E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > ///M3 Forum

///M3 Forum
The BMW E46 ///M3 is the M version E46 and puts out an amazing 333 HP and 262 lb-ft of torque at stock specs! There are an amazing amount of modifications for both the coupe and convertible models so read up and get started modifying your cars today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2008, 04:05 PM   #1
jram
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 71
My Ride: 2003 M3
Went to hardwire my Valentine one...

After getting the light part off, I noticed a plug for the valentine one in the headliner. After further examination I found the direct wire connector stuffed in the fuse box. The previous owner looked like they had it professionally hardwired. Now for my question....

The ground looks like it goes back behind the glovebox somewhere and the red wire has a fuse tap (I think that is what it is, looks like a single fuse blade). So I stick the tap into one of the fuse spots that have a single tap (5 amp, #26 , chart shows heater) and everything works! Is this the way to do this? Is this the correct fuse spot to use? Sorry for the ignorant questions. I don't want to create a problem because I didn't ask the question. Please help!

Thanks,

John
jram is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-30-2008, 04:17 PM   #2
jram
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 71
My Ride: 2003 M3
Heres a picture..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fuse box.JPG
Views:	473
Size:	298.4 KB
ID:	265389  
jram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 04:41 PM   #3
SK328CI
Registered User
 
SK328CI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 2,523
My Ride: 2006 Jeep SRT8
never did a fuse box install, but my v1 is installed using this DIY
http://m3.madrussian.net/diy_valentine_v1.shtml
__________________
SK328CI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 06:33 PM   #4
persian451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 876
My Ride: n/a
^ +1
persian451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 07:22 PM   #5
jram
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 71
My Ride: 2003 M3
I appreciate the input, but thats not what I'm asking. I already have the wires run to do it in the fuse box. I just want to verify it is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SK328CI View Post
never did a fuse box install, but my v1 is installed using this DIY
http://m3.madrussian.net/diy_valentine_v1.shtml
jram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 07:26 PM   #6
Jeffxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bremerton, Washington
Posts: 1,033
My Ride: 02 SLOW lsb m3
Well if it works then I don't think there should be a problem?
__________________
Featured in the August 2009 issue of Performance BMW.

nwbmwclub.com
Jeffxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 09:54 PM   #7
tylergentry00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 400
My Ride: Black 01' M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by SK328CI View Post
never did a fuse box install, but my v1 is installed using this DIY
http://m3.madrussian.net/diy_valentine_v1.shtml
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffxxx View Post
Well if it works then I don't think there should be a problem?
+2
__________________


Conforti Software, SuperSprint Race Headers, AA Short-Throw Kit, UUC M5 Hyrbid Clutch Kit and Lightweight Flywheel, B&G Coilovers, Velocity Motoring CSL Reps wrapped in Pirelli PZero Nero's, Eagle Eyes LED Tails, Smoked Corner and Side Markers, Blackout Kidneys and Gills, Brembo Rotors and Hawk Pads, CSL V1 Front Bumper, CF CSL Bootlid Trunk, CF CSL Diffuser, Turner Motorsports Power Pulley Kit
tylergentry00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:19 PM   #8
graym3man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: copperas cove TX
Posts: 27
My Ride: 2002 BMW M3
wow, I just hooked mine up and it took like less than 10 minutes using this bulletin. Very, Very helpful. WHen I had it in my vette it took me an hour just to find a wire to tap into
graym3man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:46 PM   #9
nojoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: en la puta madre
Posts: 8,477
My Ride: 06 M3Vert 6MT JB/CIN
I need to get myself a valentine 1 lol

Nice thread
__________________


2006 BMW M3 VERT 6MT (CURRENT)
2007 B7 AUDI A4 2.0T CVT FWD (BRILLIANT BLACK) TRADED

2002 E46 BMW M3 SMG II (TIAG) RIP

INSTAGRAM : itsjorgebrah
nojoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 12:45 AM   #10
Philbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Over the hills and far away
Posts: 1,719
My Ride: 02M3|80 280ZX|87Yota
OP - I used my fuse box too for the hardwire install.

I plugged it into an unused fuse socket that only drew power when the car was ON - the homelink/garage door opener fuse was available since I don't have that - works great. Just make sure it's not the fuse to something that can be on when then car isn't - or you'll drain your battery.

PS - if you have the remove display, check out the DIY in my sig - I've had that setup for a while and LOVE it still - looks almost OEM...
__________________
02 M3 Vert | 87 4Runner | 80 280ZX


Dinan S. | Clears | DiCE | OEM Alarm Retrofit | ACS Rep. Peds | DDEs

My Valentine 1 Hardwire | Remote Display Gauge Cluster Mod


Considering selling 2002 M3 Convertible (~38,000 miles) this year (don't drive it enough...). If seriously interested, PM me. SF Bay area.
Philbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 01:38 PM   #11
Chad54827
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 11
My Ride: 325c1
I keep reading madrussian's DIY and i have a question. Is it the same green and white stripe wire for a 2002 e46 325ci? Is that just for an M3? Just wanna make sure before i start...
Chad54827 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 02:10 PM   #12
m3e46freak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Posts: 1,478
My Ride: e46/bike/Airplane?
Wires scare me...
__________________
Rock Hard Abs Racing


2004 JB / Cinnamon SMG - NAV - Heated Seats
Sonic Tuning Spacers 15mm
Alcantara Wheel/Boot/Pillars
BMC filter
Carbon Fiber: Doors/Seat Back/Trim/Paddles
Scorza muffler
CSL Bumper/Trunk
ST Coilovers

m3e46freak@yahoo.com for outside contacting
m3e46freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use