?
genuity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 07:22 PM   #9
leechieh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 111
My Ride: 325i
im using a new laptop not the old ibm, and yes i am using Vmware
leechieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use