E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-14-2009, 01:29 PM   #21
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowcatxx87 View Post
I think so too. I have a 04 coupe, and my SW is 40. Definately NOT 50.

I use AUX everyday. I haven't touched the 6cd changer or the radio ever.

Internet radio FTW.
What is your music source? An iPhone? Other mp3 player? Do you have any issues with playing from it into the AUX and charging it at the same time?
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:15 PM   #22
snowcatxx87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,458
My Ride: 04 330CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
What is your music source? An iPhone? Other mp3 player? Do you have any issues with playing from it into the AUX and charging it at the same time?
iPhone 3G-S 32G or Blackberry Bold (when my bro wants to play some of latest tunes)

I have installed a ground loop isolator in the aux in line, so I can charge and play at the same time.
snowcatxx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:02 PM   #23
cabl3i
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: tx
Posts: 481
My Ride: 03 330i ZHP
I have an 03 ZHP and the HU says SW 40...would my best option be the GROM aux input? My HU has a mode button..i dont see why the OEM aux in wouldnt work.
cabl3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:59 AM   #24
The Jiveman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 671
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowcatxx87 View Post
I have installed a ground loop isolator in the aux in line, so I can charge and play at the same time.
What does a ground loop isolator have to do with the charging of the phone? It's only to eliminate audible ground interference (hum) in the signal.
The Jiveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 11:26 AM   #25
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabl3i View Post
I have an 03 ZHP and the HU says SW 40...would my best option be the GROM aux input? My HU has a mode button..i dont see why the OEM aux in wouldnt work.
Since you have a 2003 model the OEM aux should work just fine. The software version shouldn't be an issue.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 11:28 AM   #26
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Jiveman View Post
What does a ground loop isolator have to do with the charging of the phone? It's only to eliminate audible ground interference (hum) in the signal.
Many cars cause a ground loop or engine/alternator hum when a phone or iPod is connected to an aux in and charging at the same time.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 12:44 PM   #27
The Jiveman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 671
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323i
Oh duh, makes sense. I guess I just understood that originally as "you CANNOT charge and play at the same time without the ground loop isolator" while really, it means you can't play without hearing hum. I'm a little slow today.
The Jiveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:23 AM   #28
snowcatxx87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,458
My Ride: 04 330CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Jiveman View Post
Oh duh, makes sense. I guess I just understood that originally as "you CANNOT charge and play at the same time without the ground loop isolator" while really, it means you can't play without hearing hum. I'm a little slow today.
Do you want my EXPERIENCE or some other kids "advice on what he thinks?"

There is another thread, "Let's DIY aux in cable." Search it up.

You CANNOT charge your iPhone and listen to music at the same time. A small voltage is detected by the head-unit through the aux line and it shuts of the headunit to protect itself.

A GLI stops this and allows you to charge and enjoy your music.
snowcatxx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 01:33 PM   #29
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
snowcat -

Not sure which "kid" you're referring to....anyways.

I've heard of the issue you have/had regarding the Headunit not staying in Aux while charging a device and playing at the same time. However, saying "You CANNOT charge your iPhone and listen to music at the same time" as a blanket statement is not accurate. It appears to be in your case (and some others), but not across the board.

I know someone first hand with a 2004 330i and he charges and plays his iPhone 3Gs through the OEM Aux with no issues at all (no headunit issues, no noise issues).

Also, I'm curious which GL isolator you use and if you notice any effect on sound quality compared to without it?

Thanks.

jiveman - not all BMW's (or cars in general) have hum/noise while charging and playing. Results seem to vary. Some need a GL isolator and some don't.

Last edited by ZZen330; 09-24-2009 at 01:42 PM.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:11 AM   #30
saman2323
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
My Ride: BMW 318i e46
Hi.

I need help with installing an aux-input on my bmw radio.
I have connected to pin 9, 8 and 4 but I can't switch to AUX mode.
I have also tried to connect a 300k Ohm resistor between pin 8 and 9.

What did I do wrong.

My radio:
CD53 E46
P/NO 65. 12-6 915 711
SW/NO 40
01 JULY
KW: 29/01

Please help!
Thanks!
saman2323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 07:18 PM   #31
ILLuSioNz X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: All Over NJ...
Posts: 653
My Ride: 03 TiAg E46 M3 Coupe
wow, now grom's been introduced into the picture...i'm more confused than ever.

bmw kit: no steering wheel controls--around 80
dice kit: equal mix of good reviews/bad reviews--costly
ipaq kit: same price of dice kit but does what it's supposed to do--120
grom kit: price looks good, charging feature for ipods, trunk mount with extended cable available--80

i'm highly considering the grom kit, anyone say otherwise?
ILLuSioNz X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:41 AM   #32
AzNbO187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 50
My Ride: S******
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
Acually, I did buy the GROM USB device but am having some issues with it and may be returning it. If I return it I might try the AUX only device orr go with a newer Business CD unit that supports OEM AUX.
I also am a bit happier with the sound quality and overall result of the BMW Aux in vs the Grom. I had the BMW iPod adapter, didn't like it. Went with the Grom Aux, and was more satisfied, but it seemed to have a very low frequency noise.

Now I'm with the BMW Aux in, and am a step happier. Sound is a notch better, no noise issues, and last of all since it's recognized as an Aux input and not a cd-changer input on the HU, it allows me to adjust the input level of the aux adapters. Using an ipod or mp3 player usually always produces a lower sound ouput and normally you have to turn up the mp3 player itself which at times can make the sound, sound like it's maxing out. Last touch will be using an iPod dock to aux adapter.
AzNbO187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:31 AM   #33
jbrewer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2000 323ci
can I use the "let's diy aux in cable".. I held down the m button and flipped through the screen's:
Sn x2205147
Gi 03
Gal 3
Dsp 0 v 00
Af man
Hi 010103
Sim 001100
Sip 303000

or do I have to do the grom option??

thanks!!
jbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:41 PM   #34
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
jbrew- since the DIY aux cable is copying the OEM aux cable it only works on headunits from MY2003 model cars and higher.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 02:26 PM   #35
jbrewer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2000 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
jbrew- since the DIY aux cable is copying the OEM aux cable it only works on headunits from MY2003 model cars and higher.
I found on a post that if it's version 43 or higher it will work.
I think mine is version 47??
jbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 05:50 PM   #36
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
jbrew- that info about software versions was found to be incomplete because there sequence of the software numbers changed from year to year (ie: some headunits from '04 or '05 had lower software version numbers but still were OEM aux compatible). So the best indicator are 2003+ cars (headunits labeled Sept.'02 and higher).

You can still add a 3rd party AUX via GROM or Blitzsafe, etc.

Last edited by ZZen330; 01-29-2010 at 02:45 AM.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 08:57 PM   #37
jbrewer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2000 323ci
zzen: thank you sir!
1 last question... I don't have disc changer installed in the rear, but is there a way I can tell if I have the correct cables to install the grom?
thanks again in advance!

*or do I just tap off of the cables attached to the stock amp? Just like I did for my aftermarket amp & subs?
jbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 02:48 AM   #38
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
The CD Changer cable pre-wire should be in the driver side, rear of the trunk. You might have some wording somwhere back there that says cd prewire. I think all US cars came with the prewire. Mine is Canadian and had no wording, but it did have the prewire. TO physically check, just pull back the carpet on the left side (need to pull a couple plastic tabs, and look for the folded up wiring tucked in behind/beside the amp (I have H/K). It will have a 3 + 6 pin conectors).
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 07:01 AM   #39
jbrewer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2000 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
The CD Changer cable pre-wire should be in the driver side, rear of the trunk. You might have some wording somwhere back there that says cd prewire. I think all US cars came with the prewire. Mine is Canadian and had no wording, but it did have the prewire. TO physically check, just pull back the carpet on the left side (need to pull a couple plastic tabs, and look for the folded up wiring tucked in behind/beside the amp (I have H/K). It will have a 3 + 6 pin conectors).
when I was installing my subs I seen those wires tucked behind the metal!
just looked on the inner trunk lid and it says it's pre-wired.
so I'll be getting me a grom here soon!

thanks again.

just ordered this 25ft 3.5mm extension cable for $3.61 (lol)... I LOVEEE amazon!
3mm extension cable link
the 15ft ones didn't look as good of quality.
jbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 07:18 AM   #40
jbrewer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Huber Heights, OH
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2000 323ci
it's been about 15mins... can't wait!
just ordered the grom (lol).. it's payday!!
jbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use