E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > Sponsor Press Releases & New Product Announcements

Sponsor Press Releases & New Product Announcements
Get the latest news and announcements from the site sponsors! To ask a question please use the 'Ask a Sponsor' forum.
Click here to view all the site sponsors and see what they are offering!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 11:59 AM   #41
swingline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2
My Ride: '99 E46 sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
The ILP cradles were designed about 4 years ago - well before the iPhone hit the shelves. Here's the docking cable you need:

DICE iPod Dock Connector Cable w/ USB Charging
http://www.europeanautosource.com/pr...roducts_id=232

These are in stock and shipping immediately.
Thanks for the info. So you don't offer any cradles at all?
swingline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:14 PM   #42
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by swingline View Post
Thanks for the info. So you don't offer any cradles at all?
We do not - an exposed iPod cradle is an open advertisement for thieves to break in your BMW.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:10 PM   #43
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Contact info is in my signature.
hey tom, I am not sure if you remember me or not..
but


yeah I am the guy with text screen that doensn't scroll..


you advised me to have bettery fully disconnetected and do everything all over again..


but it did not do anything..

it still doesn't scroll... it only shows like first half of the title..

But.. I ran into another problem.. after reinstalling the unit,
I realize that same song plays repeatdly if I have 'random play' on.
I always have random play on since, I hear same song everyday if I don't have it on.. so... yeah let me know..

I still need to fix the scrolling problem..
and now I need to fix same song repeating problem.......



Please help.

Beside that! I am loving the dice!
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 02:31 PM   #44
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
hey tom, I am not sure if you remember me or not..
but


yeah I am the guy with text screen that doensn't scroll..


you advised me to have bettery fully disconnetected and do everything all over again..


but it did not do anything..

it still doesn't scroll... it only shows like first half of the title..

But.. I ran into another problem.. after reinstalling the unit,
I realize that same song plays repeatdly if I have 'random play' on.
I always have random play on since, I hear same song everyday if I don't have it on.. so... yeah let me know..

I still need to fix the scrolling problem..
and now I need to fix same song repeating problem.......



Please help.

Beside that! I am loving the dice!
You have repeat/random selected on your iPod before plugging into the DICE?
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:41 PM   #45
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
You have repeat/random selected on your iPod before plugging into the DICE?
Haha. yup that was it....
that was stupid.. I never do repeat.. but yeah it was on...



But. yeah. then not scrolling text...
What can I do?
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:54 PM   #46
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
Haha. yup that was it....
that was stupid.. I never do repeat.. but yeah it was on...



But. yeah. then not scrolling text...
What can I do?
Was a full battery reset performed?
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:47 PM   #47
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Dice Whoas!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
Haha. yup that was it....
that was stupid.. I never do repeat.. but yeah it was on...

But. yeah. then not scrolling text...
What can I do?
Pressing the RND button on the head unit sometimes toggles the iPod's SHUFFLE setting to SONGS as desired. Other times it incorrectly changes the REPEAT setting to ONE. Give it a few days, it will get set again!

The only way I have found to get it out of this mode is to disconnect the iPod, adjust the setting, then reconnect.

MANY people have experienced this issue. It's a software problem & DICE has not fixed it.

I have learned to NEVER touch the RND button. I remix my iTunes playlists often instead.

Re: stuck text You are so not alone. I can expand on this topic if you wish. I have spent hours with different scenarios. I would recommend first returning your DICE for a replacement. Chances are the next one will work.

steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:26 PM   #48
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.325i View Post
Pressing the RND button on the head unit sometimes toggles the iPod's SHUFFLE setting to SONGS as desired. Other times it incorrectly changes the REPEAT setting to ONE. Give it a few days, it will get set again!

The only way I have found to get it out of this mode is to disconnect the iPod, adjust the setting, then reconnect.

MANY people have experienced this issue. It's a software problem & DICE has not fixed it.

I have learned to NEVER touch the RND button. I remix my iTunes playlists often instead.

Re: stuck text You are so not alone. I can expand on this topic if you wish. I have spent hours with different scenarios. I would recommend first returning your DICE for a replacement. Chances are the next one will work.


Wow good to hear..
yeah I figured that it sets "repeat one song" again after I reset the iphone itself...

and scrolling yeah.. Can you fill me on this topic?! Thanks!
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:27 PM   #49
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Was a full battery reset performed?

Yes I have : (
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:40 PM   #50
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
Yes I have : (
Can you email me your full name so I can look up your order details?
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 01:08 PM   #51
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Can you email me your full name so I can look up your order details?
e-mail sent : )
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:23 PM   #52
ChicoRockz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 23
My Ride: New York
I have a question. I just bought my 2005 BMW 330ci and I was thinking about putting this in my car but someone told me installing an AUX port would be better. Is that true? Also I don't really want to do anything drastic to my car and adding an AUX sounds a lot more drastic than this. What should I do?
ChicoRockz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 12:45 PM   #53
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicoRockz View Post
I have a question. I just bought my 2005 BMW 330ci and I was thinking about putting this in my car but someone told me installing an AUX port would be better. Is that true? Also I don't really want to do anything drastic to my car and adding an AUX sounds a lot more drastic than this. What should I do?
the same amount of effort is needed for the AUX or the DICE. It would make much more sense to simply go with the DICE kit.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 12:58 AM   #54
DrunkMonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: 2002 M3
Send a message via AIM to DrunkMonk
Tom,

I don't post here often, but I am also having the scrolling text issue. Sometimes it only scrolls 1 digit at time, and sometimes it works perfectly fine. I cant seem to troubleshoot whats causing it and I spoke with you over the phone about it a while back where you informed me to do the battery thing. Well...did that, no dice. Like someone mentioned earlier, software issue perhaps? I remember my earlier module used to turn on and off my AC at random...
DrunkMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:30 AM   #55
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrunkMonk View Post
Tom,

I don't post here often, but I am also having the scrolling text issue. Sometimes it only scrolls 1 digit at time, and sometimes it works perfectly fine. I cant seem to troubleshoot whats causing it and I spoke with you over the phone about it a while back where you informed me to do the battery thing. Well...did that, no dice. Like someone mentioned earlier, software issue perhaps? I remember my earlier module used to turn on and off my AC at random...
Posted a reply to your question here in the DICE Q/A Thread: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...74525&page=109
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 01:30 AM   #56
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Dice Whoas!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
Wow good to hear..
yeah I figured that it sets "repeat one song" again after I reset the iphone itself...

and scrolling yeah.. Can you fill me on this topic?! Thanks!
Hi, I decided it was more fitting to continue this discussion here:

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...57#post9366557
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 07:36 PM   #57
notslow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca.
Posts: 131
My Ride: 03 e46 4dr
So to clarify. The cable with the new unit that offers charging for the 2g gen touch and 3g iphone has a blue connector. What color was the old versions cable? I bought a unit from jlevis a few days before December and thought I was getting the new one. The cable does have a blue connector. Just getting around to installing this so I am doing some research to help the install go smooth. I want to be sure I am installing the right cable.

Thanks, Will
notslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 08:06 PM   #58
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by notslow View Post
So to clarify. The cable with the new unit that offers charging for the 2g gen touch and 3g iphone has a blue connector. What color was the old versions cable? I bought a unit from jlevis a few days before December and thought I was getting the new one. The cable does have a blue connector. Just getting around to installing this so I am doing some research to help the install go smooth. I want to be sure I am installing the right cable.

Thanks, Will
If the kit did not come from us - there's no way to fully tell until your kit is actually installed. Once you plug in the iPod, you will see if you have charging abilities or not.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 04:49 PM   #59
notslow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca.
Posts: 131
My Ride: 03 e46 4dr
So the old kits kits have the blue connector too? I don't want to install this if it's not the right system. I guess I better check with Jlevis.

Thanks
notslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:15 AM   #60
cuz.iknim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 327
My Ride: 2004 325xi
Send a message via AIM to cuz.iknim Send a message via MSN to cuz.iknim
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuz.iknim View Post
e-mail sent : )

Tom I received unit few days ago.
And It works Perfect.


Thanks you so much!!!!!!!
__________________

cuz.iknim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use