E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > E46 Convertible

E46 Convertible
The E46 vert forum. Talk about dropping your E46 top here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 07:20 PM   #1
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
e46 Convertible problem..!

Hi folks..i hope everybody is ok..
I've had my 03 convertible m3 for 2 years without a problem... i like to keep my car in my garage if the weather isn't good.. Today the weather was mostly sunny and i decided to drive it around in my town and put the top down.. when i was holding the button to put the top down it didnt work.. i tried it 10 times but it never worked..
did anybody have the same problem?? what should i do?
Please HELP ME!!
Thank you..!
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-02-2008, 07:29 PM   #2
ToddInLou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 231
My Ride: 2001 330CiC
Check to make sure that the storage bin is in the down position. What is the light doing when you hold the button down?
ToddInLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #3
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
i checked the storage bin,,its in the down position
The light doesnt flash or something ..it keeps lighting red ... Sorry about my English..
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 08:32 PM   #4
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
?
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:00 PM   #5
welshie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: mount laurel
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2000 convertible
you may need to have the hydralics checked. my '00 needed a new set two yeas ago.
welshie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #6
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
how much was it?
Thanks
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:15 PM   #7
ToddInLou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 231
My Ride: 2001 330CiC
OK if the light is staying red and nothing is happening it sounds like the pump could be bad. It's located in the trunk on the left side behind the trim. It has some foam over it to keep you from hearing as much of it. From what I've heard its about $1500 to $2000 for the repair on the pump. I just had a line break on CiC in December and it was $1500 at an independent repair shop. The top may be in safe mode, this can only be found out by reading the computer. As much as I am a DIY type of guy, everything I've seen says take it to a good shop.
ToddInLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 09:35 PM   #8
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
Thanks a lot..
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 06:24 AM   #9
K.I.T
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 94
My Ride: '03 330CiC, '03 GT
had an issue with my top last year...it would start but just unlock and not go anywhere. Have your hydraulic pump and lines checked. It cost me 450 Kuwaiti Dinar at the dealer(about $1600) to fix...they replaced the lines and the pump(the pump alone is almost $800)
__________________
She's back...PonyXpress(sold but I luv the pic)BlueHeaven
K.I.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:08 PM   #10
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
yea i know the pump is really expensive... BTW she is hot as hell..
anyone ?
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:04 PM   #11
Tim30250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,589
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '09 G37
Send a message via AIM to Tim30250
I'm no expert on the mechanics of the convertible top. Actually, shame on me, I've owned this car 6 years now and never really took the time to familiarize myself with how the roof operates.

But... I have had several experiences with it not working. The flashing yellow light always happened when the storage compartment wasn't properly folded down. I did get a solid red one time. It happened when I tried to operate the top with the car in motion (it was starting to rain and I pushed the button to close it before coming to a complete stop.) Obviously there is a motion sensor that can stop the top from working. Maybe that could be the issue? If so, it would be cheaper to replace (I would think) than some of the other possibilities.

Just a thought.. good luck, and let us know what ultimately happens.
__________________

2002 BMW 330Cic... ZSP, 5MT
Mods: VF Stg. 1 Supercharger, Eibach Pro-Kit Springs, UUC Sway Bars

Original Owner... 50,038 miles as of 05/19/14
Tim30250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 07:36 PM   #12
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
whats the problem with it bro??
i put the top down and drove home today.. when i got home the top didnt work again..i opened the trunk and closed it and tried it again..finally it worked...
WTF is wrong with it??
anyway thanks for your helping bro..
__________________
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 09:15 PM   #13
hinesmr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 24
My Ride: 04 330CiC
hey TUrk,

I have an 04 330cic and rebuilt it from a salvage title. The top drive mechanism/system was not damaged in the accident that rendered the car as salvage, but at different points while repairing the car, i had the same thing happen (red light come on & no top movement). Somehow the top moved or got out of position and would not operate until the next closest position switch was made. There are several position sensors that detect the top (when its near the full open/closed positions etc). On the two occaisions that this happend, I had to get the manual top wrench out and crank the top until the sensor was made, then it would work using the dash switch. You can read all of this in the owners manual (how to manually work the top).

mr
hinesmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 09:20 PM   #14
hinesmr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 24
My Ride: 04 330CiC
PS - the salvage yard I got the car at had an identical car (04 330CiC) that had a fully functioning top/complete mechanism assy for $1500..........

mr
hinesmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 04:34 PM   #15
allenman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon GA
Posts: 8
My Ride: 330, M5, SL
I have an inop top...just started today...

and I have no lights at all. Where should I start?
allenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 12:00 PM   #16
///M3Turk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 12,059
My Ride: M6 ,X5, R6, M5, M3
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Turk Send a message via MSN to ///M3Turk
^same problem man
__________________

Firat
///M3Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 12:28 PM   #17
e46vert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california
Posts: 780
My Ride: 330ci
keep us updated guys......I havent had any problems with my top yet but its good to have info on the top.
e46vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 07:56 PM   #18
Zyaltr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 341
My Ride: 01-325cic,08-750Li
Quote:
Originally Posted by allenman View Post
and I have no lights at all. Where should I start?

No lights = no power to controls - check the fuse. Even if it looks good swap it with another fuse with the same rating.
Zyaltr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 08:32 AM   #19
sgoetz628
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 334
My Ride: 2002 330 CiC
a couple of amateur thoughts on this...

my '02 car originally came w/ a temperature sensor that wouldn't allow the top to go down below 28 degrees. of course, it wouldn't allow it to go up either. so it got stuck down one winter morning when the temperature plummeted and the car had been sitting in the garage over the weekend.

took it straight to the dealer, where they removed (maybe bypassed) the sensor. those sensors are no longer used and the top works great.

also - since new, i've had the recurring problem of either the top not operating from the interior button - or not from the driver's door lock. if one doesn't work, the other will. being that it's an intermitent problem and that it doesn't register in the car's tracking computer, there's nothing that can be done. fine, because at least one way always works.

if you're lucky, it might be one of these two problems.
sgoetz628 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 08:40 AM   #20
ptcarswell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charleston,
Posts: 15
My Ride: 04 porsche 911
my top would not go down the other day - truck wasn't latched all the way.
slammed the truck, top goes down. same with the truck/glove box - glove box not shut tight, trunk wont open. sometimes trunk won't lock.
damn - still trying to get a handle on the sync issues in this car.
__________________
ptcarswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use